We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Really brilliant and underrated hotel - I'd read varying reviews before going and was hugely impressed once I arrived. The rooms were spotless and very quiet (a fantastic night's sleep), and when there was a slight problem with our initial room we were upgraded immediately at the hotel's suggestion. The location is great, about 20-30 minutes' stroll into Sorrento, and there is a fantastic lido 5 minutes' walk away where you can sunbathe by the sea. The pool area is also great - it was very quiet when we were there most days. The food at the hotel is fine - breakfast is standard, and dinner is perfectly OK but a bit uninspiring. Giving the fantastic restaurants a short walk away, this wasn't an issue.

I'd definitely stay at the Majestic Palace again - the hotel is lovely, and really well-located for the train station (30 mins to Pompeii, 60 to Naples). It was ideal for a couples' week away, where we wanted to explore the area- I wouldn't necessarily recommend it for people with children who need a lot of attention (the pool is fairly small and there's not a huge amount for kids to do) or for anyone not keen to do the walk into Sorrento. We're in our 20s and were definitely the youngest couple there, but hugely enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMC2011_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor.
We always try to do our best to satisfy our guests, and your kind review makes us very happy and prouds.
We really appreciate that you enjoyed your holiday with us.
We look forward to see you here again.

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

What I liked: the staff was really great, friendly and efficient. The deskman and the barman were especially nice. The room was absolutely immaculate. The bar next to the pool was also a good scene. The breakfast was excellent.

What I didn't like: first, when I booked with with "no view" I didn't know that meant in the basement. I had thought it was ground level, especially from the pictures. That was a bummer. Second, we started off with no hot water. The guy who came to fix it did something and left. We had hot water - for five minutes, then none. The old way used to be to keep hot water from the guests in the afternoon. But this is the 21st century. Third, the bathrooms are spacious but really outdated. (Really, who uses a bidet anymore? You expect Toulouse-Lautrec to be walking around.) a good shower - with a hand-held device - can do everything you need and more. Finally and maybe above all, the position of the hotel, which is quite a nice building, is just not good: it's well out of Sorrento, but not convenient either to the Circumvesuviana train. That makes the money spent for it more than it should be. Nice hotel, great staff, but would stay in Sorrento next time.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank TheEyeInEvanston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and thanks a lot for having post a review on tripadvisor.
We really appreciate that you liked our friendly and efficient Staff, our breakfast and our immaculate clean room.
Regarding the things you didn't like; we are sorry about the problem with hot water you had on your arrival, that day there was a problems with some rooms but resolved in 1 hour and we apologize for this.

We have different types of rooms; Basic room with patio is allocated on ground floor (not basement), Standard with balcony on 1st or 2nd floor, Superior room with balcony and panoramic view on 3rd and 4th floor and suites on top floor with bay view.

In all the bathrooms here in Italy you'll find a bidet. Here you'll never find a bathroom without a bidet, at home as in all the hotels, and the 99% of Italian people and lots of European uses it.

Hotel Majestic Palace is not in Sorrento centre, it is at 1,5 km far from Piazza Tasso the main sq. in sorrento. Our quiet position is ideal for people want to stay out of the crowd and traffic, surrounded by our garden (8500mq.) with orange and lemon groves.
The Hotel is connected to Sorrento centre by public bus (stop just 200 meters far from hotel), by train ( the station is just 400 meters far from hotel and you can use the same ticket for the bus and for the train), by walk (20minutes), by taxi.

We hope to see you again here in Sorrento in the future.

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We had the best holiday, we can't fault the hotel. The staff we're all very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble for them and always done with a smile. The rooms were large and clean. The restrauant vas very nice and the food was lovely with a good selection and they would always do you an alternative if you didn't fancy the menu. Although it was a bit of a walk into the centre of Sorrento it was nice as it was reasonablly quiert and the walk did you good after all the lovely food! All in all we really enjoyed it and would love to go again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floor didn't have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gardner21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Dear Gardner21,

Thank you very much for choosing us for you holiday and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
Thanks a lot for your lovely words used for our Staff and Hotel in general.
We hope to see you again here at Majestic Palace!

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We have just returned from the Majestic Palace after having a wonderful week there. The hotel was of an exceptionally high standard. The staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Dinner in the evening was lovely and the pool was very clean and well maintained. It was very easy to relax in the bar during the evening.

St Agnello is a small but busy town and we enjoyed visiting one particular cafe bar called Bar 13. The owner was very friendly. Bar 13 is situated also on Via Crawford almost opposite to the Hotel where we enjoyed lunch on two occasions. Here they served pizza and pastas all made to order and absolute delicious and very good value. The coffee here was also very good.

Family of four with children age 12 and 13.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cheshire018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The hotel is in Sant'Agnello. It's a quiete place and it was about a 30 minute walk to the centre of Sorrento. It's also easy to get there by public bus (ticket 2,4 €). Breakfast was the same every day, choice was limited. Room was good with a view of the mountains. The swimming pool area was nice and relaxing.
Stayed in May 2011, traveled as a couple.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank dnskcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Wonderful and accomodating staff - buffet breakfast wonderful and our two night stay for a wedding in Sorrento was just perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Redman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

After the horrible experience of the Circumvesuviana train, the hotel was a very refreshing sight. Beautiful grounds with an pool in front led us to a nice lobby. This was a much different hotel than what we had seen on the rest of our Italian trip.

The room was extremely spacious, with a nice balcony overlooking the hotel's garden and the bay of Naples. The bathroom was also very large, with an oversize tub an a corner shower. Our bathroom showed a couple signs that the cleaning staff wasn't that attentive to details but nothing major.

The hotel is in Sant'Agnello, and it was about a 25 minute walk to the centre of Sorrento. It's also easy to get there by public bus. However, when we asked two different front desk employees for bus directions to Marina Piccola to get the ferry to Naples on our departure day, we got very imprecise directions and we then needed to ask passersby for help. A little more care in this type of thing would go a long way.

The breakfast buffet was much more extensive than anything else we'd gotten in the rest of our trip but the coffee was horrible.

This hotel certainly provided very good value for the price we paid and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OceanCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £122 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing