We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Traditional Italian Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Traditional Italian Hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Loved this hotel, the staff were great. I was a bit unsure on arrival, the bathrooms could do with an upgrade, but after a few hours the magic of the hotel came to the forth. It just feels so quirky, comfortable & welcoming. The reception rooms are full of paintings & antiques, lots of sofa's to relax on which flows into the bar area. The outside bar area had tables for a spot of lunch or sofa's & chairs for a relaxing drink overlooking the pool. The pool was of an adequate size for the hotel & we (party of 5) always managed to find either sunbeds or deckchairs no matter what time of day we returned. Breakfast was buffet style with a selection of hot & cold foods. The Dinner menu offered salad bar & a choice of 4 starters & 4 mains courses plus a buffet selection for the sweets.The food was good, the staff very attentive & a good wine list was available. Long trousers were preferred for dining in the evening for the men. The hotel has 5 floors with a roof terrace offering fabulous panoramic views overlooking the Bay of Naples with Mt. Vesuvius & the Island of Capri in view. A short walk (300 yards or so) down to the coast brings you to the top of a cliff approx 150 feet high with stunning view's over the bay. There is a bar situated here which we frequented for cocktails & Amaretto's in the late evening (the Mojito's were superb), Lots of locals congregate there to chill & take in the views. There is only a tiny public beach area, but platforms have been built out into the sea with lots of sunbeds & Umbrella's with easy access into the sea via steps, so no sand to get everywhere. These are privately owned & therefore a charge of 10 Euro's per bed & 4 Euro's for an Umbrella (visa accepted), Access down to the sea is either via a steep path cut into the cliff, or via a lift for 30 cents each way. Sant'Agnello is 20-25 mins walk from Sorrento, so we opted for the train, 1.20 euro's each way & 2 mins journey time, ticket office closed on Sundays, but tickets can be bought in a tobacconist 100 yards away. We loved this place & will definitely return to this hotel; wish I was there now!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are air conditioned & in traditional style. High airy ceilings, beds were firm but comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Ray H.,

Thank you so much for your Great Review and for sharing it on TripAdvisor!
We are very happy to know that you had great time here at Majestic Palace and we really hope to welcome you back soon.

Grazie

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    271
    103
    32
    11
See reviews for
180
406
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My family and I stayed here for 12 days, an enjoyable period. The ground floor family room had access to a small shared courtyard, plenty of sunshine and excellent privacy. The room itself was very spaceous and comfortable, had a tv and a fridge. The pool was very welcomed after a day out, plenty of sun beds - though the best had gone before breakfast. The breakfast itself was plentyful and varied. Hotel prices were a little expensive, a bottle of house wine and two childrens slush drinks at E30. Hotel staff were excellent with a special mention to both Giuseppe and his partner, also the young lady in the pool bar . Outside the hotel we had some great days out. The highlights being a trip to Pompei @ E7 return on the train and a E7 bus ride to Amalfi - public transport locally was excellent and far cheaper than thru organised tours. Even the bus from the airport to Sant Agnelo was priced at only E10 each, saving us hundreds on the quoted taxi prices. The walk into Sorrento of about twenty five minutes was an experience, as some of the way there is no pavement and you are walking along side cars and mopeds, a mix between the TT races and the Monaco grand Prix and dont be fooled by the stripes in the road as they do not recognise zebra crossings, once in Sorrento the town was all we had been told. You will not be disappointed. Local tips as mentioned, public transport, super market at the square, Jolly Blu restaurant and the winery at the top of the road - bottle of Chardonay less than E2. All in all a very enjoyable holiday, just be prepared to spend ! Final tip when crossing the road - look left then right and then look again.....and run for it.

Room Tip: Our room was fine, there were alternatives though at a price. All were spacious and clean, what more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briancollette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Briancollette,

Thank you so much for choosing our Hotel for your holiday in Sorrento.
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular your family room on ground floor with courtyard, plenty of sunshine and excellent privacy!
Thank you very much for your lovely words regarding our Great Staff!
Looking forward to welcome you back

Grazie
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I would just like to thank all the staff involved in the operation of the Majestic Palace Hotel.
The food was wonderful; breakfast and dinner and this is coming from someone who can be quite finicky with his food. It is italian food so do not expect english fare. In the restaurant the waiting staff are very attentive and it is run very well by the restaurant manager. The room was comfortable; the swimming pool was fine, just the right temperature and no ear infections in evidence so the pool is well maintained. The service from all the staff was exemplary.

We did the usual trips organised by the travel company and can really recommend the spa trip to Ischia. We found the train service to be good. Buses are a bit of a nightmare going to Amalfi Drive especially if your child suffers from travel sickness - be sure to take plastic bags with you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Joyce M.,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We are very pleased to know that you had a great time here with us and appreciated our swimming pool, food and the great service from our Staff!
Grazie!

Looking forward to welocme you back

Best Regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We have just returned from 7 days holiday in August 2012 and had a great time.
The hotel is well equipped with spacious bedrooms & bathrooms en-suite. Our room was sighted over the swimming pool with nice views. (The only noise came from a small street outside the hotel boundary but in relation to Sorrento's very busy and often-noisy roads, it wasn't too bad)
The restaurant served great food with choices from a four-course menu every night, with a different menu every night. A substantial wine list accompanied the menus and the waiters were very efficient and friendly. They catered for my wife's wheat allergy, which was great and absolutely no trouble to them at all!
Breakfast was well stocked and as well as the usual ham, cheeses, breads, pastries, cereal and fruit selections, they offered bacon, scrambled egg and sausages although not the usual English style of breakfast but who goes to Italy to eat English food?
The pool was nice and had some shade in the afternoon, which was good as the temperatures ranged from 32 to 35 degrees! One important thing to take note of, the pool is deep, ranging from 1.3 meters to 3 meters deep and no life guard although it does have a shallow corner with air-vents in one corner right next to the entrance steps so if you are a non-swimmer beware!
The pool sun-loungers are spread all around the pool but from quite early in the mornings some guests placed towels on them long before they actually turned up (sometime hours!), This practice is discouraged by the hotel with accompanying signs to state so. When requested, the staff did their best to accommodate everyone who required one.
All the staff are fantastic and cheerful and very helpful. Most evenings local musicians played alongside the pool area for a few hours.
There is no need to take towels as the rooms are fully equipped and you are given tickets to obtain pool-side towels which can be exchanged whenever needed.
The bar is well provisioned with plenty for those who like to indulge including fine wines, beers, cocktails and mixers. There is also plenty of drink on offer for children and those who wish not to have alcohol.
The lunch menu, served from the bar offers a range of pizzas and great pasta dishes as well as salads and sandwiches, which seems to be open at all times.
There is also a roof-top terrace with great views and some shade if you wish to sun bathe up there rather than by the pool.
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk to the edge of Sorrento and the many bars and cafes and restaurants that adorn the coastline. There is a great walk taking you from the hotel entrance to the cliff top views and down to the shores below and around the coast line which, in heat is a challenge and a lot of steep steps but there is a cliff-side lift available for 1Euro or a top-2-bottom bus service for the same cost.
If you travel via a tour operator, there are plenty of trips to choose from at reasonable prices or you can do it alone but you will have to take public transport (busses/trains/taxis) and these run on Italian time, not UK time! Meaning they may or may not turn up when advertised and the trains can be stifling and very crowded as the busses also seem to be.
We took the Thompson tours and did the ‘Select’ tours resulting in us being picked up at the hotel and given guided tours of Pompeii and Herculaneum and returned to the hotel in time for a few hours by the pool.
We also chose to take the fantastic ride to the top of Vesuvius, although you should take trainers so prepare for a hard walk to the rim of the crater but well worth it for the spectacular and stunning views followed by wine tasting and a fabulous lunch!
We also took a cruise where we anchored offshore to Capri, and we swam off the boat and had lunch (The lunch was inside the humid cabin of the crowded boat and in my opinion not really worth the extra cost)
You can get off the boat for a couple of hours at the picturesque towns of either Positano or Amalfi and have lunch in one of the many cafes there.
Overall, The Majestic Palace is a great family-run Hotel, which is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of town but close enough to stroll into.
Whether you are sightseeing Sorrento and doing the historical visits or just chilling out by the pool. I recommend this hotel very highly indeed!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter and the higher it is, the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NedFlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear NedFlanders,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased to read that you had great time here and you appreciated our breakfast, food, pool area, bar, our helpful and friendly Staff... in short the Hotel in general!
Thank's a lot again, we really hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

The Majestic Palace is located in Sant Agnello, about 20 minutes walk outside of Sorrento. In Sant Agnello itself, there are a range of shops, restaurants and a train station to get to Pompeii easily. It's especially nice to walk down to the coast, about 5 minutes, where there are some amazing views and a choice of places to eat.

We stayed at the Majestic Palace for 14 nights half board. We were wary about going half board, but the food was generally very good. There was plenty of choice at breakfast, with particularly good coffee. In the evening, it was a four course meal, starting with a salad buffet, which we didn't tend to have as we were ususally not hungry enough. The starter course was generally soup, pasta, risotto or salad and were generally excellent. The mains were a little more hit and miss, but more that they weren't to our taste or were a heavier meal than we wanted, but there was a arrange of choice, always including a fish, meat and vegetarian. Desserts were a buffet and when we could eat them they were very good. We did sometime want a lighter option in the evening as lovely as the food was, it was often quite heavy.

We ate lunch in the hotel a lot too and the poolside bar provided excellent pasta, particularly nice pizzas and salads. These were very reasonably priced. The pool was lovely, although you had to be up early to get a sunbeds and some people left towels on sunbeds, yet didn't appear until late in the day. There were also sun decks on the 2nd and 5th floor, which were often very quiet.

We walked into Sorrento a couple of times and there is a choice along the main road, which is very busy or along a quieter back road. We had expected to spend a lot of time in Sorrento, but found enough to occupy us at the hotel and the surrounding area. We also went to Pompeii and found it very easy to go by train, rather than on an organised tour.

Without doubt, the best part of our holiday was the superb service in the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff and they spoke excellent English.

The hotel rooms were large and airy with very effective air conditioning. They were traditional in their decor and extremely clean. The only thing we did miss was tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

Above all this was a lovely holiday, in a very good location with excellent service.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear Chris J,

Thank you very much for choosing the Majestic Palace Hotel for your stay in Sorrento.
We are very happy to know that you had a lovely and relaxing holiday her with us.
Thank you for your lovely words regarding our pool area, food and Staff.
Hoping to see you here again in the future,

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Me and the wife booked last minute, didn't know what to expect.Was really surprised,lovely hotel,great food and the staff really friendly.Would love to go back, maybe next year (cant wait)
Ray & Mandy xxx

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ray b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Ray & Mandy,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for yours last minute holiday.
Thank you so much for your lovely words, we are very pleased to read that you appreciated our Hotel, food and Staff and that you would come back next year!
We really looking forward to see you

Best regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This hotel lived up to our expectations and more! We were very impressed that, before we even started our holiday, I had an immediate response from Guiseppe in respect of a query regarding pool towels via e-mail. We stayed from 6th-13th July & had an amazing holiday. The hotel is in keeping with the area, very traditional, but exactly what you would expect in Italy. The panoramic views from our balcony @ the rear of the hotel were just amazing & the bedroom & bathroom were absolutly fine - nice & cool with air conditioning even though the heat of the sun was on the room from midday onwards. We booked half board - the food in the restaurant and bar were very good with excellent choice - it was nice to be waited on in the evening in such lovely surroundings!! Everything was spotlessly clean, the staff were very friendly & extremely helpful, especially Vincenzi, Luca, Danilo & Maria in the bar. We visited Pompeii, Sorrento in the evening, & got the ferry to Capri with a tour of the island, which really made the holiday for us.
We would definitely recommend this hotel & have already done so. We would love to return in the future & perhaps stay longer than a week.

Room Tip: Rooms @ the rear with a balcony have an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandeGR, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Shirley C,

We would like to say thank you for choosing our property and for your kind review.
We are pleased to know that you were very impressed from our hotel, Staff and standard of services.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
408 reviews
1.4 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Property: Majestic Palace Hotel
Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing