We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopeless experience and that was just dinner!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel la Pace
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Reviewed 3 June 2008

This hotel's marketing strategy needs a serious review. We tried their restaurant one evening and to have look around as a possible hotel to stay at on our next visit to Sorrento. We arrived at 8.30pm without a booking. We were greeted in the virtually empty restaurant by Mr Roberto, the restaurant manager. When we explained we wanted to eat, he seemed a little surprised and even more so when we twice assured him we weren't staying at the hotel. 4 courses were served in under an hour and by 10.00pm Mr R and his two floor staff were visibly itching to go home. The food was edible, the wine was fine (we chose that!), but 5, 4 or 3 star it wasn't. It never ceases to amaze why a restaurant is empty - why have one if you're going to treat your customers in the manner we were. Alas, no we won't be returning to this hotel, which incidentally is very dated in decor and probably needs a total makeover of the building, its staff and its attitude.

Stayed: May 2008
2  Thank MWLANDSVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2008

My wife and I stayed for two nights at Grand Hotel La Pace in Sorrento. The hotel was booked by Trafalgar Tours. It is a five star Versace-designed hotel with opulent furnishings, luxurious lobby, and elegant conference facilities. The ceramic floors and bathroom walls have fancy designs, and the walls are covered with fabric. The pluses:

1. Kleenex tissue in the room
2. Numerous free news channels including Bloomberg, CNN, BBC, and Fox News
3. Air conditioning is available any time
4. The beds are well supported
5. The buffet breakfast includes scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, sausages, and bacon. We saw champagne available at breakfast, as well.
6. The staff speak English very well.
7. Our ice pack was put in the freezer (not the refrigerator) and returned to us.

The minuses:
1. A desk chair and a sitting chair are provided in each room. The sounds of people in other rooms (above, to the left, to the right) dragging chairs across the tile floors is constant. This simple 5-star hotel problem could be solved by gluing rollers or even felt on the bottoms of the legs of the chairs.
2. Wireless Swisscom internet access costs Euro 10 or more than $15 per hour, which seems like overcharging, but which we found in 3 out of 9 hotels during the tour.
3. A 2' x 3' pillar ran through our room making a corner difficult to access for anything but storage (see photo).
4. It is about 800 meters downhill to the main street, a bit of a hike on the uphill return
5. The walls are not very thick.
6. Our room looked out on the back of a run-down house (see photo), but other rooms had better views (see photo).

The tour paid for our hotel, so we judged value from the TripAdviser price. Considering the fancy appearance, we may have judged the hotel a bit harshly for its numerous shortcomings. We found the expensive Internet especially inconvenient because we did not have the time or energy to walk to an Internet kiosk on the main street.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

This was a great hotel... 5 star treatment all the way around. The location is NOT suitable for walking though (we walked from the train to the hotel... uphill with luggage). Take a cab or the shuttle.

The rooms were amazing, as was the view. The view from the pool overlooking Sorrento is really breathtaking.

Everything was VERY clean and VERY nice. The bar was great with live violin music. We really enjoyed our stay at La Pace.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usf97j4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by a ghostly quiet in the cavernous lobby but put this down to being early in the season. The check in was pleasant enough but then we set off for our room. The elevator stopped six inches short of the floor and the room itself was very pokey (and this after booking a 'superior double with panoramic view') sickly bright yellow tiles comprised the floor and the dust was everywhere. We looked out the window in time to see them draining the hotel's only pool and when we rang down to find out about food we were told that poolside was the only place serving! When we went back down to the lobby there was rap music blasting out of the speakers. We took a walk around the area to discover we were nowhere near Sorrento, very misleading information from the hotel to say they are in Sorrento at all. Arrived back at the hotel and asked for a manager, no luck there so after a brief discussion we decided to check out only to be charged for our room for one night! Appalling hotel, appalling service, don't be misled into staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank johncaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2008

On 28th September 2007 my husband and I made our wedding vows in the church of Santa Maria Assunta in Positano with a hundred family and friends there to celebrate with us.

The wedding ceremony was perfect and went without a hitch which was astonishing considering we had had to transfer 100 guests from Sorrento by coach and then local bus, as far down to the church as possible, but no one went missing in action.

My husband and I then had a car waiting to take us back to the reception at Grand Hotel La Pace. Drinks and Canapes had been organised by the pool and we were the first to arrive as the sun set over the bay of Naples.

After drinks and congratulations we made our way into a private dining room for a spectacular 5 course wedding feast including lobster lingine and the 'piece de resistence', a profiterole wedding cake, so delicious it took our breath away.

We had a band from Midnight until 3am downstairs in the ballroom and the last of our revellers called it a day at 7am.

You would think for such a packed itinery I had sleepless nights leading up to the wedding, but I was confident the team at La Pace and Vesuvio express would deliver everything they promised, which they did and more. All of the details were taken care of and Alessandro and Gaetano remained in constant contact to alay any fears.

All of the transfers, cars, flowers, hairdressers were arranged by the team and went without fault.
Alessandro acted as wedding planner and charged us nothing for his services.

If you are looking for the wedding of you dreams, where all your wishes will come true I recommend Grand Hotel La Pace. From the setting to their organisation, everything was faultless, not to mention the quality of the food.

Truely a memorable occasion...we look forward to returning year after year.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Quinnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2007

My wife and I were looking for a romantic getaway for the end of our Italian vacation. Sadly, Grand Hotel La Pace is not what we were expecting. The 5-star rating is a joke. While the exterior and common areas are nice, hotel itself is not great.

Our room was average. The bed was European firm, which is fine, but the overall feeling was that the room was very tired. We had a view of some back alley and the fire escape.

Breakfast was fine, except there was a very large tour group staying at the hotel, and they all arrived for breakfast 5 minutes before we did. This made the line 15 minutes long. Not the way I like to start my day.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk down a steep hill to town (not Sorrento). The train will take you into Sorrento, which is the next stop. It is too far to walk to Sorrento in my opinion. It's hard enough getting up the hill. Also, there is a van that shuttles hotel guests to and from town hourly, which was reliable.

Finally, on the day we checked out, the front desk failed to mention the fact that there was a strike at the airport that day, and that all flights were postponed until further notice. This seems like the type of information that departing guests might be interested in, and something you would expect from even a family run 3-star hotel.

Overall, the hotel was ok, but I would not stay here again. It is worth the extra $ to stay on the cliff overlooking sorrento.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasTripper34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2007

We were at this hotel as part of Perillo Tour. It has a lovely lobby, nice bar (but unattentive bar help), adequate restaurant for breakfast and dinner, and nice, but not grand rooms. The hotel is up on a hill, not an easy or close walk to Sorrento.

We were at this hotel for only two nights and we were busy touring Capri so we didn't really get to enjoy the pool area or the town of Sorrento. I would like to go back to this area, but would pick a more centrally located hotel.

Not a bad choice if you don't mind being outside of the main Sorrento area.

For those of you going to Capri from Sorrento, don't get tricked into taking extra tours once in Capri. There is plenty to see on your on. There are lots of lovely coffee shops and restaurants to visit on your own. Take your time exploring the island at your leisure as opposed to the fast walking tours with a paid guide.

The shopping in Capri was the most reasonable, but since we visited there in the early part of the tour, we didn't have anything to compare it to and didn't buy what we liked when we saw it!

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel la Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel la Pace

Address: Via Tordara 10, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £158 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel la Pace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Pace has been built combining extraordinary ideas from the past historic luxury and today’s contemporary amenities. When you first step into our magnificent lobby, with its grand scale and splendid detail, you might think you’ve been transported back to the 20th Century, when great Hotels were built with marble and stone, not glass and steel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel la Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel La Pace Sorrento
Grand Hotel La Pace Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing