We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MUST GO for the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A MUST GO for the food”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had booked a package deal with Thomson to stay at the Majestic Palace. Things didn't get off to a good start when arriving in our room we were very disappointed. We had asked Thomson for a room with a Balcony and we ended up with a basement room. The Tv in the room did not work, the safe was broken, spiders everywhere, sheets with marks on, it was not clean especially the bathroom and felt very small. Me and my partner were not happy and we are not ones to complain but we both decided to go back to reception and have a word. The receptionist was very helpful and he said he would change our room, he explained to us that we could only have a basement room as Thomson only book so many rooms and that was all that they had available (and this was true for another hotel in Sorrento as we travelled in a group who were also unhappy with their room in another hotel that Thomson had put them in). The receptionist let us look at two rooms until we were happy. The room we had chosen was much better, the tv worked, it was clean and more spacious and we were much happier. Although we were in the basement (bottom floor) it did grow on us as it was a lot cooler being lower down as when we went into our friends hotel their room it was very hot and uncomfortable.

Things then got a lot better, we had our evening meal that night and I must say WOW.
FOOD
We went half board at this hotel so we had a meal every night and I really thought I wasn't going to like the food as I am a very fussy eater but I was pleasantly surprised.
WE LOVED THE FOOD.
Breakfast there was plenty of choice, you could have a cooked breakfast consisting of scrambled egg, bacon, sausage, beans, tomato. Or cereal, cakes, cheeses, cold meats, toast, fruit. And if that wasn't enough then if you wanted something that was not available on the buffet you could order from a menu but at a small extra cost.
Dinner was amazing every night, I don't eat vegetables and even I could find something to eat. Me and my partner loved the food, we never had a night that we did not like anything. There was usually 4 choices for starter, main and desert. The restaurant staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for you, they got to know their customers which was really nice too.
The Pasta and Ravioli was exceptionally good.

THE ROOM
The room was ok, very classic Italian with high ceilings. Towels were changed every day, beds were always made.
Be aware basement rooms do get a fair few spiders and large mosquitos.
Tv wasn't great they had sky but the only channel we could get in English was the world news which was repeated every 25 mins.

THE POOL
Very cold and very deep, I wouldn't say it was suitable for nervous swimmers, there was a small Jacuzzi bit that was more shallow but a child would not be able to stand up in there.
Leaves kept falling in from the trees but it was always being cleaned out which was great.


Alcoholic drinks weren't cheap but we found this everywhere in Sorrento.
I recommend the free Thomson walk around Sorrento its gets you to know the area and find all the best places to eat drink and shop.
Excursions with Thomson were extremely expensive that we could not afford to do any of them.

The walk into the main square is about 20-30mins, I recommend you to turn left out the hotel and go the back way as the road is much quieter and the scenery is nicer with a view of the sea. It can be a little dangerous going right out the hotel and onto the main roads as now and again you had no choice to walk on the road and the traffic was hell. Be careful when crossing zebra crossings as they don't mean the same as in England (CARS DO NOT STOP) even a police car nearly ran us over. We never got used to the buses as we had no idea how to get tickets and when we bought bus tickets from the hotel the bus drivers wouldn't let us on as it was the wrong bus but they all looked the same. You need to buy tickets before you get on the bus, you cannot pay once on there but where you get them from we have no idea.
Thomson introduced us to an amazing ice-cream place on the tour with over 30 different flavours we went nearly every day.
There was one club in Sorrento called Fauno notte club which was great and lots of bars in Sorrento itself.
Shopping was good but expensive.
Overall we had a great time in Sorrento and Majestic Palace, the staff were great and always friendly, helpful and greeted you with a smile. Lovely people. And the food was just out of this world amazing.
Although Sorrento is not for those scared of heights.
Thank you Majestic Palace for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure if you are with Thomson you pay for a higher room and that they will guarantee you will ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LR8002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear LR8002014,

We thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your holiday in Sorrento and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had in your room on your arrival, we proceeded to check what happened with our housekeeper so to not repeat the "mistake" in future. We checked the tv and it was just the scart socket that was little bit separated from the tv (solved in 2 minutes). Regarding the safe, it wasn't broken, all the safes are without keys, the guests have to ask one at reception desk (free of charge of course).
We are pleased to know you were happy of our 2 rooms-proposal and that the room you had chosen was good.
We would like to clarify some points regarding some things you wrote about thomson and your reservation:
-With Thomson we have on contract different type of rooms, room on ground floor, superior room on ground floor, room with balcony, superior room with balcony and panoramic view. Thomson booked for you a room on ground floor, you asked for high floor but it was just a request not a reservation. When it is possible (depends on the availability) we can offer an upgrade with a supplement to pay.

We would like to say thank you for the lovely words about our food at breakfast and dinner and we are very happy to know that apart the first 10 minutes... you had a great holiday here with us.

Hoping to welcome you back soon

Grazie!
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    259
    97
    31
    10
See reviews for
175
389
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Spent a week in may (12th-19th) at this lovely hotel and enjoyed every minute of it.

The staff were very helpful and always greeted you with a smile , the food was of a good standard , breakfast was a standard continental style buffet (cured meats, cheese, pastries, fruit, cereal etc) , evening meal was waiter service at your table , each night had a different menu with 4 or 5 choices for each course, the food was very good , portion size was quite small but after 3 courses I was never left feeling hungry. The wine was quite pricey at 20 euros a bottle , the italian rose was especially good.

The room was well appointed with a traditional feel, sky tv was on offer with pay per view movie channels, a mini bar was also provided and surprisingly the prices were quite reasonable, we emptied the fridge and stocked it with our own drinks then replaced the hotels drinks before we left. A safe was also available for a deposit , we didn't use the safe as the cupboards had locking doors so we just used to lock everything in the cupboard . The beds were comfy and as far as I could tell the sheets were changed daily, slightly disappointed to have 2 single beds pushed together in a 'double room' , a bit of a romance killer :/ . The bathroom was very spacious and fresh toiletries were supplied daily, a hair dryer was also installed so no need to bring one if luggage weight is an issue.

The pool was quite small and was very cold, it was very clean though. The sunbathing area by the pool was a real suntrap and guaranteed sunshine from 10am until around 4pm , the bar was also very good , the cocktails were some of the best we had if a little pricey.

The walk into Sorrento center (piazza tasso) takes approximately 20 minutes, we would advise taking the back route (turn left out of hotel gates and head down the road) as the main road (corso italia) is very busy and the paths narrow in several places forcing you to walk in the road.

Overall we were delighted with the hotel and location and would definately return again. .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank fallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear fallwood,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Sorrento and for your great review!.
We are glad to know that you had great time here at Majestic Palace and we hoping to see you soon in the near future.

Grazie Mille!
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was the second time we have visited the Majestic Palace in two years which I guess says a lot, the summary by another reviewer "Understated Elegance" sums it up quite well I thought.

Last year we were in a room with balcony overlooking the pool, this year in the basement which is at garden level. I think our preference was the basement room, which really is ground level even though it is the cheapest room rate it seemed roomier and more relaxing with a shady outlook on the very large garden which for us was preferential to an exposed balcony overlooking the pool and the road in front of the hotel - each to his/her own..
The hotel atmosphere and service puts me in mind of a good country hotel. Rooms were spacious, staff all have a good service ethic and genuinely seem to want to do anything that enhances your stay.
Wifi was free and quite reliable, a small personal safe is also free.

The only real "beware" point I would make within the "good choice" overall theme of this review is that there seems to be a mismatch between fundamentally what the hotel tries to offer and the clientele that stays.
On both times we have stayed guests were almost 100% tour groups about two/thirds coach tours staying typically 2 or 3 days dining in large groups and touring away from the hotel all day and the rest UK Thomson guests both couples and family groups.
As said earlier the product being offered is along the lines of country house hotel, ideal for couples wanting a quiet relaxed holiday with good service and perhaps a good bottle of wine at dinner.
This is done, but the market being serviced and the price is basically mass tour group with pressure on the hotel regards getting the cost to a "value" level.which on things like quality of food there is a conflict here. I suspect the chef is doing wonders here given the budget.
The only point I would make is that if you are in the couple variety looking forward to a quiet break and a quiet intimate dinner, you get the attentive service, waiter service and a good (not cheap wine list) on a table for 2 with good space between tables but you may also get young kids screaming, playing on the restaurant floor around you or at breakfast time sticking their paws into the buffet food.

There have been a few comments on the reviews here that this hotel is 3 star not 4 star, which really just demonstrates a misunderstanding of the star system which is for facilities not how good,clean etc. This is definitely a 4 star hotel with bar, restaurant, swimming pool etc and has all the facilities which gain a 4 star classification, The service is better than most 4 star hotels I have been to.
I suspect the 3 star comments are purely as a result of the budget constraints put on the hotel from being so dependant on tour operators who above all want value for money.

For us, and the price we are willing to pay the Majestic Palace hits the sweet spot and offers outstanding value so I would recommend.
Only one thing I would have liked is a larger room safe, (current one not big enough even for an ipad).
As said by a few the hotel is a 15/20 minute walk from the town centre, although there are buses trains as well. Surprisingly given the density of housing around no convenient small supermarket nearby, just mom and pop stores. The one that was there last year having closed.





.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank handfordr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Majestic Palace is in Sant Agnello, a 15-20 minute walk from Sorrento. We booked two twin rooms for our family and were given rooms next to each other on the thrid floor overlooking the garden. The rooms were very clean and spacious with lots of wardrobe space. The hotel was quiet at night and being woken by the church bells in the morning was lovely.
The staff at the hotel are absolutely excellent - we checked in in minutes and were in our room within 10 minutes of arriving at the hotel. The restaurant staff were really friendly and pleasant and the evening meal was a delight. The restaurant itself is lovely and the food was great.
After a hot day out we tried to have a dip in the swimming pool which was so cold it took your breath away - however, it was April so probably to be expected!
We travelled with Thomson and booked their Amalfi Drive tour which was wonderful - Amalfi and Ravello are beautiful. It was expensive and so were the other trips, however, we have visited Sorrento before and knew how easy and inexpensive it is to get around. We visited Capri and went to Pompei on the train, however, due to strikes it is essential that you check that there are none planned before setting off on the train otherwise you run the risk of being stranded.
The little fishing village at Marina Grande is very easy to walk to (at the end of the shopping streets in Sorrento and down the winding pathway) and has some very inexpensive restaurants and a pier where you can relax and have a drink.
A wonderful holdiay, a beautiful place and a really lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor overlooking the garden had the sun on it all day and the comfy deckchair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank dottyhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear dottyhoward,

We thank you so much for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Sorrento and of course for such a lovely review!
We are very happy to read your lovely words and that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular you appreciated the 2 nice rooms you had for your family on 3rd floor with balcony and overlooking our wonderful garden.
We are glad you appreciated also our Great Staff and our position, very quiet, away from the traffic but close to the centre.
We really hope to welcome you back soon here in our Big Family!

Grazie

Kind regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Arrived on 25 April 2014 through deal with Thomson a holiday. The hotel is away from the busy main road. You can walk, bus or train into Sorrento.
We'd upgraded our room by email directly with the hotel before leaving and were given a great room 504 on top, 5th floor. (Much cheaper that doing an upgrade with the tour operator!). It had a huge terrace with views to die for. It also had a little sitting room. The only downside was that it was beside the lift which you could hear but we got used to it and didn't mind. We were happy with the room and the huge bed was very comfortable. Outside was quiet too.
The dining room was lovely, the food excellent and varied with waiter service. (The hotel has its own vegetable patch). The gardens are superb with lots of orange and lemon trees.
The weather - mixed..bit of rain but lots of sun too. Reached about 26/27 degrees.
The hotel can help with booking trips and giving you info re trains/boats etc.
You do not need to book trips with your tour operator (costly!) to see the sights such as Pompeii or Herculaneum as the local nearby train takes you there if you don't mind a 20 minute or so walk after you get off.
Local transport buses are nearby too. (You need to buy your ticket before boarding).
Do try the local sightseeing red buses along the coast to Positano or Amalfi...it is only 8 Euros there and 4 Euros back. (The company is located at the train station in Sorrento). You can also visit Ravello on them. There's a headset commentary on board. Breathtaking views along the coastal road!
All the hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. The waiters are always happy to guide your choice of food and wine. (Yes, the wine was 20 Euros a bottle or more - but that's to be expected in hotel mark up prices. And the wine was delicious!)
Lots to do - sad to leave!
Oh - one note of caution....ALL hotels are now obliged to charge a tourist tax. Varies up to 3 Euros per person per day. Our hotel was 1.50 Euros pp, pday.

Room Tip: Email the hotel beforehand, they'll advise you what's available and best for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loreley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Loreley,

Thank you very much for choosing the Majestic Palace Hotel for your holiday in Sorrento and thank you so much for taking time to sharing your great experience with Tripadvisor readers.
We are so happy to read your lovely review and we are very pleased to know that you had a great holiday here with us and that you enjoyed your lovely room 504 on top foor with huge terrace and wonderful view, our food, superb garden and our friendly and welcoming Staff.
We thank you very much also for the useful information you gave to our readers.

Hoping to welcome you back very soon here in our Big Family,

Grazie!

Kind regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I honestly can't find fault with this hotel. We have just returned from a fantastic holiday- myself, husband an 8 and 6 year old. On arrival we were upgraded to connecting rooms which were spacious, clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast buffet offered the same choice each day but hot and tasty. Evening meal was a four course meal with excellent service. I only eat fish but there was still a good choice for me. Hotel is just a couple of minutes walk from the Circumvesuviano train station. You can catch the train to Pompeii (Scavi) and Ercolano (Herculanium) which are the ruins from the Volcano Vesuvius. Really cheap at 6.80Euros per adult for a day ticket to both plus entry fees. Don't miss the ruins they are amazing to see. We went up Vesuvios too, another great trip, 22 Euros per adult to go right to the top. Capri is worth a visit too at 35 Euros per adult lots of designer shops but we found a tiny beach off the beaten track. We avoided going on any planned trips with Thomson as it was much cheaper to go ourselves but I think Thomson really look after you. My daughter says the pool was freezing but she still enjoyed having a swim! Just to say how friendly and helpful the staff were - all of them - not a grumpy one amongst them. Thanks to all of you for contributing to a fantastic time.

Room Tip: Our rooms were at the front of the hotel on the main road but still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew_106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have just returned back to Scotland after staying at this hotel for one week.
Beautifully located, off the main drive.
Staff were excellent. Food was superb.
Short walk into main square in Sorrento, no problem.
Used the quieter road along the seafront, breathtaking.
We loved every minute staying in this hotel.
Stayed all over Italy, will be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony.......Amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Gerard M,

Thank you so much for choosing the Majestic Palace Hotel for your stay in Sorrento and for your great review!
We are very pleased to know that you had great time here with us and appreciated our Beautiful location (off to the main road and from the traffic), our superb food and our excellent Staff. With few words you explained evrything so perfect!
Thank's again and we really hope to welcome you back soon here in our Big Family!

Grazie

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Property: Majestic Palace Hotel
Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing