We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hotel with lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel la Pace
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Reviewed 7 November 2010

I had to write this review having seen another review which was full of criticism for the Hotel and the staff. We stayed for two weeks in September on the 5th floor and the carpets in the hallway were NOT dirty and our room which was a double with sea view was cleaned daily, the linen on the bed being changed every other day - which I do not do at home!!!!!
The reception staff in particular were lovely. Marielana was so helpful as were all the reception staff. We booked a number of trips through them and they could not have been more helpful.
The bar and restaurant staff were also very friendly and could not do enough for you.
Breakfast was great - a plentiful choice. We had opted for half board which we had thought could have been a mistake but there was a different menu every day for a week, with about 4 choices of starter, main course and dessert, so we were quite impressed.
We had wanted a special holiday and we were not disappointed - we would definitely stay here again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jannie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2010

We booked this hotel through Last Minute.com and it was everything it promised!
The hotel is very sumptuous and certainly "grand" - the room was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed (well stocked bathroom, cosy duvet cover, complimentary bottle of prosecco and outdoor seating area). It has a lovely outdoor pool which overlooks the town - beautiful views of the mountains - but was closed as we went off-peak season.
The breakfast was the same every day but we enjoyed the scrambed eggs and bacon! Also offered cereals, pastries, fruit, yoghurts, toast, fruit juices and tea and coffee. Omlettes and crepes can be made to order. We didn't try the restaurant for dinner as there were so many lovely places to try in town.
The bar is lovely (quite pricey).
The hotel is in a town just outside of Sorrento but the hotel offers a free shuttle bus which goes at regular times during the day. Its about 10 minutes by bus or 20-30 minutes walking. From the shuttle bus stop in Sorrento its about a 10-15 minute walk to the port where you can get a boat to the Isle of Capri (about 25 euros each return) which is well worth a trip!
There is also a train station in the town which goes to Napoli (takes around an hour) and from there you can get the eurostar to Rome which takes another hour so worth a day there!
Would recommend going to Franco's Pizzeria on Corso Italia (the main road in Sorrento) for the best pizza and anti-pasti!!
Mannequins bar just off of Corso Italia is a very friendly bar with a wide range of drinks (reasonably priced) and food and shows football games.
The only thing i would say the hotel would benefit from is more english channels on the bedroom tv! We only had BBC world news and CNN, the rest were Italian!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandyangeluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Grand Hotel La Pace should take the 'Grand' off their title! I have read through the reviews again since my visit and it really is as if there are 2 different hotels with 2 different sets of staff.
The reception area of the hotel looks decadent and luxurious but the room we were in certainly wasn't. It was small and quite pokey. It also had mould on the bathroom celing and bath, rust on the mirrors and hairs in the bathroom that belonged to previous clients. Also the carpet in the corridor on our floor (level 5) was absolutely filthy and needed a very good clean. However, when we moved to the new room, it was cleaned well each day.
The reception staff were never very helpful. They always seemed to do the minimum to help. One day I asked when the pool would be open ( as it had been roped off) and was told it was open ( which it clearly wasn't) But no attempt was made to find out when it would re-open.
Although we didn't mind the hotel being out of town, it was a 35 minute walk into central Sorrento. So we did try and use the shuttle bus when we could. On our last night, we were waiting for the bus at 8.45pm ( the time we had been given for the bus at the beginning of the week), when it didn't arrive we asked the receptionist, and she told us the bus time had changed and it was now 8.30pm. It changed on the 19th, when we had taken the bus - but nobody had thought to dish out new cards for the new times. So we had a 35 minute walk into town ( and back) on our last night. Again - no apology from the receptionist - it was as though we were supposed to mind read that the times had changed 2 days earlier.
Overall I really don't think this hotel deserves a 5* rating and I certainly won't be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We had a hire car so situation of hotel not an issue, but be warned hotel is not an ideal position for those on foot! Hotel room was clean and fit for purpose,( we were on the pool area seperate to main hotel) bed comfy. loo clean etc. Nice and quite. The pool was fantastic just what we needed after a hot day seeing the sites, my only selfish complaint is that they closed pool at 7 but hey not the end of the world. Breakfast was very good, staff - no probs, we do our own thing, sleep, breakfast, out, getting on first name terms with folks is not high on our to do list. We loved this hotel and for the price we paid was not much more than cost of B&B in cornwall. Sorrento is lovely, lots of restaurants to cater for all tastes, we felt very safe at all times here. Tip We travelled from Rome to Naples by train, pick car up at station, be very mindful of pickpockets, my wife had her purse stolen on the train, which was very busy, oh and book seats or be prepared to stand for entire journey. Enjoy Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We stayed at La Pace for a week at the end of September. We took the local train from Naples station to Sant Agnello. We got a taxi to the hotel which takes less than 5 minutes and cost 12 euro!! However if you have a lot of luggage this was worth it.

Due to a situation with our room we had to stay for the first two nights in their 4* sister hotel. However Marilena the hotels manager dealt with us in a very professional way and with an excellent level of customer service. When we returned to La Pace we were upgraded to a beautiful suite with Panoramic View.
The staff were incredibly helpful and could not do enough for you. The hotel was clean and we loved how peaceful and quiet it was. Sorrento is a hive of tourist activity so staying slightly outside it was a nice balance. It was not inconvenient being outside of sorrento but I would say you need to be a good time keeper and willing to fit in with the shuttle's time table. I would highly recommend their beauty center. The prices were very reasonable and the Massages of excellent quality.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again. After long day trips it was fantastic to know you were going back to such nice accomodation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraConstantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

What a great place!! It was our first stop which set the pace for an amazing holiday! We were four families traveling together with children ranging from 5 to 23 and almost every age in between....so you could imagine the potential chaos!
La Pace just made everything easy and accessible. They were always curtious and accommodating. The breakfast was amazingly delicious, the poolside resto was perfect and so charming, the rooms were big and spacious and the view was beautiful whether you faced the hills or the pool.
The location of this hotel is perfect...a 15 minute walk from all the action and yet exotically secluded. We loved the stay and highly recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingbandits67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We were due to spend 3 nights here, but we were moved to their other 4 star hotel the first night as they had some issues with their air-conditioning. As a result for our other 2 nights, we were upgraded to a Suite which was amazing! The hotel itself however is very good! Clean, great rooms and good service. Their restaurants serve some great selections and the breakfast variety is ample! They however did not have free wi-fi or internet, which was vey very wierd and unsual for a 5 star hotel(for that matter any hotel in today's time i suppose!). You would have to pay and buy it if you wanted to use the same! Also note that the hotel is not in Sorrento, but about 15mins in St Agnello. However they have shuttle service from the hotel to Sorrento daily, so is not an inconvenient location to stay. The staff were courteous and always helped us with information we needed. There are no attractions or tourist spots near by the hotel and most is in Sorrento. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avid_traveller258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,352 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
0.9 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,164 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel la Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel la Pace

Address: Via Tordara 10, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £96 - £1,585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel la Pace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Pace has been built combining extraordinary ideas from the past historic luxury and today’s contemporary amenities. When you first step into our magnificent lobby, with its grand scale and splendid detail, you might think you’ve been transported back to the 20th Century, when great Hotels were built with marble and stone, not glass and steel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel la Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel La Pace Sorrento
Grand Hotel La Pace Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing