We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel la Pace
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Have just returned from La Pace. This is a lovely hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The foyer and public rooms are opulent and beautiful. We found the staff obliging and helpful particularly in the restaurant where nothing was too much trouble. The service was very personal and they made a real effort to remember your name and likes etc. We paid to upgrade from a standard room to the next one up and although we had a small terrace there was no view only a wall at the rear which was a little disappointing and the dogs next door made a terrific din whenever anyone walked past however you could not hear this when the window was closed. The bathroom could have done with an upgrade as the fan did not work and it looked a little faded.No tea or coffee making in our room. The food was superb although breakfast was a tad disappointing. On our last night there was a party for a relative of the owner and the bar was closed and there was limited service in the restaurant. we had missed the last shuttle bus to Sorrento and the bar around the corner was closed so we were stuck and unable to get a drink. We had to walk down to St Agnello which is a steep hill with no pavement, dark and busy with traffic. Perhaps the hotel could have informed guests about this situation so we could prepare. Overall however we had a great stay and would return.

Room Tip: Maybe a good idea to go for the higher priced rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    268
    174
    62
    29
See reviews for
186
501
16
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Fabulous lobby with very well appointed public areas. Bedroom has beautiful marble inlayed floors and well furnished with flat screen TV and mini bar.
There is a card in the room that needs to be used to obtain pool towels. We found that you were restricted to 1 towel per person which did not cover the full sun bed. As there were very few people at the pool this was surprising as either large towels or more would have worked better. Another area this hotel needs to pay some attention to. Some pool towels had holes in and should have been replaced. The views from the pool and the upper sun deck are absolutely outstanding.
Breakfast is a large buffet but there were days when some things were not available. There was a big selection of home-made cakes and an egg station but generally we felt the breakfast was not of the standard we experienced in other 5 star hotels. Camillo was one of the waiters and he was always helpful and charming cracking jokes to help wake us up. Some of the other staff were not so friendly.
The pool area has a snack bar and serves drinks. If you sit in the snack bar they provide peanuts and savoury biscuits but not on the sun deck or near the pool. The small beer is very small and is only half a glass. I had to ask for this to be topped up as it was less than 275ml and did look strange only filling half a small glass with beer! Antonino was at the bar and was friendly and always said hello. The pool loungers are too small for the average person and really need matrasses on them as there are not comfortable. They do however have a sun screen that fits over your head. There are only a few umbrellas and some of these were broken. The palm trees on the terraces were 50% dead and really did not portray the 5 star status.
There are 3 Jacuzzis. One in each changing room and one in the wellness centre. Therefore it is only possible to use a Jacuzzi as a couple or group if you pay for the wellness centre.
The standard of repair is not as expected in a five star hotel with paint peeling on the balconies and stains on the corridor carpets. A bit of a shame as the hotel is opulent.
WiFi is sketchy to say the least and this is only available in the public area/ SwissCom is available in the rooms and is Eur9 per 24 hours.
Our general feeling is that this is a great hotel that is spoilt by the lack of attention to detail that would be expected in a 5 star hotel. This hotel is a 15 min walk from the sea but there is a courtesy bus that runs all day until 23.00. There are some bars near the hotel but the best selection is towards the sea on the main Sorrento road. The bus drops off near the railway station so is ideally situated for trips on the train to Pompeii etc which are highly recommended. The price we paid was low for a five start and this could be something to take into account. Value for money is key and you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Get a room at the back away from the 2 roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EssexRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a romantic weekend with my boyfriend.
We had the loveliest time ever! The staff was very friendly and promptly available, the room was very clean and we also got extra supplies of tea/coffee and biscuits. The view from the premises was obviously stunning and the food was superb without being pricey. Would certainly go back again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kawaiison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel was much bigger than the frontage first suggested. It was very spacious, comfortable and attractively decorated/furnished in Italian style. The triple room was great and had a huge bathroom but the view from the window not too good as we were in a rear room. Immaculately clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Food was good but not very varied. Too far from the town though the hotel did provide a timetabled courtesy bus. Quiet location,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SONIA248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I recently stayed at Grand Hotel La Pace for a week with my Mum and sister. The main reason for the four-star rating is that the staff were fantastic and as somewhere to stay during a relaxing holiday the hotel met our needs. I particularly love the pool terrace, it has gorgeous views and there's a bar that serves food at lunchtime. The food isn't great but it's a very nice setting. If I were rating it solely based on the rooms then it would only be a three-star review. The décor is quite dated and we couldn't spend much time in our little patio overlooking the pool area because there was a very smelly drain just outside our French doors. The walls are also extremely thin - I was kept awake one night by another guest who had obviously fallen asleep with the tv on, and then proceeded to snore very loudly for several hours. I think that my recommendation to prospective guests would be to think about what you want from your visit. If you're not going to spend much time in your room and you want a friendly hotel with a good breakfast then this might be for you. Another plus is the shuttle bus that runs from Sant Agnello into Sorrento during the day. We used it a lot as taxis are outrageously expensive in Sorrento. However, if you are planning a romantic getaway and the quality of the room matters, then maybe think twice. I would also recommend Bed & Breakfast rather than half board. The staff will try to sell thee restaurant to you, saying that it offers one of the finest examples of local cuisine - that is not true, there are far better restaurants if you venture into Sorrento for the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aoife74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Been in Sorrento quite few times but first time at La Pace, as recommended by a relative. I spent probably the best holiday ever also thanks to the amazing service the smiley staff at La Pace was able to deliver. The location is peaceful and quite handy as minutes away from Sorrento centre. The food was appetising and desserts absolutely scrumptious! The hotel was outstandingly clean and tidy. What else can i say...i ll defo go back! Thank you guys :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronald r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut Creek, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Grand Hotel la Pace was far from grand. We spent 4 days at la Pace and would not recommend this hotel. The food was horrible. The lobby area and bar area had an unbearable smell of mildew. The rooms we stayed in had views of brick walls. The only nice part of our stay at the hotel was the staff who were very kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eg552014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,027 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Mar Hotel Alimuri
#1 of 7 in Meta
936 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,840 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel la Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel la Pace

Property: Grand Hotel la Pace
Address: Via Tordara 10, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel la Pace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Pace has been built combining extraordinary ideas from the past historic luxury and today’s contemporary amenities. When you first step into our magnificent lobby, with its grand scale and splendid detail, you might think you’ve been transported back to the 20th Century, when great Hotels were built with marble and stone, not glass and steel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel la Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel La Pace Sorrento
Grand Hotel La Pace Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing