We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel la Pace
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great quiet hotel”
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

Just stayed here for 9 days and really enjoyed the holiday. It is about 8 to10 minutes walk uphill from the main road into Sorrento and there are no pavements to keep an eye out for traffic. The hotel provides a courtesy bus to and from Sorrento doing half a dozen runs each day, more in peak season.

Our room was great with a wonderful view of Naples Bay. We paid for the sea view and if you're staying for more a few days, I recommend it.

Breakfasts were good and a chef was on hand to make fresh omlettes or pancakes to go with the hot and cold buffet.

Generally, the hotel is quiet, but is used by a few coach tour companies. We had four separate trips on one night and the main inconvenience is they have early morning starts, so we were woken at 6am on a few mornings which we could have done without on our holiday. Staff are friendly and helpful and little touches such as little hand made biscuits on a little tray with a "wishing you goodnight" message were sweet.

We had a lovely, comfortable stay and we'd happily return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PawHouseBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    290
    179
    62
    31
See reviews for
188
573
18
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moy, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The first impressions of the hotel were very good.
It looks like a 5 star hotel from the outside very grand.
The reception was very impressive and well finished in marble and crystal chandaliers.
The staff were its main attraction, very helpful and friendly.
After a long hot day walking round the local attractions you could use the hotel pool or even better the Euthalia beauty center, getting a body massage worked wonders.
Overall I would recommend this hotel as it lives up to its 5 star rating

Room Tip: Free car parking and shuttle bus to the centre of Sorrento.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colm_Cann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ball, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Don't judge this book by its cover. I'm not sure who doles out "stars" for hotels, but, whomever rated this one at 5 must have been looped on the local vino. We were with an organized tour of two dozen or so people. The impressive (but dark) lobby immediately wows – and then you interact with the staff and the wheels fall off quickly. Everyone seems to have the attitude that you're bothering them. We saw very few smiles from any of the staff during our stay. Walk down a set of stairs on the “ground floor” with your luggage to get to two small elevators that take you to your room. (Here’s a hint – there’s a larger elevator just beyond and behind the front desk – use it, especially if you’re dragging around the wheeled equivalent of a steamer trunk). Some rooms had a lovely view. Ours had an unexpected bonus: a spacious patio! It looked lovely, until we stepped outside and found that it was nestled between two abandoned homes overlooking weeds and trash. Other folks in our group told us the locals used three hotel balconies to hang their laundry. Others opened their window for a view of a dank alley or the side of the abandoned buildings. Others were serenaded by roosters and chickens. Some guests had complimentary robes – we didn’t. I guess tour groups are not robe-worthy. Now I know what it felt like to be in steerage class on the Titanic.

After our arrival, we gathered in the dining room for a much-anticipated seafood dinner. Being on the Amalfi coast with the Mediterranean just down the road, we were all excited. The meal began with a “buffet appetizer” followed by dinner. There was no organization, no direction, just a mass onslaught of our tour and another tour converging hungrily at the buffet. People cutting in line, pondering over the selections. It was buffet gridlock. When things ran out, that was it for that item. No replenishment. We were provided wine and bottled water as part of the meal at our tables and that was expected. One of our companions asked for a drink – a Kaluha and cream. She acknowledged that it wasn’t part of the planned dinner and offered to pay for it separately. After being ignored twice by the surly maitre d’, we asked our tour guide to intervene and request the drink in Italian. You didn’t have to speak the native tongue to clearly understand that, in this “5-star” hotel, getting a drink for a customer from a tour group was far too much trouble and an unacceptable request by a semi-unacceptable guest.

Begrudgingly (only because our tour guide insisted), the maitre d’ stopped at each table and asked if anyone wanted something other than seafood. A few said they would. They were rewarded with a scrawny piece of dark meat chicken – that was even more suspicious when we recalled hearing chickens in the afternoon, a sudden gunshot, then no more chicken noises. Coincidence? Perhaps.

Then the main meal came. Wow. A stiff, kind of a dingy white, sometimes yellow, sometimes gelatinous piece of unidentified seafood that was so fishy tasting, we had to ask for famed Amalfi coast lemons to mask the awful flavor and make it close to palatable. Most of our group couldn’t tolerate it.

The dining room was understaffed and the waiters were doing their best to keep up with the demand. There was only one waiter who went out of his way to meet requests and tried to keep things light by joking around.
You can’t really explore the neighborhood surrounding the hotel because the streets are so narrow and filled with blind curves that you literally take your life in your hands. So, we were captive at the hotel and went to bed hoping the next morning’s buffet breakfast would provide us with better fare and a different experience.

Well, if wishes were horses, beggars would ride.

Only half our group shows up for breakfast because somehow the wake-up calls – that lesser-star hotels managed to pull off flawlessly during our excursion – were botched. Good thing, though, because we’re in a full-on competition for food, cups, dishes, bowls, utensils, milk, coffee – big breath – you name it – with two other tour (steerage) groups. You want cereal? Cup your hands because there are no bowls. You want some milk with that cereal? Ha! Really? What do we look like? An actual five-star hotel? Did someone want juice? Mi dispiace…no juice glasses. Feeling daring, I went into the “other world” past the curtain dividing deserving (non-tour) guests from us rabble on a quest for coffee cups. I was quickly headed off by a waiter telling me, in a mixture of Italian and English, that I had to go back, that there was everything we need on the other side. I immediately recognized him as the sole waiter who tried to make our low-tide dinner the night before somewhat enjoyable. Feeling sorry for him, I retreated back past the curtain boundary that separated our two worlds. However, my wife was not to be denied. Since this was clearly a case of every guest for themselves, she sprung into action, grabbing milk pitchers off the coffee cart (warmed milk: good idea going into hot coffee, not so much going into cold cereal) while I searched for a tea cup for a fellow traveler who became ill overnight (see unpalatable dinner). The next goal: hot water. I’ll leave that to your imagination, I’m exhausted just recounting this story.

A few other tidbits for this Amalfi “gem”: Don’t look in your room for a TV remote. It’s at the front desk; you have to request it – and return it before checkout. We were told we could exchange dollars for Euros (and at a good rate) but when we asked to change $100 US – we were told that they couldn’t do it. Don’t go barefoot around the pool. The deck is old and rickety. Who needs a splinter when you have so much walking to do and wonderful things to see?

Bottom line: I imagine if you’re a paying guest, you are of a higher caste than we on a tour and are treated accordingly, but I honestly have no idea. I can only tell you how we on our tour fared. And, my mom was on the trip with me as well as my wife, so I can’t lie. I swear, every word of it is true. Right ma?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rlp51859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel August/Sept 2012 for a family holiday and had one of our best holidays. Staff really friendly and helpful. Pool is great, really child friendly and with plenty of deckchairs/umbrellas. Food in hotel amazing, worth going half board. Only downside is location is a bit far out, but shuttle bus (actually a full size coach) works well, otherwise is a 10 min walk to bus stop, then 2 Euro bus journey into Sorrento, which after a 5 course dinner each evening is actually quite nice to do! We actually found that we much preferred being in a quieter location where it felt more like 'real Italy', not touristy at all. Check out the spa downstairs, well worth going to and prices are v reasonable.One recommendation is for the pizza/panini place close to the hotel (turn right outside hotel, then first left "To Napoli", just before the mini market), they are so friendly and sell delicious pizzas from 4 Euros. Altogether a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Beautiful hotel that makes you feel like a rich and famous Italian Capo at an affordable price. The hotel has "nice presence" with big reception and foyer with 50s decor that gives you a sense of richness. The view from the hotel to Sorrento bay and cliffs is spectacular. Enough free parking space, excellent breakfast included, beautiful swimming pool, and a free shuttle bus to Sorrento down town which is a nice perk considering that parking in all the Amalfi coast is not easy unless you find a parking lot. The Sorrento downtown area is a must and walking, shopping and eating is an forgettable experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fechavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

It does have a 5 star rating and we heard a lot of guests discuss this point. I hadn't stayed in a 5 star hotel and I still don't think I have. It fits comfortably in the 4 star bracket, so once this is out of the way it is a great hotel. The village of Sant' Agnello is lovely and is not touristy at all. On our first night we ate in a small unassuming cafe in a square surrounded by locals, it was simple but tasty food. Locals seemed friendly. We also enjoyed a 3 day festival in the village whilst we were there, very local and more like and arts and crafts fair, but lovely to join in. The decor in the hotel initially looks really plush, but is a little worn. We had balcony overlooking the Bay of Naplesm which was stunning. The staff were mainly very friendly and helpful, although a couple of the bar staff did come across as a little aloof. The pool was great. Rooms very clean. It was a good base to visit the surrounding sights. Others have complained about the remoteness and not being close to Sorrento town, but there is the free bus service. Again others have complained this wasn't very frequent, but they give you a timetable of the service and I thought it was a good service. If was to return to the area I would certainly consider this hotel again as it was very good value for money. We really enjoyed our honeymoon here.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here from September 3-5 and really enjoyed it. This is very well located as a base. From here we drove to Positano(30 minutes), Amalfi (1hour) and we took a ferry to Capri.
The hotel is beautiful and set up high with a great view of the water. We had a superior room with a balcony and panoramic view. Breakfast was excellent with all the typical Italian fare and American style also for those who wanted including an omelette station.
We used the shuttle into Sorrento every evening and had no complaints about the schedule. You could walk but the streets are very narrow and they have some of the craziest drivers I have ever seen.
The only thing this hotel does need is a concierge. The desk staff were very polite and friendly but they lacked the knowledge of a concierge which would have been helpful when trying to plan our days.
All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank electric7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,066 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,071 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel la Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel la Pace

Property: Grand Hotel la Pace
Address: Via Tordara 10, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel la Pace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Pace has been built combining extraordinary ideas from the past historic luxury and today’s contemporary amenities. When you first step into our magnificent lobby, with its grand scale and splendid detail, you might think you’ve been transported back to the 20th Century, when great Hotels were built with marble and stone, not glass and steel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel la Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel La Pace Sorrento
Grand Hotel La Pace Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing