We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Majestic Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great hotel tucked less than 5 mins walk to beachfront lido accessible by lift or stairs. 20-30 minute walk into sorrento also. Little town up the road with everything you need and local bars nearby. Food was great and choices meant I did not have the same thing whilst I was there. Waiter service which is more relaxing than buffet style. The grounds were clean and well kept. The rooms were a bit old and perhaps in need of updating, but you don't really spend time in them in my opinion. Lovely views out the back of the hotel over lemon groves etc. free zircon and safe too. The pool was lovely and never really crowded, but a death trap pool for young children as although it has steps into it, the shallowest part is 4ft and the most of it is 10 ft. Thankfully aim a confident swimmer but my 1 and 3 year required constant vigilance! The staff were so attentive, service impeccable and they entertained my children constantly. Also live music bands 3-4 nights in the week we were there.

Room Tip: Rear view upper floor as ground floor are open plan patios that people walk by to get to table tenni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    255
    94
    31
    10
See reviews for
171
382
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
greenisland northern ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at the Majestic Palace at the end of August for a week. Our overall experience was very positive. The hotel is located in a quiet suburb of Sorrento which is around a 15-20 minute walk away. For us this was ideal as we were looking for peace and relaxation - lovely and scenic as the centre of Sorrento is, it was crowded and conjested with tourists and just too busy at times. Sant'Agnello feels more authentic and typically Italian although if your looking for lively nightlife you may be disappointed.

The hotel itself has a certain understated elegance. It is furnished in an Italian style with several small public areas where there is ample room to relax. There is also a snack bar which is available for lunches and drinks by the pool. Outside there is a fairly spacious terrace onto the pool and it is a good spot to relax in the evening when entertainment is provided. The only down side is that drinks are expensive so we tended to go elsewhere at night but had a nightcap at the hotel on our return. Options for going out at night were limited unless you go into Sorrento but we discovered Toni's bar at the end of the street, on the main road, where you can watch the scooters whizzing by. Toni is a bit of a character and drinks are significantly cheaper than the hotel. Just up from the bar is the local church which is well worth a look as it is stunning.

We were in 408 which was very comfortable and more spacious than most Italian rooms. It was stylishly furnished and had a lovely tiled floor and a spacious balcony with mountain and sea views. Housekeeping was excellent and the only downsides were very limited TV channels and an unreliable wifi connection. Internet connection was fine in the public areas of the hotel.

We stayed on a half board basis and the food was excellent. Service in the restaurant was very prompt and my only criticisms would be that the salad selection never varied and the desert portions were small and a little unimaginative. It would have been great to have had some ice cream just once! The dining room was very spacious and nicely decorated but lacked some ambience as it was very brightly lit. Dinner was served up until quite late and this was a real bonus if your out for the day and got back late.

We went on an excursion to the Amalfi Coast and I wouldn't hestitate to recommend it - the views were spectacular. The trip included stops at Amalfi and Ravello which were both very pretty. If time allows don't miss Amalfi Catheral as it is really impressive. Be prepared for traffic congestion and holdups as the roads are particularly narrow and the bus driver definately deserves a good tip!

Service at the hotel was excellent. Both the restaurant and reception staff were very attentive and efficient. The check in and out process was very quick and all the staff were pleasant and helpful.
Overall the hotel was excellent and ideal for a quiet, relaxing break. It offers a restful alternative to bustling Sorrento which is still within easy reach both on foot or by bus.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel offer the best views onto mountains and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sarah1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel staff are very helpful and welcoming. Our room was a good size and the atmosphere was warm. Food was plentiful and decent, but not 4 star quality. The room air conditioning didn't work, but staff provided two fans to cool our room at night. We would rate the hotel more as 3 star, but with 5 star staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Notts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We booked this as a last minute half board deal so it was very good value. We were pleased with the size of the room and views towards the sea/vesuvius but the decor was a little tired with cracked tiles on the balcony.The garden at the back was very pleasant and quiet as were the roof terraces. The front office and restaurant staff were excellent and the food was good but the wine was overpriced at 25 euro minimum so we tended o have an aperitif at good local bars before the meal and skip the wine.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor at the front with pleasant views from the balcony towards the sea/vesuvius.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

After changing rooms and paying for a room that was more in the pictures that we looked at, we were happy! but the first day and night was horrible. We saw the room, and we didn't like it. We thought the sheets were dirty, the door looked badly sealed up to the outside and we didn't have any privacy or our own section in the outside area. after paying an upgrade (witch they gave us 50% off) we have very much enjoyed our new room. It has a fantastic view from here.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony! even though it's more expensive, you will not regret it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonosarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Jonosarah,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Sorrento and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry to hear of your complaint about the room on ground floor. Many guests choose that rooms because are quiter and very large, sunny and with patio. Yes there is no view but the guests should know it because is advertised all over the web. You booked the room via thomson and they booked for you a room on ground floor. We have different type of rooms on contract with thomson such as room on ground floor with patio, room with balcony and room with balcony and view. However we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the other room with balcony and you appreciated our special offer.

Look forward to welcoming you again

Best regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

7 of us stayed here for my daughter's wedding, whilst other friends and family were scattered around Sorrento in different hotels. I hadn't appreciated quite how far out of the centre this hotel was and although the walk into town wasn't far, the lack of pavements/ cobbled pavements meant the walk wasn't suitable for the more elderly/disabled in our group. Consequently we spent circa €18 for each one way journey by taxi. Had the hotel provided a shuttle bus service this would have saved us a lot of money and would have resulted in a higher rating. The staff however could not be faulted and given this was towards the end of a busy season for them, their unfailing cheerfulness and helpfulness is to be commended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyeward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear wendyeward,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Sorrento.
We are very sorry to read that you haven’t given us a higher rating due to our location (the distance from the center of Sorrento), for the lack of a shuttle bus and for the bad road pavements. We are sorry also because we are penalized by external factors and not for our fault…such as the expensive taxis here in Sorrento ( we are the first to say that taxis are too expensive here...), or for the pavements (we have reported many times this problem to the authorities) or the fact that we do not have the shuttle bus (we had it until 2 years ago and as for many hotels in the area we had problems with the Taxi association and even today the situation is not clear and there is a regulation/law that have to promulgate by the authorities.
Anyway just to clarify, our location (we are 1.5 km away from the main square of Sorrento) is very detail advertised all over the web and on all the bookings web sites, and of course on the thomson’s brocures and web site (where you booked your stay at Majestic Palace).

Thank you very much for your lovely words regarding our Staff.

Hoping to welcome you back in the near future

Best regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Just to let you know we have just returned from our second stay at the Majestic Palace. Our first stay last year was at the end of a whistle stop tour of Italy. Most of our trip meant overnight stays at 3 star type hotels living from our suit cases. It was good to be able to relax and empty our cases and hang up our clothes.
We booked in and showered ready for our evening meal, our room over looked the rear garden and Capri. The balcony big enough for a few chairs to relax in allowed us to take photos of the night sky. The restaurant set up was amazing, all the tables and chairs covered in white linen gave it a an extra something, with long drapes from the ceiling to the centre column. Our head waiter Lucio could not do enough for us, helping to choose the wine and explaining the menu.Our 4 days went so fast, on our last evening I happened to mention it was our 40th wedding anniversary. Lucio opened a bottle of champagne, poured 3 glasses and made a toast wishing us a happy anniversary. He presented us with a signed print of the hotel and took photos with us, even introduced his partner Julia. This year we returned for a weeks stay in September to see more of Sorrento. We were sat in the bar area when Lucio walked through, on seeing us he walked over to welcome us. After 18 months he remembered us, that says a lot to me, on my wifes birthday a cake was brought to our table and the waiters sang happy birthday.
This family run hotel hotel is undergoing some improvements out of season, not everything can be done at once but having said that the facilities are more than adequate. The new chef is settling in well, his menu choices are good, even I managed to find something (being a very fussy Englishman)
All the staff are excellent, attentive, helpful, even remember your drink order from the bar. The new head waiter is a really nice guy, helpful and has a great sense of humour. A family with a young son became the centre of attention, the restaurant staff spoilt him rotten all week. Would we go again thats a Big Yes from us, we hope you find this review helpful.

I

Room Tip: Both the rooms we have used on our visits have had balconies. The front has a view over the pool, lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RolyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear RolyCheshire,

Thank you very much for choosing once again the Majestic Palace Hotel for your stay in Sorrento.
We are very grateful for your lovely review and we are really pleased to know that you had a great stay here in our Big Family! It was lovely to have you with us and we really hope to welcoming you soon for the 3rd stay...
Grazie!

Kind Regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#58 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Property: Majestic Palace Hotel
Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing