We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel la Pace
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Reviewed 5 October 2009

It was our honeymoon!

Two things stand-out for us:-

1. The staff, reception & catering, were absolutely splendid - friendly, cheerful knowledgeable & exceptionally helpful!

2. The ambience of the hotel is superb with a very impressive reception & vestibule area surmounted by a splendid modern crystal chandelier. All areas of the hotel are liberally furnished with objets d/art.

Our room was very roomy & comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed Sorrento and the various attractions such as Pompeii, Herculaneum & Vesuvius.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RemeCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

829 - 835 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2009

We stayed recently at this Hotel which is really lovely. Staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. The Hotel has a mountain location in the Town of Sant' Agnello and provides a regular shuttle bus into Sorrento. Would recommend Grand Hotel La Pace to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAP1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We thought that this hotel was excellent and well worth the money we spent. It had everything that you would expect from a 5* with spacious, clean rooms, king size bed and large bathroom. The staff were pleasant, helpful and welcoming. The complimentary fruit and champagne upon arrival was lovely.

The roof terrace with the pool side bar and pool was lovely and its open all day and late into the evening. (The pool closes at 7).

Breakfast was the best we had in Italy, with much more on offer than elsewhere in terms of fresh fruit, breads, bacon, sausages, eggs in addition to the cereal and croissants. The hotel also offers lunch and dinner although we did not eat at the hotel any of the 5 nights we were there.

The only downside to the hotel is it's location. It is a 30 - 40 minute walk to the centre of Sorrento from here. The hotel run 5 services a day to and from the hotel, which are free. We used the shuttle on occasions and walked at other times. It seems safe enough but I wouldn't recommend the walk home to a female lone traveller as the hotel is set up a fairly dark, quiet, windy road.

We were not disappointed however as we knew about the distance to the centre and the lovely hotel more than made up for the occasional walk. If we returned to Sorrento we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondetraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Firstly the hotel is not that easy to find. If travelling by car take immediate left after church on the main ocast road heading to Sorrento when passing through Agnello. Then go circa 500 metres up the hill & hotel is on right.
Entering the hotel the reception area is huge & very much over the top glitz. This does not however carry on when you get to the rooms or other amenities in the hotel.
Hotel rooms are tired & not what you expect of a 5* hotel. They are however a reasonable size & clean.
Good roof top pool area with excellent views. However, pool bar closes for food circa 2pm each day!! Again unusual for a 5* hotel.........
Staff are formal & helpful albeit all very stiff.
Breakfast is pretty poor but edible.
The free shuttle bus is a god send. Distance to Sorrento town on foot would be circa 30-40mins & not a pleasant walk given the hill & not great surrounding area. However, it does get busy especially as it is shared with its sister hotel at the bottom of the hill. The last bus back from town gets very busy, can be a bit like a scrum so get there early. In fact 1 night the bus returned at 11.05pm (10mins early) due to it already being full!
Even so i would still recommend the bus given i found driving around Sorrento like being on the dodgems at the fair with all other car/scotter drivers trying to hit you & you simply trying to avoid a collision. I am a confident driver at home & abroad but this was hell!
Overall the hotel is ok but i would pay the extra next time to stay in Sorrento.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdgeverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

The hotel is in a quiet location. The facilities are OK. However, the service is far from that of a five stars hotel Grand Hotel Pace boasts to be. The breakfast is mediocre and a spremuta di arancia was served that was watery and tasteless.
Worst, one of the drivers of the shuttle to Sorrento was very rude.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radubradu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Upon arrival in Sorrento, we were unhappy with the awful location of our original choice and subsequently asked to move to the five star hotel in the same chain of establishments. The hotel itself certainly tries hard to look like a five star, but upon closer inspection there lay numerous disappointments.

Although the reception staff were generally polite and helpful, the demeanour and attitude of the waiting staff left a great deal to be desired. During breakfast on our first morning, it seemed that the request of an espresso and a cappuccino was far too much trouble for our waiter. We then overheard another member of the staff mimicking a guest’s mis-pronunciation of the word “espresso”. It is a shame that the staff could not appreciate the attempt of others to speak their language and their laissez-faire attitude was tiresome and basically, rude. Tables were not cleaned promptly and although there was a fair choice of food, the quality was lacking, especially the watered down fruit juice, dispensed from a machine. Nor would I recommend the restaurant. The food was nothing special and obviously bought in bulk and made from sachets.

My partner and I were given a top floor executive suite. OK, there was a sitting room and a corridor, but some of the balconies overlooked the mountains and pylons, in addition to having a dog constantly barking, noisy motorbikes and an occasional smell of horse manure. Servicing of the rooms was pretty erratic; a fruit bowl appeared two days into our stay and the turn down service appeared once. In addition, the bedroom was very noisy and our sleep was accompanied by ambient banging from all around us. This did not improve, even after we complained in the early hours during our first night of interrupted sleep. Onto the bathroom....having double sinks does not make a hotel five star! The shower curtain was mouldy along the bottom, there were black marks on the wall where the shower rail had been moved so often and it was IMPOSSIBLE to regulate the temperature of the water. We complained about this and nothing was done, so we spent the rest of our stay stepping in and out of a freezing/boiling shower.

The pool area was crowded with children throughout the day and absolutely deserted during the evening. There was no welcoming communal area as such and this was a surprise as we were so far away from civilisation. This is a major point to consider when booking this hotel. It is a fair distance from Sorrento (there is nothing in Sant Agnello) and it is impossible to walk into town. There is a free shuttle service, although it doesn’t run as frequently as it should. This is something the hotel needs to address as the taxi journey is extremely expensive (£25.00 plus for a one way journey) and the drivers reach ridiculous speeds on the street approaching the hotel, so fast that it can spoil your evening!

This review may seem over-critical but I expect MUCH more from a five star hotel, at the very least, a shower with warm water at a regulated temperature! We ate our final meal of our stay at the Bellevue Syrene hotel – a true five star in many respects with tremendous views over the bay towards Vesuvius, expensive but marvellous food. Grand Hotel La Pace is not a five star hotel by any standards and although the prices reflect this fact, I have paid less to stay in much better three star hotels in Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiksagoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We stayed for 10 nights, July 4-14, 2009, and enjoyed it immensely! Great peaceful, clean, and safe place to stay. Saw previous reviews but got such a good deal on price thought we would decide for ourselves when we arrived. ln Europe a 5 star rating means they have spa facilities. They do. Hotel has elevators. We got a double room with view of old country garden wall with lovely flowering vines and Mountains in the background we could open our french door to hear the lovely singing of birds. They put fruit basket and spumante in our room. The room was pleasant and clean with plenty of towels for all needs. Room service was consistent. We had a fridge and safe in the room and plenty of closet space and drawers. Comfortable beds, we opted for twins pushed together, and it was fine. We had great air conditioning. If you need to iron, they have an designated room you can go to for that, as it is not allowed in the individual rooms as they are very fire safety aware. Breakfast buffet was abundant and well organized by staff, with wide variety of food. It is served from 7-10am daily and is included in room price. It is all you can eat and includes cappuccinos, espresso's, champagne, bottled water and juice choices. Hot fresh real scrambled eggs, bacon, boiled eggs, tons of fresh pastry's, fruits, yogurt favors, breads, toaster, meats and cheese's. Wait staff are attentive friendly and hard working! They speak English. Pool is clean and wonderful to lounge by all day! It has views of bay of Naples from a distance, and vineyards on hillsides and mountains. Lunch is available by pool area, upstairs from reception. Lunch choices are good with local fare such as seafood or caprese salads or pasta or pizza or omelets, or burgers, fries etc. Bar is open for breakfast, and also for lunch 11-2pm. Bar is open for drinks from 10am till 12:00am midnight and has good variety. Beer in Plastic cups permitted by pool, but you get glass in the actual pool area bar. Pool towels provided by bar daily and clean! Pool closes at 7:00pm. Hotel shuttle (included in room price) is on time and sometimes early, so be Prompt by 10 minutes. Rides are free! Rides to Sorrento are 9 and 10,am and at 4,6,8, and 11pm. Ride takes about 7 minutes. Each ride drops of and picks up at each point. If you miss it, you will pay $25 euro for taxi. Sorrento is a beautiful romantic walking city. They do have bus & circumvensia train avail, but you must walk a distance or take cab to hotel from train station, it is uphill. Dinner at the hotel is great value and comparable food to local restaurants. They provide gluten free pasta upon request! Loved our stay at hotel. Highly recommend! Great for families and couples alike and very international! Dress up for dinner! Very pleasant good quality roomy European hotel! Loved Sorrento & surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophisticatedDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,369 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#4 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
0.9 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
1,053 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel la Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel la Pace

Address: Via Tordara 10, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £155 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel la Pace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Pace has been built combining extraordinary ideas from the past historic luxury and today’s contemporary amenities. When you first step into our magnificent lobby, with its grand scale and splendid detail, you might think you’ve been transported back to the 20th Century, when great Hotels were built with marble and stone, not glass and steel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel la Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel La Pace Sorrento
Grand Hotel La Pace Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing