We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great friendly service”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Lovely quiet room with beautiful views across the garden to the back of the hotel. Food excellent. Service excellent, nothing too much trouble. Very clean pool with shady areas. We loved the two brothers singing in the bar too!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Normangnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandeGR, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Normangnome,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased to know that you had a great holidays here with us and you appreciated our lovely rooms overlooking the garden, food services and our two brothers singing!
We looking forward to welcome you back soon...

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    272
    104
    32
    11
See reviews for
180
407
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay in the Majestic Palace. Although there were three of us the room was spacious. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the menu was delicious and varied - the desserts were to die for. I don't understand the comments on here about terrible food. Admittedly there were sometimes items on the menu that didn't appeal to me, but I particularly liked the fact that the menu didn't cater to the "burger and chips" holiday maker.

We loved the pool and the fact that it wasn't in full sun all day - perfect for our daughter who has very fair skin. I agree that the pool wouldn't be safe for small children and non swimmers as it has a very small shallow area, although this didn't apply to us. The duo who provided the evening music entertainment were astonishingly good and added to the ambience.

I would say that the only negative aspects were the fact there isn't anywhere nice to walk in the area. The traffic is horrendous and all the roads are busy. You can't walk along the coast as it is all built up right to the edge. Also the mosquitos - take plenty of insect repellent and anti-histamines. It was obvious at the pool that most guests had been bitten several times.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room at the back. They are quieter as there is a road at the front and the ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penninelass20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandeGR, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear Penninelass20,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are really happy to know that you loved our hotel, our food and our swimming pool.
We look forward to welcome you here again soon.

Grazie

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Just returned from a wonderful 2 week holiday. We were travelling with our 4 year old who had a fabulous time too. I would recommend this Hotel as I cant really fault it. Lovely food, very good and friendly service, queries dealt with promptly etc...

The swimming pool was functional with a childs shallow area and a mini bubble area too. Caution families with small children with little swimming experience may find the pool more difficult as no shallow paddling area. The pool never really suffered from too much direct sun though so good for children to play all day. However, if you would like a sunbed on Terrace area (where it is sunny most of the day) 7am towel reserving is the norm.

Gorgeous weather whilst we were there however it was hot and uncomfortable to visit places like Pompei unless you do early morning.

There was a separate menu for children which never changed during our 2 weeks. Our boy was still happy with a pasta starter and a main with chips every night, however it was getting a bit monotonous by the end.

As with other reviews great location to visit wonderful places in the region, yet Hotel in a wonderful quiet location so you get the best of both worlds.

Thank you to MPH and staff for a wonderful holiday - we loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlcesterAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandeGR, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear AlcesterAlex,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for you stay in Sorrento and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy to know that you had a fabulous holiday here with us, and we really hope to welcome you back in the future!
Grazie

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed here for 1 week from aug 13th,our friends were in the next room,(rooms 110 &111) just above the front entrance, lovely big rooms.Our rooms like the rest of the hotel was spotlessly clean,plenty of choice for breakfast with nice tea and coffee,and so many choices at dinner, 4 courses avalable every evening,you could even have 2 starters instead of a main if you wished.Bus stop 2mins away at top of road or train station 5 mins away.Both very cheap to use.Staff very friendly and helpful, nice seating area outside to relax and enjoy the evening enterainment.Pool needed a bit of getting used to as was very cold on first arrival.Also there was a family staying who had a dog with them which they brought into the dining room.(not sure this was appropriate). We enjoyed our first time in Italy and would be happy to come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oggyoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Oggyoggy,

We are really pleased to read that you and your friends enjoyed your stay in Room 110 and 111 and in particular you appreciated our Staff, our food and our nice seating area by the pool where you enjoyed the evening entertainment.
We looking forward to welcome you back soon

Grazie

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Sadly, the hotel did not meet our expectations, however I'm glad to say it was not the worst hotel we have stayed in.

On arrival to the hotel, the interior and staff looked very grand and elegant but on closer inspection, it's not that great. It's clearly very run down and cheaply run. Our rooms were never cleaned, only the bed was made. Dirty mirrors in the hallway, dead garden with rotten fruit everywhere, filthy roof terrace etc. Just little things that all add up. It certainly did not look anything like the pictures on the website.

Staff were very hot and cold with us. Some days they were friendly, some days, we barely seemed to exist. I was finishing off a drink after lunch one day at the pool bar and got kicked off the table because I was taking too long! Pretty appalling. It wouldn't hurt for the staff at reception to smile or make eye contact.

Food was excruciatingly bad. I wouldn't feed what I was given to some nights to pigs. It ended up becoming a bit of a private joke between us. We ended up eating out most nights or going to bed hungry. One of the waiters even motioned to our food one night and asked if we were fed up!?

Pool area was quite nice with a lovely pool bar, however there are not enough sunbeds and the pool is far too deep. Be prepared to reserve a sunbed at 6am if you want a space!

The area was lovely and quiet though, only a 25 minute stroll away from Sorrento.

Room Tip: Our room was larger than expected, but ask for a room on a high floor. We were right under the kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaAndTheHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Dear EmmaAndtheHawk,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel and for sharing your experience on tripAdvisor.
We are very sorry to read your review and you haven’t appreciated somethings in our hotel. We would like to reply to your review in some points:
We care about our guests satisfaction and we treat all our guests equally and not as you said “hot and cold, some days we were friendly, some days you barely seemed to exist” .. but honestly I think that it was probably a your impression.
Regarding the food, I found your comment a little offensive but anyway I can’t understand why you complain when you’re at home… Our restaurant manager is here also to check that everything are going well, if a guests don’t like some food they could ask to him and they certainly could prepare something different (even if on our daily menu we have every day 4 different choices for pasta dish and 4 for fish and meats). One night when you “ended up eating out and going to bed hungry” the restaurant manager asked me to try to contact you, I phoned in your room (I spoke directly with you) and proposed a room service menu but you said that you were ok…What we could or should do more?
just to clarify, our chambermaids worked with us for many years and we know very well the hard work they do every day that certainly is not limited as you said very simply “only the bed was made”…
As you seen (or probably not) in the hotel we have lots of pieces/furniture antiques and our mirrors in the hallway are pieces of an antiques collection and I think there is a big difference between antiques and dirty.
However we are very glad to know that we aren’t the worst hotel you have stayed in.
Hoping to see you again in the future.

Best Regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Just returned from a 5 day stay at the Majestic. Booked online through the hotel's website. Many thanks to Giuseppe for his assistance when we were considering booking, and organising our airport transfers. A lovely hotel in a quiet area just outside the main part of Sorrento. We had a triple room at the back of the hotel with a balcony. Always kept clean. Pool area, although small was perfectly adequate. All staff were friendly and helpfull. We were B&B so can't comment on the evening meal but breakfast was fine. Food at lunchtimes was very good. The hotel was perfect for a relaxing and quiet break. The hotel offers a range of excursions; we took advantage of the one to Pompei which was excellent. This was a great base for exploring the wider area. A two minute walk to the bus stop and five minutes to the train station. Would happily stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of hotel are very quiet and have the sun on them in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Andy H.,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Sorrento!
We are very glad to know that your holidays with us have been pleasent and we are really happy to know you appreciate our work & assistance when you were considering booking, organising your airport transfer, your excursions and appreciate in general our friendly and helpful Staff.
We looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Grazie & Arrivederci!

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We were recommended this hotel by our travel agent who had also stayed previously and how right he was! We had a fantastic two weeks. We have read some of the negative comments and are both very surprised by them.

The experience we had was that the food was varied and excellent, the rooms were clean and spacious, (we were on the first floor overlooking the pool, Room 112), the maid service was efficient, the rooms visited/cleaned daily. The staff were fantastic and made every effort to ensure that our holiday was a happy and enjoyable one. Enzo was a star and we enjoyed our 2 beers (lunch) and large beer and gin and tonic each day (evening). We received a parting gift from the hotel of a lovely picture of the hotel which was a delightful touch and made us feel that we were valued as customers.

The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring and is just five mins walk away from the train station and also five mins walk from a bar with the most wonderful views over Sorrento. The train service around Sorrento is great, yes it is hot in high season, but Sorrento is too! It took two mins on the train from Sant' Agnello into Sorrento and this was a trip we did every evening before returning to the hotel for our evening meal. We also used the train to visit Pompeii and Herculaneum, the trips were easy and managable - we would recommend trains over buses which were very crowded.

It is possible to walk into Sorrento (about 20-25mins) however, the main road is dusty and paths are questionable but you can also walk from the bar we mentioned above which is away from the busy main road and has better pathways, this is easier and probably safer, but why walk when the train is so easy?!

We came away from our holiday feeling relaxed and very sad to be leaving and we will return. It was a brilliant holiday. A visit to the rooftop terrace at about 7.30pm is an absolute must for the sunset over Capri!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark and Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Mark & Jane,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Sorrento as recommended by your Travel Agent.
We are very glad to read your lovely review and thank you for sharing it and some nice photos on TriAdvisor. We are so happy to know that you had Fantastic Two Weeks here with us and we really looking forward to welcome you back for your next visit in Sorrento.

Grazie & Arrivederci

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#55 of 100 in Sorrento
412 reviews
1.4 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
1,493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Property: Majestic Palace Hotel
Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing