We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday review July 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel was fantastic. We stayed as a family of four. Two teenage girls. The wifi was a bit intermittent but they are working on it. The staff couldn't do enough for you and were friendly and polite. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Bed a bit uncomfortable but bearable. Food was excellent and a wide selection of drinks at the bar. It is a relatively quiet area but some traffic noise from train and lovely sound of church bells. Great views from room terrace and balconies. I would go back to this hotel with no hesitation.
This part of Italy is fantastic, beautiful, friendly, scenic etc etc. we all loved it.

Room Tip: Book a balcony room otherwise you might get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

A beautiful location, quiet and tranquil.
Wether was perfect, prosecco cold and refreshing.
The food is an a la carte 4 courses each evening, from pasta to Rabbit. From salad to Sea Bass. Excellent, yet has fab Italian pizza for lunch.
Wish we could stay forever!

Room Tip: Very basic, but classic, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha Clarke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a marvelous time here, it is gentile, just like the old days, with waiters at the table not buffet, 4 courses, great airy dining room. plenty for breakfast, continental, english (Italian style) cereals etc. A great Neapolitan evening with food and music in the style of yesteryear!
Fantastic views from the roof sating area and a lovely garden to sit in and of course the pool to sit round.
The entertainment was great not too noisy

Room Tip: ask for floor 3 or 4 facing Sorrento to get the afternoon and evening sun and there is no noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lynden33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just back from a great 2 weeks holiday. Loved the hotel despite the fact we were in a ground floor room - this is the basement. My partner was not happy with this but when we found out it would cost €10 pp per night we stayed where we were. Loved our garden terrace and it was so private. Big drawback was lack of ventilation in our bathroom. Overall the hotel has a lovely friendly family atmosphere. The restaurant was overall very good, very friendly, professional staff. Food excellent and plenty of choice. Loved the waiter service for dinner each evening. We went with Topflight and would recommend to do the tours yourself. The train station in the centre of town have staff who are very eager to help and please. The weather was very hot and as the hotel is surrounded by gardens we were very badly bitten. Unfortunately the pool was too deep for me and was unable to use it. overall we had a great holiday and enjoyed the hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor at the front is sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I appreciate all holiday reviews are subjective but this is the first time we have ever written a bad review about a hotel. We are not people who make a habit of complaining and we certainly didn't feel happy doing so. We found the whole thing very upsetting. We just feel all Thomson customers should be aware of the basement rooms at this hotel. If you don't like dark rooms and sharing your terrace with others be warned!!!

We were allocated to room 9. Although the room was spacious and clean it was so dark (had to have all the lights on at all times) but worst of all when we opened the shutters to the terrace we found to our dismay we were sharing with 5 other rooms facing an extremely high wall. We just couldn't believe this was acceptable for a 4 star hotel. We weren't the only couple to be upset by this. We asked for a room change but as the hotel was full this wasn't possible for 2 days and then we would have to pay a €100 supplement. Apparently Thomsons book theses rooms as standard but some people had standard rooms on a floor above ground level. We were among the unlucky ones. Two days into our holiday we were moved further along to room 20 (as we didn't want pay a supplement) another basement room. Although the room was a bit brighter we found to our dismay we were still sharing a terrace and facing another 10 foot wall. We have never felt so disappointed. Our expectations of a 4 star hotel have certainly been challenged. We were to told we may be moved again but this never happened. We didn't unpack our cases all week as we lived in hope of a pleasant room. It didn't happen. One of the main things we enjoy on holiday is a nice balcony or terrace where we can sit, relax and just chill. This was not possible. The family in the room above kept throwing things off their balcony and we had people running backwards and forwards to the table tennis table that was just a few metres away. Plus we had lots of ants on the terrace! Just got better and better! We gave up complaining as this is not the type of people we are - just tried to make the best of it - not a positive way of spending your holiday though.

On the positive side, yes the staff are very pleasant - particularly Guiseppe and the gardener. Because of our upset with the room we stayed away from the hotel as much as possible so we probably missed out on contract and interaction with other staff members, which we appreciate. We didn't use the bar service at all. The hotel is very traditional which was nice and had a lovely Italian charm. There was a beautiful garden and also a wonderful viewing area with seating and umbrellas on the 5th floor. This had amazing views of Vesuvious and Sorrento. Watching the sunsets was a highlight. The dining room was stunning with tables set out like a wedding reception! The waiters were all very pleasant and offered waiter service 3 course meals. The food was fine but not much atmosphere. We had hoped to eat in the garden as advertised but this never opened - nor did any windows. At breakfast, which was continental, we were 'treated' to 90's chart music - particularly Boy George singing chameleon!! A bit of italian music would have been nice! Although half board we ate in Sorrento 3 evenings so that we could experience the Italian atmosphere. Sorrento at night is an absolute must. The marina grande harbour is a beautiful fishing harbour with lovely seafood restaurants and picture postcard views. A bit if a trek but worth it.

The pool area also was a bit of a disappointment with very few umbrellas for shade and a very deep cold pool. I realise we sound like real wingers but honestly we have never had a bad experience like this before. We swam once whereas usually we are always in the pool. It just wasn't inviting. We have obviously been spoilt by past holidays and we accept this as our mistake.

Tips:
-Public transport is very cheap and pretty efficient. As previous reviewers have stated it us much cheaper to go to Pompei by yourselves than on a Thomsons trip as only €2.20 single on train. The trains to Sorrento €1.30 each way. Purchase tickets at the Tobacci shop at top of street. Buses also good.
-Turn left out of hotel and 7 minute walk to amazing views of Sorrento.
-Turn right out of hotel and if you like good cheap wine €2 a litre from massive vats, there is a little shop near top of street!!! Just take a 2 litre empty water bottle and have it filled for €4!!! That helped us cope with our room!!!!!!
-San Agnello is an extremely busy place but hotel is in a quieter street. Nearest supermarket is turn right out of hotel, left at main road and then second left. Takes about 7 minutes. It's a bit precarious as the traffic is out of this world!! Very narrow pavements and traffic is just free for all. The only way of crossing the road is to stick your hand out! The cars really do stop and let you cross if you dare!
-Would recommend the reps free walk to Sorrento on first day as you do get to see places. We loved the Foreigners Restaurant on the seafront and the garden restaurant. We ate at both of these places and food excellent. Steve, the rep is a really nice guy. As it was our anniversary he arranged for a bottle of sparkling wine to be sent to our room which was a very kind gesture. Just wish he could have worked a miracle with the room itself! This was an added bonus as we had already been given one earlier in the week. I think he may have had a bit if sympathy for yes perhaps!

I wish I could say more good things about this hotel. Lots of people clearly enjoy it - just bet none of them stayed in the dark basement rooms with shared terraces! A room very similar to ours was used for courtesy luggage store on day of departure- best way to use these rooms! Our sad room clearly had a big influence on our feelings about this hotel negatively affecting the enjoyment of our holiday. We are not impressed with Thomsons this year. Italy is a beautiful country but far too busy for us. We will stick to the Greek Islands and the Bakearics - our mistake!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms between 6 and 25 especially 6-12. They are lower ground basement rooms. Thomsons book th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alan196611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Alan19661,
We thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Sorrento and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are very sorry to read that you didn't appreciated in total your stay with us...
Regarding your room, we confirmed we have given you the room that thomson booked and paid for, When we have a chance (depends on the availability) we arrange for an upgrade but there is a supplement to pay. The supplement is the difference between the price for a ground floor room (you have paid) and the room with balcony. We asked for a supplement apart for the objective difference of the room type but also because we would be correct with those who have booked and paid for the balcony and superior room.
As you wrote all holiday review are subjective and infact just yesterday we received an excellent review where people enjoyed their stay in a room on ground floor ("Good Hotel" reviewed from AlmaP).
As every Monday and Friday we have lots of customers that have a late departure/pick up for the airport, we give them a chance to leave their luggage in one of our rooms and we arrange also for a courtesy room (available that day so could change) so they can enjoy the rest of the day by our swimming pool and having lunch etc etc .

Hoping to welcome you back in the near future

Grazie mille
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Hotel lovely, just slightly dated bathroom, but functional, staff were great, all helpfull without exception, meals generally quite good, but had a few slightly disappointing dinners -fish was heavily battered, did not go in for gala dinner as there was no menu choice shown and no veggie option. Otherwise, buffet salads always good and breakfasts were 'the best' lots of fresh fruit, cereals,pastries, juice etc We are not pool users, but it looked clean and fairly quiet in early July. The little garden area was nice, and the 5th floor roof terrace was lovely to retreat to early evening -great views. The pre booked Thomson tours were fine, if pricey, and i would definately give a 'diy' day out a try, especially Pompeii, very easy by train. Main bug-bear was the Wifi, lack of it. Like other reviewers, we chose this hotel as it advertised wifi, but it was more miss than hit - only ever picked it up during evening, outside by the bar, even then it dropped out constantly. It was soooo stressfull as we were relying on it for important messages from home. This began to spoil our stay, but if wifi isnt the be all, then i would recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay in a quiet area, not too far from some nice local bars and shops.

Room Tip: We were on 1st floor- with good size balcony,good size room, plenty storeage and a little fridge, ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a week, two families with children from 9 to 15. The hotel is very nice, very friendly staff and nice surroundings. The rooms are a little dates and would benefit from being updated, especially the bathrooms. The food is generally good, with a few exceptions. We had a little difficulty keeping the none year olds happy but again the staff are keen to help and they always looked forward to the desserts! One tip, watch out for the low wall in the swimming pool, we all have a few bruises from forgetting its there!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Jono0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#6 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,248 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £114 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing