We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will be charmed by the Majestic Palace Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Majestic Palace Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You will be charmed by the Majestic Palace Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

I travelled with my mum on June 10th in which we spent 7 nights at the Majestic Palace travelling with Thomas Cook. I have included a location for a little beach on the other side of Sorrento for those who want a change from the pool further down in the review, which is defiantly worth a visit. Also for those travelling via Thomas Cook I have information on the Rome Excursion, so please message me for details.

The hotel is beautiful, lots of seating inside and out, lovely decor, a deep outside pool, and is the perfect base for those who want a combination of relaxing and exploring. I found the staff both friendly and efficient; paying attention to each individual guest doing everything they could to make your holiday that extra bit special. Especially those on the bar who were fantastic :)

We expected to be placed on the ground floor however on arrival were upgraded to a room which shared a private terrace with four other rooms; containing sun loungers and over looked the front of the hotel and the pool. The room was very spacious with a safe, air conditioning, TV and large bathroom. GIRLS if you have long hair take your own hair dryer or you will be sitting for an hour trying to dry your hair!!! Many people said there were no TV channels in English, however as they use SKY on some channels eg FOX press the 'i' button and change the language from Italian to Original and volia! Furthermore there is no need to take your own towels with you for the pool as the hotel provides these, which means more luggage space!

Although the rooms were lovely, you can hear everyone else; above, below, beside, shutting the doors etc. Some nights due to certain neighbours 'banging around' or being generally noisy I found it difficult to get to sleep. So please have respect for your fellow neighbours because you can hear each other.

Breakfast was a buffet with fruit, pastries and cereals and at Dinner you received a 3 course meal with a salad bar in which you helped yourself. However we did go out to eat twice in Sorrento at Restaurant La Lanterna, make sure you go earlyish to grab an outside table. They serve great food in large portions with a lively atmosphere.

A cocktail/long drink was 8 Euros, a large glass of wine was 5 Euros and a bottle of water was about 2.50. Snacks for lunch were also served from the bar; Pizza, sandwiches etc..

The hotel is a 30 minute walk to Sorrento or you can catch a bus in for 2.40 Euros each way, and bus tickets can be purchased from the Hotel Reception or from the corner shop.

For those visiting Pompeii and didn't want to do so via your Tour Operator, we travelled via train on a Sunday, in which tickets are half price (a return was about 3.50 Euros each). The journey only took about 30 minutes and literally is a two minute walk to the entrance.

For those who would like a change from the pool, it is worth visiting Marina di Puolo, a small beach outside of Sorrento. You can get the bus from Sant Agnello to Masso and follow the road under the sign 'Hotel Dania', however it is a bit of a steep walk down to the beach. The sand is black due to the volcanic ash, however the water is clear and if you snorkel you can see the fish. The area is full of Italians and at that time we were the only tourists, you pay 5 Euros for a sun bed, and for 1 Euro you also get access to a shower cubicle and changing room. The facilities are also very clean. The beach front if full of local tavernas, the La Tavenetta was packed and justifiably so. They provided a table service however if you wanted Pizza or Pasta, they would cook it for you and bring it out to on the beach! The food was lovely, and reasonably priced I recommend the Tomato Mozzarella Salad. For two meal meals, a beer and soft drink and bread we paid twenty Euros and the portions were very decent.

I really had a fantastic stay, good food, amazing staff and perfect company in a fabulous location. I really do recommend this hotel and can't wait to come back next year!
I have included some photographs so please flick through. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to ask :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmilyAnna1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear EmilyAnna1990,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for your perfect summary about our Hotel in general, room, SkyTv, and lots of other useful information.
We are really pleased that you and your mom enjoyed your holiday at Majestic Palace.
Hoping to see you here again,

Sincerely

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    255
    94
    31
    10
See reviews for
171
382
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed at this hotel with 3 friends and we had a lovely time. We were in basic rooms, which were a good size and very clean. The bathroom was a bit dated but very clean. We shared a terrace which was nice as we were in two rooms.
The swimming pool was lovely and a good size with plenty of sunbeds. There were also 2 roof terraces for sunbathing and a third roof terrace at the top of the hotel had great views and as someone else had suggested we took a bottle of Prosecco up and enjoyed the sunset.
We only had breakfast at the hotel but this was nice. We found the hotel staff friendly and helpful.
There were two large lounges, pool table, several card tables and lots of space to sit around and read, chat and enjoy a drink.
This hotel is in a quiet side road away from the main road which is a definate plus and within short walk of some nice restaurants. It is a 20 minute walk from Sorrento or a 5 min bus ride.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McJaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Dear McJaney,

Thank you for taking time to post a review on tripadvisor, we really appreciate your comments.
Looking forward to see you again here at Majestic Palace,

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

My daughter and I have just returned from a week at the Majestic Palace . We had been upgraded when we got there ( we hadn't asked to be!) and had a room with a lovely terrace on the first floor. The staff were exceptional....pity some of the hotels we have recently stayed at in England over the past year could learn a thing or two from them about customer service. I couldn't understand the earlier comments I'd read. Just a please or thank you and a smile goes a long way.....We'll be back next year along with the rest of the girls...

My daughter will be writing a full review about where to go and how much etc...because you can do everything yourself...don't fall into the trap of going on these wretched tours offered by the Tour Agents...you WILL end up in some God forsaken restaurant and asked to pay out for a lunch or dinner that's not necessary when you could have spent more time in the resort....

Any questions just email...I'll be happy to help

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dulavinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Dear Dulavinsky,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your holiday and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
Thanks a lot for nice words you have used with us and for our Staff!
We look forward to welcome you next year here at Majestic Palace.

Best Regards

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Really brilliant and underrated hotel - I'd read varying reviews before going and was hugely impressed once I arrived. The rooms were spotless and very quiet (a fantastic night's sleep), and when there was a slight problem with our initial room we were upgraded immediately at the hotel's suggestion. The location is great, about 20-30 minutes' stroll into Sorrento, and there is a fantastic lido 5 minutes' walk away where you can sunbathe by the sea. The pool area is also great - it was very quiet when we were there most days. The food at the hotel is fine - breakfast is standard, and dinner is perfectly OK but a bit uninspiring. Giving the fantastic restaurants a short walk away, this wasn't an issue.

I'd definitely stay at the Majestic Palace again - the hotel is lovely, and really well-located for the train station (30 mins to Pompeii, 60 to Naples). It was ideal for a couples' week away, where we wanted to explore the area- I wouldn't necessarily recommend it for people with children who need a lot of attention (the pool is fairly small and there's not a huge amount for kids to do) or for anyone not keen to do the walk into Sorrento. We're in our 20s and were definitely the youngest couple there, but hugely enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMC2011_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor.
We always try to do our best to satisfy our guests, and your kind review makes us very happy and prouds.
We really appreciate that you enjoyed your holiday with us.
We look forward to see you here again.

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

What I liked: the staff was really great, friendly and efficient. The deskman and the barman were especially nice. The room was absolutely immaculate. The bar next to the pool was also a good scene. The breakfast was excellent.

What I didn't like: first, when I booked with with "no view" I didn't know that meant in the basement. I had thought it was ground level, especially from the pictures. That was a bummer. Second, we started off with no hot water. The guy who came to fix it did something and left. We had hot water - for five minutes, then none. The old way used to be to keep hot water from the guests in the afternoon. But this is the 21st century. Third, the bathrooms are spacious but really outdated. (Really, who uses a bidet anymore? You expect Toulouse-Lautrec to be walking around.) a good shower - with a hand-held device - can do everything you need and more. Finally and maybe above all, the position of the hotel, which is quite a nice building, is just not good: it's well out of Sorrento, but not convenient either to the Circumvesuviana train. That makes the money spent for it more than it should be. Nice hotel, great staff, but would stay in Sorrento next time.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank TheEyeInEvanston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and thanks a lot for having post a review on tripadvisor.
We really appreciate that you liked our friendly and efficient Staff, our breakfast and our immaculate clean room.
Regarding the things you didn't like; we are sorry about the problem with hot water you had on your arrival, that day there was a problems with some rooms but resolved in 1 hour and we apologize for this.

We have different types of rooms; Basic room with patio is allocated on ground floor (not basement), Standard with balcony on 1st or 2nd floor, Superior room with balcony and panoramic view on 3rd and 4th floor and suites on top floor with bay view.

In all the bathrooms here in Italy you'll find a bidet. Here you'll never find a bathroom without a bidet, at home as in all the hotels, and the 99% of Italian people and lots of European uses it.

Hotel Majestic Palace is not in Sorrento centre, it is at 1,5 km far from Piazza Tasso the main sq. in sorrento. Our quiet position is ideal for people want to stay out of the crowd and traffic, surrounded by our garden (8500mq.) with orange and lemon groves.
The Hotel is connected to Sorrento centre by public bus (stop just 200 meters far from hotel), by train ( the station is just 400 meters far from hotel and you can use the same ticket for the bus and for the train), by walk (20minutes), by taxi.

We hope to see you again here in Sorrento in the future.

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We had the best holiday, we can't fault the hotel. The staff we're all very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble for them and always done with a smile. The rooms were large and clean. The restrauant vas very nice and the food was lovely with a good selection and they would always do you an alternative if you didn't fancy the menu. Although it was a bit of a walk into the centre of Sorrento it was nice as it was reasonablly quiert and the walk did you good after all the lovely food! All in all we really enjoyed it and would love to go again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floor didn't have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gardner21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Dear Gardner21,

Thank you very much for choosing us for you holiday and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
Thanks a lot for your lovely words used for our Staff and Hotel in general.
We hope to see you again here at Majestic Palace!

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We have just returned from the Majestic Palace after having a wonderful week there. The hotel was of an exceptionally high standard. The staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Dinner in the evening was lovely and the pool was very clean and well maintained. It was very easy to relax in the bar during the evening.

St Agnello is a small but busy town and we enjoyed visiting one particular cafe bar called Bar 13. The owner was very friendly. Bar 13 is situated also on Via Crawford almost opposite to the Hotel where we enjoyed lunch on two occasions. Here they served pizza and pastas all made to order and absolute delicious and very good value. The coffee here was also very good.

Family of four with children age 12 and 13.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheshire018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#58 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Property: Majestic Palace Hotel
Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing