We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Hotel and Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Elegant Hotel and Excellent Value”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We just got back after one week at this pleasant hotel; only booked the holiday 3 days before departure and although been to Sorrento many times before we selected a hotel with availability which suited our dates, via Thomson Holidays. Having never stayed in the Sant'Agnello area before (always in Sorrento itself or on the coast road), I was not sure what to expect location wise. However it exceeded my expectations. The hotel is located in a leafy residential district amongst private residences less than a 5 minute walk to the sea front which offered some of the best views in that area; also if you take walks through the adjoining area you will find quieter beaches used by the Italians (not golden sand) with great scenery. The hotel stood well and the exterior was nicely painted and well-maintained, there is a nice entrance with private gardens with an abundance of beautiful bright flowers with pretty trees around a small but perfectly adequate swimming pool and a nice terrace. The reception and sitting areas were elegant and understated with numerous antiques in traditional Italian styling. Before I arrived I was dubious as we usually stay in hotels with a full sea view which this does not have, so we selected a partial sea view room (4th floor) it had with nice views and a balcony with 2 sun chairs. The air-con, fridge, shower, TV and Wi-Fi (in room) were great, and in keeping with the rest of the hotel’s decor, the bedroom was of traditional retro styling. We walked to Sorrento centre every evening and to the Port to take a ferry to Capri etc. during the day, all about a 20 minute each way pleasant walk; for this reason I did not miss my gym and fitness classes as the walking was better than any exercise class (I also took the stairs instead of the lift)! However the train or bus option from Sant’Agnello to Sorrento centre is good. Knowing the Amalfi coast area fairly well from previous holidays, it was so easy to take the bus to Positano from Sorrento’s bus station (located by the train station), at just over 7 euros for a bus day ticket and a journey generally taking approx. 40 minutes each way (expect it to take longer in August) along the coast road was great. The same bus goes to Amalfi and Ravello as well but will add an extra 30 minutes or more each way, to the journey. Note it is a very busy bus (departs approx. every half hour?) and some people were willing to stand most of the way, so get in early on the queue - it also takes the winding road route (beautiful scenery) so anyone who suffers from travel sickness beware. The bus drivers are BRILLIANT drivers. We found the hotel staff, from reception, to the restaurant and bar, to be very smart, efficient and professional, unobtrusively getting on with their day to day tasks but happy to help when you need it. On the whole I found the food to be good. As reported by another reviewer the cappuccinos and lattes purchased from the bar were amongst the best I’ve had, equally the cocktails are fab. The pasta and fish dishes were good and seasonal fruit was always available; for Michelin 3 star menus try the 5-star hotels. The cleanliness of the hotel and rooms was good and we had no problem with the drinks/extras bill upon departure, using my phone app it was spot on! All in all, a very enjoyable holiday! In previous years, we paid more than double for other 4 & 5 star hotels in Sorrento (which of course are also excellent) and with those you do get the extra “frills”, a sea front location and possibly more attentive service if you are willing to pay a lot more which is fine. However, the good value, location and professionalism of the Majestic Palace, based on my experience, made it a good choice and I would stay there again if staying in Sant’Agnello. Thank you to all the staff at the Majestic Palace for a relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Request upper floors for good partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CristalB_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear CristalB_77,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your last minute holidays.
Read the last words of your review... make us really happy and proud, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your first stay in Sant'Agnello area and appreciated our location, our exterior, pool, the view from your balcony and of curse our food and Great Staff!!
We really hope to welcome you back soon

Grazie & arrivederci
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    255
    94
    31
    10
See reviews for
172
383
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for 4 nights.

Nice clean hotel. Nice location. Didn't seem like a 4 star hotel, missing all the little extras it should have. Bedrooms were quite dated. Staff were pleasant but customer service was lacking. This could be because we booked directly and not through a package. We didn't even receive much information on checkin. We had to ask for everything, including the wifi details.
Dinner is not great value. Expensive for the small portions you get. Breakfast was lovely. Lunch menu was also very nice. 20 minute walk into Sorrento. A taxi to Sorrento station (as recommended by hotel to catch bus to airport) took 5 minutes, yet driver charges 20 euro and when we asked why so dear, he suddenly had no English! In the end we could have caught the bus down the road fro the hotel!
We won't be returning, and I would probably not recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel have a better view. And catch the sun in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFGCMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear MFGCMc,

We thank you very much for choosing our property for your stay in Sorrento and for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
We are sorry to read your feedback, we accept all complaints and we always work hard to improve and satisfy all our guests... but sometimes can happen that someone can't enjoy their stay here with us or don't appreciated our services... Tastes are tastes..
Anyway I would like to clarify some points:
We treat all our guests in the same way, we do not differentiate between guests with package or not... and sometimes could happen that we give more attention to direct guests because they have no references here in the area while the guests with the package have its own rap every day available in the hotel...
We agree with you about the taxis are so expensive in Sorrento, that's why many times we suggest to our guests to catch a train or local bus to Sorrento, it is easy and cheaper.. just in few situation as in your case (you got luggages) the taxi was a good solution even if it is possible to catch the bus also directly from Sant'Agnello square at 500 meters far from the hotel.
Thank's again

Best regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The staff were fantastic!!! Vinnie, Danilo and Maria.. they made our holiday :) Great service, great cocktails, great hotel!! we will be back to see you all (and we wont jump in the pool after hours) x

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Nataty,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your special occasion and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad to know that you had fun and great time here with our Big Family!
Hoping to welcome you back soon

Best Regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I returned last week from staying at the Majestic Palace and am still missing it and all the lovely staff who looked after us brilliantly. The food was excellent and the menue varied and the owners can be very proud of all their staff who were so so friendly, kind and helpful. Yes Danilo did make the best cappachino and we wil always remember his lovely smile. I will
definitely go back again and hope all the same staff are still there. The duo singers they had as entertainment were so talented. There is nothing to fault about this place......

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear DeniseP,

Thank you very much for your lovely review! It is always pleased for us to read that guests had great time, appreciated our rooms, food, Staff... and enjoyed their stay here with us!
We would like to thank you also for sharing your experience here on tripAdvisor.
We really hope to welcome you back soon

Best regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Just back from 2 weeks at the best hotel in the Sorrento area.
We found fault with nothing, food, room, staff, everything was excellent. If you do find 3 types of pasta on the menu, remember that you are in the centre of the pasta world and, it's all cooked al dente, not British flubber style!

We combed Sorrento for the best cappuccino only to find that it was made by Danilo, right back where we started.
Nothing was too much trouble for any staff member who advised and assisted wherever possible

My wife had a dental abscess and Giovanni at the Front Desk not only made an emergency appointment at his dentist but ensured that we were accompanied by an English speaking taxi driver for interpretation purposes. What a service!

Congratulations to everyone who works at the Majestic

On a general note the bus and train tickets are interchangeable and at the weekend ensure that you get a Weekend ticket,
valid for as many journeys as you wish to make for just 2 euros each

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank keithpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Keithpar,

Thank you very much for choosing the Majestic Palace hotel for your holidays in Sorrento.
Thank's for choosing to share your experience on tripAdvisor, we are very pleased to read your lovely review.
We are extremely happy to know that you had great time here with us and appreciated our hotel in general, your room, and of course our GREAT STAFF!
Hoping to welcome you back soon in the near future,

Best Regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulverton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Just returned from 10 nights staying at the Majestic Palace Hotel. Everything about this hotel was 'PERFECT', the staff treated you like one of the family which is something I will never forget.
Danilo made the best café latte's ever and his smiling face made them even more special, he was a very polite, kind, hard working, smiley and professional employee of the Majestic.

The food was excellent and there was plenty to choose from. You could eat at your own leisure and I never felt rushed, it was all very relaxing. The staff were very attentive and the whole restaurant had a very happy atmosphere which is what makes a holiday more special. The two main people in the Restaurant were Vinney - he was 'UNBELIEVABLE' , very efficient and always had a smile on his face. The other person was Nello, he made everyone feel very special, and he was a 'Perfectionist' in the way he worked.

As for the rooms, they were very comfortable.

Sorrento is a beautiful place to visit and I cannot wait to return. The Amalfi Coast trip is a must,
never seen such amazing scenery.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judithwright124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear judithwright124,

Thank you very much for choosing our property for your stay in Sorrento.
We are so pleased to read your great review! Wow, we are very happy to read so many lovely words and to know you had great time here in our BIG FAMILY!
We really hope to welcome you back soon

Grazie and arrivederci!
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights in May 2013 and it is a lovely place. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food was great. The only snag I had was that someone was emptying a bottle back really early in the morning which woke me up twice over my 7 day stay. The last thing you want to hear is the smashing of bottles at 6am on your holiday Working in the hospitality trade myself, 2pm would have been a better time to do it.

The place was spotless and the housekeepers were very good at their job. Checkout was 11 am and I had to get to the airport in Naples to fly back to the UK at about 6 ish, and the gentleman on reception let me have a shower and freshen up before I left for the airport, which I thought was an extremely nice gesture.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seven_wonders71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear Seven_wonders71,

Thank you very much for choosing our property for your holiday in Sorrento and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are so glad to know that you had a lovely time here at Majestic Palace Hotel, it is a really pleasure for us...
We also complained with the authority about the problem (noisy) of emptying the boottles back so early in the morning and just 2 days ago we received a confirmation that from next week the "collection" will be made late in the morning, not before 9:00 a.m. ... a small victory but that's something.
Hoping to see you soon, thank's again

Best regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,027 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,064 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#10 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Property: Majestic Palace Hotel
Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing