We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Myself & my husband stayed at the Majestic for a weeks holiday in June & we were very happy with this hotel . It is situated about a 20 minute pleasant flat walk from the centre of Sorrento ( using the back road not the main Corso Italia ) , and we found it to be quite nice staying slightly out of Sorrento (which is very busy and noisy despite being a lovely place ) . The hotel itself is beautifully decorated , very clean with lovely grounds, and the staff were fantastic . Definately a credit to this hotel on how friendly and polite they were . Although we booked this as half board ( wasn't a B&B option through out tour operator) we always knew we planned to eat out every night sampling the sorrento restaurants so I can't comment on the evening meals, however the breakfast was as expected in any resort hotel with a selection of varying options, we also didn't use the pool although it looked very nice & clean . I would say if you don't mind being slightly out of Sorrento, and are looking for a very good value mid range hotel you will be happy with this .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wishiwasthere78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Wishwasthere78,

We thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Sorrento.
We are pleased to read that you had a great stay here at Majestic Palace and appreciated our location, the room and our friendly and helpful Staff!
Hoping to welcome you back,

Grazie Mille!

Regards
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed, as a two family party of 8, for 4 nights in June 2014. We found the hotel to be clean, the rooms were large and the beds were comfortable. The outdoor pool was a nice break after a very warm day of touring. The terrace from the bar connects with the pool, so we could relax with a bottle of wine, while our teenagers were enjoying to the pool. Danilo, the bartender, went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our time there. The breakfast room is large and sunny and the food was about the same as every other hotel on our trip. We were disappointed that our 4 rooms were on 3 different floors even though, when we checked in, they greeted us by acknowledging that we were 2 families travelling together. The other 4 hotels on our trip made sure our rooms were close together. We were travelling with 4 teenagers, but families with younger children may find that more of an issue. Most of the employees were lovely and helpful, but there was one front desk employee, man with grey hair, who was routinely short and "snippy". We did not eat in the restaurant for dinner, as more formal attire than we had planned for was required. Although we found it necessary to take a taxi to the downtown area, it's probably a 20 minute walk. However, there are several nice restaurants, gelato, etc. close by. WiFi is a bit unreliable, but the teenagers found that you can tap into the restaurant WiFi from the lobby! Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Be careful of rooms above the pool/bar area as there may be live entertainment that could be a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Debra K,

Thank you very much for choosing the Majestic Palace Hotel for your stay in Sorrento and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us, especially you appreciated our cleanliness, your large rooms and the pool terrace.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience about the allocation of your 4 rooms on 3 different floors. We always try to satisfy all the special requests from our guests but unfortunately we didn't received any special request about your reservation from your travel agency (we received the reservation for 4 double rooms for 8 people with no description/mention about the age and we received it as a "last minute" reservation so too late to do something, that's why we suggest to send an e-mail directly to the hotel) and we do apologize that we couldn't accommodate your request at check-in but we were fully booked.
We are glad that you found our Staff lovely and helpful ( and we are very sorry for the attitude you found of one of our employee).

Hoping to welcome you back in the near future

Grazie Mille!

Kind regards
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is in a quiet suburb of Sorrento and we chose it, mainly for that reason. The busy town is easily accessible either on foot, train or by bus and the hotel itself is quiet, well furnished and very relaxing. One of the absolute pleasures is the staff, who go the extra mile to accommodate their guests. I am 'gluten intolerant' and was concerned that the basic diet would prove a problem. I emailed the hotel management who confirmed that they would look after me and look after me they did - superbly!! The food provided was wonderful and varied, with a range of choices that were presented with flair and professionalism. In addition, the restaurant staff were truly excellent, blending efficiency with humour, that made dining a pleasure.

We paid extra for an upgraded room with a partial sea-view and would recommend this for the extra cost. We had a top-floor room with a private sun terrace and views over the mountains, the bay and Vesuvius too. Our room was cleaned daily, with fresh towels and the bed was very comfortable. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable experience with no negatives. Even on the morning we left, at a very early hour, they provided us with a huge packed breakfast, as the kitchens were not yet open. For a trip to the Sorrentine peninsula, this hotel is ideal.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room right by the lift unless you are a very heavy sleeper. Every time it reaches a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoverfly90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Hoverfly9,

We thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Sorrento.
We are very happy to read your lovely review and we are so pleased to know that you appreciated our location, our Staff, food, your great room on top floor with a private sun-terrace and panoramic view and our attention we give to our guests e-mails and their special requests, we really appreciated it.
Looking forward to welcome you back soon

Grazie mille!
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week and had a fabulous time. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or kind and really made our holiday. The food was super and the hotel couldn't have been more perfect for us to enjoy our time away. We look forward to returning again at some stage and would definitely recommend a visit.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are actually basement rooms - there is a small terrace with chairs that gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JillieBeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear JillieBea,

We thank you very much for your lovely review and for sharing it on Tripadvisor.
We are so happy to read that you had a fabulous time here at Majestic Palace and thank's for the lovely words about our Staff and food.

Looking forward to welcome you back very soon

Grazie mille!
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked our stay through Thomson's and knew from Trip Advisor that we would be allocated a ground floor room with balcony so we booked an upgrade directly through the hotel at a cost of 25 euros per night. In terms of upgrade all we paid for was the view as the room was quite basic. We did however get a 4th floor room with view of Vesuvius which was great.

In terms of the hotel I would comment that the food was basic, the breakfast was exactly the same every day and got a bot boring after a week, evening meal was ok, wine quite expensive and restaurant too formal and stuffy with no atmosphere. We went out to eat every night apart from 2, all restaurants in Sorrento were fabulous especially Inn Buffalito and the Cocumellia.

The hotel main areas are nice but the rooms are out of date and need quite a lot of money spent on them to take them up to date, for this reason I would only say this is a 3 star hotel. Pool area nice but drinks at hotel bar are very expensive 5 euros for a beer in a plastic cup. Hotel is around a 30 minute walk from Sorrento but has plenty near by, beach and lido, shops cafes, metro station all within a few minutes of hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sazzy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Sazzy001,

We thank you very much for choosing the Majestic Palace Hotel for your stay in Sorrento and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We would like to try to clarify few things about your review because it is important for all the TripAdvisor readers to understand some points:
-You wrote "We booked our stay through Thomson's and knew from TripAdvisor that we would be allocated a ground floor room...." Well, we think: 1) You should know which room you booked and paid for; 2) Your travel agency should informed you which type of room you booked; 3) It isn't absolutely true that all the guests booking with thomson would be allocated on ground floor!
With Thomson we have more than 50 rooms for sale every week... on ground floor we have only 15 rooms... so? We repeat once again: with Thomson we have different type of rooms on contract such as:
-Twin room with patio on ground floor; -Superior twin room with patio on ground floor; -Twin room with balcony; -Twin room with balcony and paoramic view on high floor; -Family rooms etc etc.
You have booked and paid for the room on ground floor, then you sent us an e-mail where you asked the possibility to have an upgrade. Sometimes when we have a chance (depends on the availability) we arrange for an upgrade direct with the guests for a room with balcony or room with balcony and panoramic view. The price you paid is the supplement/difference between what you have booked and paid for and the cost of the upgrade room on high floor with balcony and panoramic view.
It isn't always necessary to pay for the upgrade at the hotel, we have that type of room with thomson on contract for sale, so you just need to book it and not only ask for...
-We are very sorry that you didn't appreciate our breakfast and our restaurant atmosphere, regarding the prices, we think that are similar with the standard of a 4STAR HOTEL.

Hoping to welcome you back

Grazie Mille
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hotel was very clean and staff weary really friendly. Make sure you get a balcony room on floors 2 & above. The views are stunning from these front or back. Front balconies overlook mount Vasuvious. Although Thomsons assured us when we booked that we would get a balcony top floor room . When we arrived we we're put in a basement room,which all Thomsons guest seem to get unless you have paid for a balcony upgrade, which are very spacious but under the kitchen. Hotel did everything they could to put things right. Although quiet a bit too far ,for us,from the centre of Sorento. With no courtesy bus available it was a good 30minute walk along busy road to the centre of Sorento. Hotel food was good a varied every night. A Pena colada cocktail is a must as it's the best one we've had. Swimming pool is deep,not suitable for children or non swimmers,but great to relax in.a great holiday in spite of thunder storms in the evening. Would definitely come back to area but would stay closer to Sorento overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony room on Floor 2 & above.front or back have stunning views. Sunset ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulhammond8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Majestic Palace Hotel may be viewed as stereotypically Italian with style taking precedence over function. The hotel and it's rooms are very smart and attractive but a number of small things didn't really work properly. The shower was a mixer shower mid mounted along the length of the bath making it fairly awkward to use. There was no steam extractor from a bathroom without outside windows. There was no adequate hair drying facility for females or a full length bedroom mirror. The air conditioning had an option of very cold or off completely causing my partner and I to reach for blankets in the middle of June. The fridge didn't work, having undergone a makeshift electrical tape repair to the power cord that would have had English health and safety officials reaching for their notice books.If my review were based purely on the facilities available then it would only warrant a 2 or a 3 dependent on what happened to work properly in the guests allotted room.

Fortunately, the hotel has a lot more going for it that compensates for the lack of functionality in the rooms. The hotel is furnished tastefully and to a higher aesthetic standard than most English hotels. The large bedrooms with their high ceilings and generous balconies give the hotel a grandiose quality. The hotel has real style and character that goes beyond what Brits would normally expect on a package holiday. This is also a friendly family run hotel with staff who go the extra mile to make guests feel welcome. After a day or so, the functionality problems seemed minor and the hospitality of the hotel won me over. In addition, the food is of a high standard with a decent and reasonably priced wine list. All things considered, I would recommend this as a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room above the second floor because some of the second floor rooms are directly over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £99 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing