We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed with a party of seven (5 adults 2 children) spread across 3 rooms. All the rooms were clean and of a good size so there was plenty of space even in the room where 3 people stayed.
The view from our balcony on the third floor at the back was great looking over the garden of the hotel and towards Sorrento and you could just see the sea looking through the gaps in other buildings. From the front balconies you looked over the pool area at one end and a sun terrace over the other and quite a lot of the bay of Naples although due to other buildings you'd have to be on the fourth floor to be sure of seeing it all and also to have a view of Vesuvius.
We stayed half board for 14 nights and the dining was excellent if a little repetitive the 4 choices for starters were normally either a combination of 2 out of ham, cheese and melon, a form of vegetable soup and 2 types of pasta 1 with meat the other without. The mains were 1 fish dish, 2 meat dishes, and some form of vegetarian option all served with potato and 1 vegetable, although if none of the above mains appealed you could always order a plate of chips and a burger instead. Drinks cost extra with even a bottle of water costing E2.50 and I can't vouch for the quality of the wine but I don't recall seeing a bottle for less than E15.00. Breakfast was as you'd expect with a good selection of juices bread, rolls and
croissants with fillings, also scrambled egg a continental sausage and thin bacon was available.
The pool area was kept clean with a reasonable amount of sun beds with and deck chairs although they were in the shade for part of the day but there was another sun terrace with sun beds which caught the sun all day. The pool itself wouldn't be suitable for small children as the shallowest part was 1.2m deep with only an under the surface wall with gaps protecting a 1.8m section and not far from the 3m part which takes up almost half the area.
There's a small beach 100yds away which charges E5 to venture on to and another E5 for a sun bed.
The pool bar/cafe was very pleasant with efficient service and all staff were polite and helpful with reception even doing me a spare key card at half midnight on the night I arrived. The decor in the public areas is clean with plenty of interesting sculptures and painting.
The music in the bar in the evenings was a bit too loud really and could certainly be heard in the rooms but it did finish at half eleven and the bar would normally shut then but they would carry on if the demand was there.
San Agnello has a couple of bars but the walk into Sorrento takes 25mins with a couple of bars on the way and although the main road doesn't make for a pleasant walk you can avoid the main roads for most of the way.
All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

I stayed at the Majestic Palce with my husband and 10year old son. The hotel was full of character with furnishings befitting a majestic palace. Our room was clean and spacious with a balcony overlooking the pool. We heard all the music, both recorded and live every night, but, to be honest, we were so shattered from our busy days out that it wasn't that much of a problem. We didn't really notice the traffic noise mentioned by other reviewers either. We only tried out the pool a couple of times, as we were out all day, but enjoyed it when we did-the only problem was that it was very deep-3m for most of it, so we were a bit wary when our son was swimming, as he's not that strong a swimmer!
The food was good, and varied, there was also a children's menu if they need a chip fix! Drinks were expensive, but that's the norm for Italy, although we did find a very useful shop up the road - 'Bacchanalia' which sells wine by the litre, as long as you're not fussy about it being in plastic bottles!
The hotel is in a very good location for sightseeing-the Circumvesuviana train station is just around the corner, and runs between Sorrento and Naples-useful for visiting Pompei if you're on a budget. Sant Agnello is also on a bus route, although it's best to start off from Sorrento if you want a seat. The walk into Sorrento takes around 25mins, but it isn't much fun whichever way you go-very busy roads and narrow, or non-existent pavements.
La Marinella lido is at the end of the road-steep path down, or you can take the lift for a charge. There is a small beach and a raised deck, it is however very expensive-you have to pay to enter, as well as to rent the sunbeds and parasol-we ended up paying 27Euro for the 3 of us to go in, and have the use of 2 sunbeds and a parasol, but then that's Italy for you!
All in all a very enjoyable stay - nice hotel and staff, and plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buntyschlager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Friendly hotel. Good sized rooms and clean. Good service. Restaurant food was good overall - and managed to keep the whole family (incl teenegers) happy most of the time. Well placed for Sorrento (walk or bus) and a short walk to the bay of Naples with great views and a marina for swimming. Pool was a bit small - but was adequate. Staff were very friendly and responsive. Trip to Capri was good - especially the views from the top of the chair-lift. Good for a week but no longer. We had a very lovely time there and would recommend it to families.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyman052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This Hotel is in a lovely location and has nice gardens. The Don Geppi Restuarant serves delicious meals. The Maj blue Bar is very relaxing and serves snacks. The swimming pool is close by which adds to it's ambience. All the Staff are excellent and always willing to make your stay a memorable and pleasant one. When you enquire about a place or venue they provide great information and directions and always helpful and pleasant. Security is very good and it is a safe place.

Room Tip: Rooms very comfortable and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S0rrent02011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Mr & Mrs G.

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for your 11th years to return in our Hotel. It's a big pleasure for us to have guests like you!
See you next year!!
Grazie

Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had a room on the third floor which was a good size with a balcony and working airconditioning.The room was spotless with a good bathroom which was cleaned every day.The pool,bar and surrounds were excellent,well maintained and restful.The staff of the hotel were quite exceptional and tried to be helpful at all times.There were drawbacks.No-one should go to Sorrento for a beach holiday - the beaches are pathetic and the Lido system is far too expensive.The street where the hotel is situated is narrow and busy and the adjoining main Corso Italia is just crazy,even for pedestrians.Public transport into Sorrento is a must.The hotel does its best despite the location and the staff and the facilities combine to give their guests an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piste_Off_Wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed recently, having been twice before several years ago, when we loved it. Sadly, in these recessionary times, there have been substantial changes, with the food quality inconsistent, no buffet night, less choice of breads/meats/cheeses at breakfast, fewer waiters and they were very inexperienced instead of the previous gregarious characters (see review 2 or 3 below), and lack of courtesy bus (irritating as the cost of bus tickets has doubled for tourists to the area and buses are erratic, when they're not completely on strike). However, the pool area was clean and well looked after with plenty of space and loungers or deck chairs for all. The bedrooms were spotless as usual and well appointed. The cleaning staff were excellent and always cheerful. The noise from the bar area on many nights was excessively loud with the singers that the hotel had provided - sounding more like a concert than background music. Overall the experience was disappointing compared to previous stays and we probably won't return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

As an EasyJet holidaymakers we were allocated in the basement, you can imagine initial dissapointement. There was some trouble in the corridor when we arrived and we asked for another room somewhere on upper floors and I was prepared to pay extra for an upgrade. The staff were more than accommodating, we were given a nice room on 1st floor with a swimming pool view, we felt safer there and...... all at no extra cost!!!!!! So, many thanks to a lovely man at the reception desk....All in all, rather expensive but that's the case anywhere in euro zone. Hotel restaurant's menu v limited so we did not dine there at all, plenty of choice in Sant'Agnello or Sorrento. Very good transport.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear YinYangDana,

Thank you very much for choosing our property and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Regarding your review, we would like to clarify some points:

It isn't true that as you were an EasyJet holidaymakers you were allocated on ground floor, we treat all our guests in the same and correct way. Lots of EasyJet holidaymakers book with us a superior room with balcony... we give you the room that you have booked and paid.
Frankly I can't understand when you say: "All in All, rather expensive"... "the Hotel Restaurant menu is limited"... and that "our Hotel is over rated"... Yes, it's true that we cannot discuss about tastes and point of view of people but just to remind you that we have in our restaurant 2 types of menu, à la carte menu with more than 30 regional and International choices and with prices starting from 8,00 euro. Than we have Daily Menu with 10 choices, plus salad buffet, vegetables and dessert at euro 28,00 per person.
However we are very pleased that you have appreciated the efficiency of our Staff at Reception and the fact we give you a nice upgrade room with balcony on 1st floor with pool view... all at no extra cost!

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#51 of 100 in Sorrento
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £130 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing