We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel la Pace
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good hotel for short stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We stayed four nights at la Pace. The staff were very good, Nice pool on second floor with plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas. Bar and snck bar was good. Breakfast was a mixture of continental, offerings, nice cakes, with bacon, cooked frankfurters and scrambled eggs as an option. Did not eat in the resutaurant.
Rooms well equipped and cleaned with fresh towels every day.
With the exception of the pool the hotel seemed to be empty most of the day apart from breakfast time.
Walk to local shops/restaurants in Sant Agnello takes about 15 minutes, walk back uphill!
English spoken throughout, hotel (and so it seems Sorrento and Sant Agnello), staff fluent and my attempts to speak Italian were answered in English.
Free bus to centre of Sorrento and return during day and evening, which was very good (and left exactly on time).
The hotel made for a great short break.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    289
    179
    61
    31
See reviews for
188
569
18
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

I arrived at this hotel not expecting much as i had read reviews that it was no where near a 5 star hotel and it wasn't. On arrival to the hotel located in the hills(not actually in sorrento) the lobby in the hotel is fantastic.it is huge and has a piano bar and plenty of seating areas.
Our room was only a standard room and was small but it was clean which is all that matters and we had fresh towels and sheets every day. We were givena bottle of champagne and fruit bowel when we arrived, champagne was only cheap but a nice gesture. The wifi in the hotel is an outrageous €22 per day, and there is no other service so be prepared to pay if you want it. the shuttle bus that runs to sorrento town centre is reliable but be warned the driver doesnt wait around and a few times he left 5 mins early, especially on pick up from the town.
The pool is really nice and the snack bar beside the pool is reasonable and they dont take cash, they put everything on the bill.
overall this is a nice hotel located 10 mins(drive) outside of sorrento.. there is no way you can walk to sorrento town, as it is so hilly and narrow/dangoerous and would take a long time time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaviTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We payed for a sea view and we got a roof view and were told that that is the panoramic view. So we payed much for nothing!
Worse of all was that for 4 nights we could hardly sleep because we heared the people next door (especially the one that like to take a shower at 6 a.m. so we heard the water running and it was really loud) and above (for 2 nights we had a lady who loved to walk around the room untill 2 a.m. with her high hilled shoes. The other 2 nights there was a little child who had difficulty to sleep and so did we). After the first night we asked to move out from the room and we got the very polite answer of 'sorry madame. Tomorrow'. Each day we asked to move out and each day we got the same answer so offcourse they did nothing about it. The bathroom was dirty and very inconvenient. There was only a narrow shower (and without a bathrobe and slippers as they promise) with a very stained curtain so i had only quick shower because it really felt bad to stay longer at the shower. Definitely not what you expect at a 5 stars hotel. Brekfast was not tasty at all. The juice was made of water and some kind of powder and coffe and tea were also bad.
The only good thing that i can say is the free bus to town few times a day because the hotel is far from the city and the taxi service is 20 euro for one way.
I definitly expect from a place that call himself '5 stars hotel' to be clean, quite and to give the guests what they payed for. Certainly not a good value for the money and very disappointing! Not recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We loved this hotel, it was so warm & welcoming considering it rained for most of our stay!! It is out of the way, but this was what i wanted,so it suited us. We caught the Shuttle bus(free)provided by the hotel most days into Sorrento & then caught it back, or we got the train back & walked to the hotel (10min walk). I did walk once to Sorrento, it takes a good half hour, its a bit hair raising & it stinks of car fumes, so i wouldn't recommend that.
The food was amazing, i gained weight!! The rooms were spotless & very pleasant. We didn't use the beautiful pool due to the poor weather.
I would visit here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnSBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

As noted in other posts, the location of this hotel is not really that good. We had rented a car so we were okay with the distance of this hotel to the city centre of Sorrento. Do not believe what others wrote about being able to 'walk' to town. It simply is not true. The road to town gets narrow at times and it really isn't up to north american standards in terms of being able to walk along side vehicles. In one case, a bus nearly clipped a cyclist that made it into the street.

Other than location, this hotel is a bit of strange entity. It was very cheap (we paid $91 Euros a night) and seemed to be an oasis in terms of its location and its over the top decor. Most of the time we were there we NEVER saw anyone else in the hotel. The saddest part was to walk by the restaurant/bar which seemed ready to host the world but yet was empty, except for the waiters and bar tender.

As for the rooms. We booked the standard room only to find, when we checked in, that the room backed on to a brick wall and smelled (no exaggeration) from manure. The front desk was very kind and agreed to upgrade us for free to a room that was considered a partial mountain view at the other end of the building. At one point during the discussion, the remark "this is the standard room and that's what you booked" was said. To me, if you are running a so called 5 star hotel, you don't have rooms that face brick walls or smell like manure. These rooms should not be rented at all. The room we were upgraded to was a bit larger and had a balcony with a view of the mountains (as promised). There was a minibar/fridge in the room and the bathroom was a good size and kept clean -- with an evening turn down service too.

The so called "fitness centre" is one of the worst i've ever been to. The heaviest weight was 10 kilos (22 pounds) and the equipment was similar to what you can buy for a home gym at Wal-Mart. Most of which was broken or was on the verge of breaking. There were some cardio machines so if that's all you need then you'd be happy. For me, and those who like a good weight workout while on vacation, it was a waste of time to even try to work out there.

Parking was free and breakfast was included in our rate. Over all this was a good hotel that served as a good hub as we traveled to Capri, the Amalfi Coast, and to Pompei. We also used our car to drive into Sorrento (parking was $2 euro an hour at a local lot -- well worth the convenience) I would put the hotel in the 3.5 - 4 * category if we were using North American ratings but for Europe this is probably well classified as 5 stars given its amenties.

Two musts for a trip to this region --> 1. Rent a car ; 2. Get a GPS

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We chose this hotel because we were going on our honeymoon and wanted something a bit special. The staff were helpful. The room was always kept clean. The outside and inside look of the hotel was beautiful. The room we had on the first night was okay. Compaired to the outside we were a bit dissapointed to see nothing that special about the room. We enquired about an upgrade but they didn't have any panoramic rooms left, but they did have a pool veiw with a balcony and this made it better as the room seemed bigger and better thought out.(at no extra charge).There is a shuttlebus to and from Sorrento from the hotel, which was needed as there is a lot of traffic, so very dangerous to walk.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsteengordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Stayed here while in Sorrento in July. Hotel is a little bit out but is within walking distance. Otherwise the shuttel bus service is great. Very clean and reception areas are lovely. Rooms are standard. Staff could have been nicer! The view from the Pool area is fantastic. Overall would receccomend.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RonnieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,061 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,069 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel la Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel la Pace

Property: Grand Hotel la Pace
Address: Via Tordara 10, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel la Pace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Pace has been built combining extraordinary ideas from the past historic luxury and today’s contemporary amenities. When you first step into our magnificent lobby, with its grand scale and splendid detail, you might think you’ve been transported back to the 20th Century, when great Hotels were built with marble and stone, not glass and steel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel la Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel La Pace Sorrento
Grand Hotel La Pace Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing