We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Majestic time at the Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I recently returned from an eleven night stay at 'The Palace' 1st-12th July. Very friendly welcome and a speedy check in and we were 'checking out' our room and massive balcony. Great high ceilings plenty of storage space and working air con, a great start. A couple of people have said the rooms were dated, our room was all we hoped for spacious and loads of character if we had wanted modern we would have found a Hilton or a Radisson Blu. Staying a moment about our room we both slept well the entire time towels got changed just about every day without having to ask, our bed was 'turned down' every night when we had gone for dinner. Food was excellent there was only one dish my wife didn't care for the entire time. Waiters were attentive and efficient and wore smiles all the time...refreshing. It was my wife's birthday on the 4th of July, one of the reasons we had come away. As we finished our evening meal the lights dimmed and a cake appeared, 'complete with firework' at our table and Happy birthday was sang. As we had told no-one of the special date we assume they noticed the significance of the date from her passport...lovely surprise my wife was 'chuffed to bits we were impressed. Wifi was excellent it didn't take long to notice there was more than one station so if one signal was weak we connected through another no problem so much so I video called my 96 year old father in Belfast on Skype every night.
The pool was medium sized spotlessly clean, we did know about the gym and spa but that was not of interest to us so we did not investigate. The 'Palace' is in a quiet area but if you look in a 500 metre radius there are several bars and eating places, we tended to use Tony's bar a couple of hundred metres to the top of the road, the traffic is frenetic and around half five to half six we used to watch the spectacle unfold before going for dinner. A great place to eat for lunch we found to be Donna Rosa 100 metres from the hotel Enzo the perfect host and the food sublime especially his mum's ravioli and Lasagne.
Sorrento is a twenty minute walk away by the 'safe route' i.e. t/r out of hotel and t/l at top of the road to t'r you take your life in your hands. We didn't use the bus we found it easier to pay €1.30 and you're there in 3 or 4 mins to the middle of Sorrento. Plenty to see in Sorrento high walled streets so comfortably cooler, loads of bars/restauants to choose from, we lunched at Blu Water a couple of times especially liked their Large beer (it's a stein).
Plenty of things to see Coach trip to The Amalphi coast a must, Capri a must Pompei, Vesuvius and Herculaneum a short train ride away.
So if you're looking for a good hotel that is clean, serves great food with very friendly staff in a quiet area to be a base for your exploring we highly recommend the Hotel Majestic Palace.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4ontours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
There are newer reviews for Majestic Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our first time Italy. The majestic palace didn't disappoint. A wonderful welcome. The staff can't do
enough for you - helpful, polite and friendly. The hotel has a nice setting. The rooms are spacious towels changed everyday and sheets every other. The dining room and bar area are always kept spotless. Pool area pleasant surroundings. 30 minute walk into sorrento or the bus takes 10 minutes. Nice quiet location but in easy reach of bars and shops. Will certainly return and would recommend a
visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanPwestyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The MPH is a fantastic find. We are a family of 4 for a week, and the staff were willing to make our time there as good as it possibly be. Yes the rooms could do with some TLC and I would love to have coffee making facilities in the room, but the great Italian welcome from the staff more that makes up for those.
We stayed half board, and the meals were fantastic quality, given the number of covers. The second and third courses were inventive and blended Italian food with northern European eating habits successfully.
The little square in St. Agnello has a fantastic pizzeria in Il Buon Boccane, and is well worth a visit for lunch. Depending on your number, ask about the family size pizzas.
Sorrento itself is about 15 minutes walk or the train is possible, but you walk away from Sorrento to get to it, so really a personal choice how to go there.
All in all, a fantastic week and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seahound25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The Majestic Palace Hotel in Sant'Agnello is in the broad Sorrento area (20m walk to centre of Sorrento). This is a very comfortable hotel with a good sense of Italian style situated in a quiet road. Certainly preferable to a characterless 4 or 5* chain hotel. It makes a great base for a holiday in the area and is an easy walk to the local station - you can get a train which will take you right to the door of the Pompeii ruins or into Naples itself.

The clientele is (while we were there in June 2013) overwhelmingly British, middle-aged (kids left home), and pleasant. We saw no kids there other than our two young boy,

The hotel really stands out for two key reasons, first off the staff are fantastic overall and with kids especially. Secondly, the food is first rate with a slightly formal dining room and an a la carte evening meal (we were on half board) with a focus on Italian food (well, what would you expect) and a really great breakfast buffet. I'd rate the evening meal as a high standard restaurant level and the service is outstanding.

The room was good; fairly spacious though the bathroom could probably do with an update.

The pool was good for lengths though unusually deep and with limited appeal for kids who needed to be monitored very carefully due to the depth. The outside area around the pool is great for sunbathing and relaxing with hammocks and plenty of shade, an excellent bar and pool service too.

We were sad to leave! Thanks to all of the staff who made our trip so good and especially to Vinnie and Maria for their great service in the restaurant and the pool bar - the boys really enjoyed meeting you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zimri-Lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We were aware that this hotel is some way from the (very busy) centre of Sorrento but wanted to be somewhere more peaceful. However, we were a bit disappointed that the walk on the back roads (which takes 20-25 mins.) is now not so pleasant due to part of the main road being 1-way so there is a lot more traffic than on our previous visits to the area. The train is cheap and runs every 1/2 hour so is quite a good alternative although the station is a good 5 minute walk away. We found the buses seem to run very irregularly with no relation to the published time tables!
The hotel itself offers good sized rooms and spacious bathrooms and efficient air-conditioning. Garden view rooms are at the back and are quieter than pool view ones and have lovely views of the surrounding area- with just a glimpse of sea from our 2nd floor balcony! We believe that basic rooms are on the lower ground floor , have shared outdoor space and can be very dark, so I recommend paying the supplement for a better room.
Outside the bar there is an attractive terrace overlooking the pool for an aperitif. There are 2 further terraces - one on the second floor level which has sunbeds, and one on the roof with sofas and coffee tables and this has beautiful views in all directions - you can even see Vesuvius across the bay!
The food is of good quality if not outstanding. Breakfast consists of all the usual - cereals, tinned fruit, yoghourts, cold meats and a hot choice of scrambled egg, bacon, tomatoes and beans. Be aware that if omelettes or fried eggs are on offer they are charged at €3 a time! The bread selection is sparse but there is a large selection of sweet buns and cakes! A previous reviewer said the coffee was horrid so we took cappuccino sachets and our own tea bags!
Evening meal is from 7.30pm to 10.00pm which suited us as we like to eat later rather than sooner. There is an extensive salad buffet but it was the same unimaginative selection almost every night we stayed. The next 2 courses are waiter service with a choice of soup or a couple of pasta dishes. The main course offers a selection of meat or fish and a cold option. The dessert buffet is a little disappointing with not much choice - and, unusually for Italy - no ice cream!
Near the hotel there are a couple of bars - I recommend the one overlooking the sea at the end of the road - I can't remember the name but you can't miss it and the view back to Sorrento is spectacular!
All the staff are especially friendly and helpful - especially Nello in the restaurant who told us to "just ask" if we wanted anything not on display!
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want quieter holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors overlooking the garden have good views and get the afternoon sun on the balco...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsAholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel from July 14th . The food is very good, rooms are very clean and beds are comfortable. Linens and towels were changed, just put the towels in the bath as suggested. Staff are wonderful and this is what makes the place so good. Yes the hotel is dated, it's a wonderful old building full of character and old world charm, wonderful light fittings. Plumbing is good, water pressure is good. Dinner is 4 courses, with self service salad and dessert. Local ingredients in season seem to be used. Take a garden view Rooney on the 3 rd or 4 th floor and you won't be disappointed. This is Sorrento so streets are narrow and there is lots of traffic. Buses and trains are nearby. only fault is that they may like to put more information in the room, however the front desk is very approachable so just ask fornadvice or help.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank molly6400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Molly6400,

Thank you very much for choosing the Majestic Palace Hotel for your stay in Sorrento and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular your room, our food and our services.
We really hope to welcoming you back soon in the near future.
Thank's again

Best regards
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

From the moment you arrive, coming up the short entrance drive were the management have decided to park their 4x4s and motorbikes [why can’t they have the simple courtesy of parking in the car park the guests have to use?] you get the feeling this hotel is something different.
And indeed it is, after checking in we were immediately struck by the disgusting stained and filthy carpets adorning the corridors to the rooms, this was after we’d avoided the chewing gum on the stair carpet that stayed there for two days, and the dangerously loose stair carpet retaining bar.
The rooms themselves are adequate if more than somewhat dated in their design, however what really concerned us was that our towels were not changed for 6 days. Now we all know that there is a global “rule” in hotels that if you want towels changed you chuck them in the bath. However, even if guests don’t abide by that rule, it’s usual in even the most basic hotel for towels etc. to be replaced every other day. It’s probable that the hotel will respond saying that if we wanted fresh towels we should have chucked them in the bath but regardless, we found this lack of service and hygiene totally unacceptable. On the general subject of bathrooms, the aged plumbing left a lot to be desired and despite still being reasonably strong we were unable to turn the basin hot and cold taps fully off, and had the nightly pleasure of enduring Chinese drip water torture.
We were also worried that the only signed fire exit from rooms actually directed residents to the main staircase in the centre of the building leading down to the reception lobby. Whist there is fire alarms and other equipment surely there should be an alternative method of escape other than through the middle of the hotel?
Furthermore there is a total lack of information on the hotels facilities other than a one page laminated sheet in the room; it was only on our last day we learned they have a mini outdoor gym and a table tennis table.
We also had to endure, without apology, having our balcony re-painted via a ‘cherry picker’ and a painter who left flakes of old paint, and dirty footprints all over the place. When he wasn’t painting he was chatting to his pal who shattered the peace each afternoon by strimming the garden and lawn very slowly with large petrol driven device.
The advertised wife was farcical, with no stable signal in rooms, as could be seen by the regular huddles of ipad users down in the residents lounge near the signal.
In summary, a very tired place, reasonable food, very poor service at poolside and bar, but close to public transport. Rating-2.5 star maximum.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelebek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear kelebek,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Sorrento and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Reading your review, the first thing I thought was: "the guest probably is writing to another hotel and not about the Majestic Palace Hotel in Samt'Agnello..." By the way, I would like to reply to your review in some points:
1- Are you sure that the cars here in the main entrance were of the managements? We certainly don't have to justify about the property of the cars parked here in front... but sometimes it can happens that we park there some cars (1 or max 2) just to give more parking space in our garage for our guests as the garage is more safe and there is a video-surveillance.
2- We are very sorry you didn't like our carpets, however I would like to say that we clean the carpets every day (and wash periodically ).
3- Regarding the towels replecement , it's true there is a global "rule" all over the world but we'll change day by day at least the towels... if used. We would like to point out that we have also a maid service in the evening especially to satisfy all the requests...
4- Regarding your worries about the safety, we would like to clarify to reassure you and in particular all our readers that we have all the security policies in compliance with all the National and International standards. An external company regularly check all the alarm systems and having a partnership with TUI Thomson Holidays, they organize (very often) a health and safety inspection directly here in the hotel to check if everything is all right.
The last inspection (on bahelf of TUI) has been made on 25th June 2013 by the company "Argent Health & Safety" .
5- Unfortunately we had to do some extraordinary maintenance works in few rooms rooms. We set the notice in all the rooms we made the works... but we really apologize for the inconvenience you had, we tried to do the works between noon and 3:00 p.m. that usually it's a right time where guests are out of the rooms.
6- The Wi-Fi signal (free of charge) cover the whole hotel. We have 5 networks/lines with lots of access points available. Honestly during your stay we had no other report or complaint of a failure or poor/lack Wi-Fi signal... so I suppose to have problems was your device/tablet.
7- It makes me smile when you say: " there is a total lack of information on the Hotel Facilities"... You that have noticed the property of the cars parked in front..., You have noticed that there is a lack in safety... , You have noticed that a chewing gum stayed on the carpet for 2 days... then you didn't notice the 2 signs in the bar and by the pool where are advertised our games area with the mini-gym and tennis table? Very strange!

We wish anyway to welcome you back in the near future here at Majestic Palace Hotel

Best regards
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,206 reviews
1.4 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £103 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing