We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I feel we were taken for a ride!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Majestic Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I feel we were taken for a ride!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Did not find the staff a friendly as other people seem to have done. Yes they were polite but nothing more than you expect & after 10 nights they were still asking which room we were in - and there were probably only about 20 rooms occupied. Eye contact as you return to the hotel after a day out? - None! They seem to have other computer related things to do than say "Hello".

Yes they gave us a nice cake for our anniversary but we could not get a drink of anything at dinner (not even water) without paying for it!

Breakfast - probably the worst I have ever had in a hotel! The only thing hot was scrambled egg, greasy bacon, yesterday's (probably) beans and small sausages. That did not change for the entire 11 nights. If you wanted any other type of egg (boiled, fried, etc.) then you pay extra.
Choice of first course - muesli (with milk if you were down in time) or yoghurt! It was not much better then the breakfast I grab before going out to work in the morning!

We arrived and (as requested when booking) were given a room on the 4th floor but before we had reached the lift that was changed and we were given a room on the first floor with a view that was blocked by the garden hedge. The change seems to have been prompted by the arrival of another guest 2 minutes after us.

Drinks at the bar - one wine and one whiskey = €14!

I mentioned our anniversary - when we returned after being out for the day we found a nice bottle of liqueur and 2 glasses on the dresser, very nice. When we checked out a few days later they had added it to the bill!

Location - OK but not brilliant - 10 minutes to the station or bus stop, or 35 minutes walk into Sorrento along a road that sometimes has and sometimes does not have suitable pavements. Not a relaxing walk as you have to keep both eyes open for cars and motor cycles/scooters.

No beach nearby though you can go down to the sea 10 minutes away and walk down the steep climb (or take a lift for €0.60) and then pay about €20 to get onto the sunbathing platform and hire a deck chair.

Room Tip: Do not accept 1st floor and keep away from the kitchen which has the air con fans going all night to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TonyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear TonyHampshire,

Thank you very much for choosing the Majestic Palace and for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
We are very sorry to read your review and you haven’t appreciated our hotel. We would like to reply to your review in some points:

Staff: Honestly read that you didn’t find our Staff friendly and helpful as other people seem to have done, leaves us perplexed… but we accept your criticism. I would like to reply that our Staff is the real engine of the Majestic Palace Hotel and give us satisfaction from years as evidenced in all the reviews.

Breakfast: We actually provide a good variety of food at breakfast: croissants, brioches, hand made cakes, buffet of cereals, fruit juices, marmelade, jam, teas, coffee, milk, ham, cheese, fresh tomatoes, fresh fruits, preserved, yogurts, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, beans. In addition we have also a menu with extra choice dishes for example many types of omelette. We are very sorry if you didn’t enjoyed our breakfast.

Room: In the contract with the travel agency that booked your room here at Majestic, we have 3 room types. Basic room on ground floor with patio, standard room with balcony (allocated on 1st or 2nd floor) and room with balcony and panoramic view (on 3rd and 4th floor). Your reservation was for a standard room with balcony and we have given that kind of room. You booked a standard room and requested a room on 4th floor with panoramic view!!?? The 2 things are not compatible… By the way, I do not understand why you complain about the room just now, it makes no sense to complain about the room only now at home. You could easily came at reception desk and say that the room was near the kitchen which has the air con fans going all night to… etc etc etc and our helpful Staff at reception desk would have done everything was possible to accommodate you in another room, different side or floor far from the kitchen or in a room with balcony and panoramic view (with a little supplement for the upgrade).

Drinks at the bar: As advertised on all menu, on all tables in our bar, we have different types of whisky with different price (depend on the aging).

Anniversary: We have in contract (with the travel agency) for anniversary a free bouquet of flowers and a free bottle of wine (for you also a cake). Probably there was a misunderstanding between the travel agency about who had to pay for a different price of the bottle of liqueur (ordered by travel agency). We really apologize for the inconvenience.

Location: I don’t know if we’re talking about the same beach, but the “Marinella” beach is at only 300 meters far from the hotel, exaggerating a 5 minutes walk. Our Hotel is situated in a quiet position, considered excellent by many people. We are not in Sorrento centre but at 1,5 km far from Piazza Tasso the main sq. in Sorrento. Our quiet position is ideal for people want to stay out of the crowd and traffic, surrounded by our garden (8500mq.) with orange and lemon groves.
The Hotel is connected to Sorrento centre by public bus (stop just 200 meters far from hotel), by train ( the station is just 400 meters far from hotel and you can use the same ticket for the bus and for the train), by walk (20minutes), by taxi.

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    255
    94
    31
    10
See reviews for
171
382
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We chose this hotel because it was in a quiet street, close to the Circumvesuviana station, and had good reviews on Trip Advisor. As many people have said, the hotel staff were great - friendly and helpful. The swimming pool is lovely, very comfortable seats and loungers. The food was OK, helpings (particularly the starters) were too large for us. The beds were the worst aspect, far too hard and we both slept badly (particularly as a rubbish cart came down the street at 4.30 am making a terrific noise). But the goods definitely outweighed the bads. We spent a day at Pompeii, one at Herculaneum and one in Naples and the Circumvesuviana made these trips a piece of cake. We also took the coast road to Amalfi, stopping off at Positano, using the regular bus, and another day was spent on Capri. In Naples, we did a tour of Naples Subterraneo (there are several of these, we did the one at Piazza San Gaetano) and visited the Archeological Museum - both well worth while. The hotel was well positioned for all these visits and it was lovely to return to our large room with balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples (even if a rather distant bay!).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sheenaSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We have recently spent 11 nights half board at the Majestic Palace. This family run hotel is positioned well for access by bus (10mins) or walking (20mins) to Sorrento. The 10min walk to the station gave us access to all the places we wanted to visit easily. We had a second floor front room which had great sea and mountain views and a view of the pool area. The room was slightly noisy from the road and the builders at the building opposite, but was very large, clean and the comfortable beds more than made up for that. The room had a good size ensuite bathroom and small hallway. It was also positioned next to the sun terrace, this gave us our own sunbathing area if the pool was busy. All the staff without exception were friendly,extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant served a buffet breakfast which was extensive from cereal to cooked, including eggs, bacon and sausages, fresh fruit and numerous breads and cakes. The evening meal was delicious and varied and the service by all the waiters was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again. Anne & Nigel.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd, 3rd or 4th floor room at the back if you want peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snappyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Booked a week in Sorrento as a base for our travels around the south of Italy. Location was perfect, 2 minute walk to Circum Vesuviana for all trains and a 20 minute picturesque walk into sorrento. (recommend the back route, not the main road). very Italian feel to the decor of the room, added to the whole experience. Food was different every night, Vicenzo (restaurant manager) was fantastic ( mio fratello con nienti capelli) very entertaining and professional. The reception guys could not help us enough, informing us more than our rep ever could (as we never saw her!!). Al solito posso is a little restaurant around the corner that is definitely worth a visit, foods is great and the limoncello is to die for! Italian family run business no english!

All in all a great holiday recommended to everyone!

Per di tutti de majestic palace, grazi millione, io e mia filanzate avere perfecto vacanza, io voglio returnata ogni ani.

Danny and Clare
April 2012

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlgarveClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear AlgarveClare,

Majestic Palace! Fantastico! WOW, What we can still add... except thank you very very much for your lovely review!
We are very happy and proud to know that you had a wonderful holiday here at Majestic Palace.
On behalf of all our Staff we thank you again and we really hope to welcome you back soon!
Grazie

Best regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have just returned from a week's B&B stay at this lovely hotel. It truly is a palace which impressed our young daughter immensely! The staff are friendly, helpful and give good accurate advice re transport etc. & they will also book trips for you. Breakfast was too good, we ate far too much, the bar was also good & served food too, unfortunately we didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings (as it didn't open til 7pm) but the menu sounded lovely & good value. The pool is also lovely & there are two sun terraces - the one on the 5th floor has stunning views too! All the gardens were nice & lots of orange trees too!
A good nearby restaurant is Moonlight (also reviewed here) and there is a small beach at the bottom of the road - both public & private, good shops & bars at the top of the road, so you don't always have to go into Sorrrento, but the Curcumvesuvina station & bus stops are only about 5 mins away anyway...

Room Tip: We did have a bit of a/c noise at night as we didn't have ours on, and a bit of noise from the k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HelenDannyLois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear HelenDannyLois,

We would like to say thank you for your lovely review and for sharing it on tripadvisor.
We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Majestic Palace and consider our Staff professional, helpful and friendly.
We hope to welcome your lovely family back soon.
Grazie

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We've recently returned from a wonderful two weeks staying at the Majestic Palace. It was a beautiful hotel with true italian style - lots of marble, and some stunning antique artifacts giving it a grand, but still modern feel. Without exception, all of the staff were helpful and attentive & have a real pride in the Majestic Palace. Food was first class, room was very large (ground floor - no view but quiet, with a sunny & private patio that suited us nicely. The hotel has several sun terraces on the upper floors which we liked to watch the sun go down. Wifi through the hotel proved very useful.We hired a car (independently) for a week & we'd recommend it as we really did get to soak up the Amalfi coast area which is stunning & it works out much more cost effective than the tour operater's excursions. On street parking is easy outside the hotel and costs 15 euro a week with a card bought locally.

Overall, we stay in hotels regularly & we'd rate the Majestic Palace as "outstanding".
To all the staff - thank you for all your hard work - we really do miss you and we'd love to come back soon.

Colin & Debbie

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank fred187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear Colin & Debbie,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing to share it on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to read that you appreciated our Italian Style, our helpful and friendly Staff and your room on ground floor with no view but quiet with a sunny and private patio.
We really hope to welcome you back soon!
Grazie.

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week hb, very clean, brilliant quality food, we would deff go back when we return to Italy:)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uniteds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#58 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Property: Majestic Palace Hotel
Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing