We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing holiday...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing holiday...”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely relaxing week here in late June 2014. Room was very spacious and as described in brochure. Bed comfortable, minibar, whirlpool bath, air conditioning excellent and exceptionally clean. Reception and check in staff speedy and helpful. Restaurant staff were knowledgeable, professional and polite. We stayed half board. The food was varied and always of high quality.

The hotel was approx 20mins walk from central of Sorrento which was fine. Sant Agnello has a few bars as well along with a beach accessible by lift.

Would be happy to return to this hotel and the area.
















Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    259
    97
    31
    10
See reviews for
175
388
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This was our fourth visit to the Majestic Palace in as many years and both my wife and I were reminded why keep coming back.

Firstly, the hotel is very Italian - not a sniff of UK infused culture creeping in, a real plus. Gardens at the back are fantastic and the hotel is around a 20 minute walk into the heart of Sorrento. I'd recommend the coastal walk in, much more scenic. Dramatic statues and paintings adorn the communal areas with marble floors. All kept very clean. Room was a balcony room which we have always opted for and without question, is worth paying the extra for; trust me. Our room was clean and cool, we found it very calming and quiet where we were located on the first floor.

Food options in the evening are varied (we eat here roughly 5 of 7 nights) and of very good quality. I'm not a breakfast eater (not that you'd know!) but my wife assures me the pastries are most enjoyable. Drinks menu is varied and priced no more than one would expect from a hotel.

Pool area is charming and well kept. Granted, it's small but that posed us no issues and they have tightened the rules on that naff trait of reserving beds pre opening - well done Brian!! Pool is of good size and very much cools you down, and fast! Evening entertainment is also poolside most nights, look out for Soul Food, these guys are fantastic, we wished they played every night!

Service is where the hotel truly excels. It really is impeccable. Dinner, at the bar, reception (extending our room to accommodate our late check out was no problem for a modest fee); you will really be taken care of by the hard working and attentive staff. Vicenzo the matrie'd and Danilo in the bar are a true credit to this hotel.

In summary, if you want a hotel that leaves the UK behind and gives you a real taste of Italy, then the Majestic Palace is worth a look.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel in May visiting Sorrento and area for the first time. Hotel was lovely and our room very clean and spacious with balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples. Food was excellent and staff were charming and very helpful. What's not to like?!! Hotel situated a little way out from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento and away from the main road into the town. It is a fair walk in to the centre of Sorrento and lack of good pavements would make it quite difficult equally for families with pushchairs or elderly people. Ideally it would be nice to have a shuttle bus facility from the hotel to the centre of Sorrento as we found public transport very crowded, unreliable and not very pleasant. The alternative taxi rides were pricey even for a relatively short ride. However this aside we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to other visitors.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GlendaR850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just returned from a great week at the majestic, Great food, friendly service and great view from room. This is a relaxing hotel and well located to the transport networks to get you out and about around Sorrento. I would definitely return. Thank you xxxx

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuggets123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Whilst there is no doubt that the staff at this are very friendly and helpful and the food is pretty good too, there are nevertheless a few things that should be improved for it to deserve it's four star rating. The hotel's entrance is not set back far from what can be a busy and noisy street. The pool is just inside the wall from the street and at times the air is heavy with the smell of 2 stroke vehicles( mostly scooters) and is a bit on the small side. In fact given the natural beauty of the area it is surprising that the relentless traffic is allowed to pollute the air so much.
As a non smoker and someone who hates being around smokers trying to have lunch by the pool can be spoiled by some inconsiderate people wafting their secondhand smoke by you table. Kids of course are also subjected tot this since the hotel allows it anywhere outside. Why smokers are given priority over the majority of non- smokers???
Our room on the first floor (on the hotels front side) is nice and big and clean and the air conditioning works quite well. There are a few things that look somewhat tired and neglected however. The bottom of the doors tot the bedroom and bathroom catch on the floor. The bathroom light fitting is missing it's cover and the shared terrace out side looks rough due to the artificial grass covering being torn up and tatty. The shower is an over the bath type and there is plenty of hot water and plenty of pressure too. You need to be careful if the floor gets wet as the highly glazed tiles in the bedroom turn to a skating rink when wet. Also take some insect repellant with you as you are going to be bitten whilst you sleep!
The dining room can be a bit uncomfortable when the room is full as there is not any effective air conditioning and I did notice one or two people fanning themselves with their napkins on occasion.
I am being critical here (but there again why write a review) and in general this is a reasonably good hotel. If a few niggling things were addressed and some sort of poolside smoking policy biased towards non smokers was putt in place perhaps then it would be deserving of it's four stars.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a basement room and stay toward the back. First floor levels have a shar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duinnsleibhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel was clearly much more of a 3* than a 4* however that is reflected in the prices. We paid for the cheapest room without a view however we were put on the 4th floor with a fantastic balcony and view over the gardens, sorrento town and the bay of naples. The room was decent enough with a nice bathroom and aircon but could have done with some TLC. It was lacking a bit in power outlets though and the minibar seemed to operate with the door card electric key meaning it wouldn't work during the day and everything went warm...? The free Wifi worked fine even on the 4th floor.

The reason we stayed here was due to the size and location, being a few hundred yards off the main drag (Corso Italia). The Corso Italia is VERY BUSY and LOUD so this benefit cannot be underestimated, here at The Majestic Palace you cannot hear it at all and the traffic on the side road is minimal. The trip into town takes about 20-25min walk which is easy enough but its along narrow very busy roads which can get quite annoying. Using the train is £1 each way and a much better option and they run every 20-30 mins so overall its not too bad.

The hotels size with about 50 rooms was what we were looking for and it doesn't feel too soulless or full of families/kids. It has wonderful gardens to the rear that appear shamefully undervalued and used. The pool is of average size and has lovely trees and greenery around it, not hemmed in like others, it maybe bit small if you like to spend a lot of time there, there are too few sun loungers due to space so unless you are there at 9am you will have to make do with deck chairs which are generally available, we were happy with this for the time we used the pool.

Breakfast was good with a lot of selection the quality of the coffee from the machine was very poor though, proper filter coffee would be much more welcome. We didn't stay for any evening meals as we much preferred staying in atmospheric sorrento rather than coming all the way back to the hotel for food.

Overall it was a good hotel for the price and although it is a bit far out of town this had its benefits also.

Staff service, cleaning etc was all very good

Room Tip: You want to be on the 3rd or 4th floor facing west towards sorrento for lovely views and evening sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

just enjoyed a two week holiday in the Majestic Palace situated in Sant'Agnello. We found all of the staff, reception, restaurant, cleaners, bar, gardeners, maintenance, kitchen and pool staff very friendly especially with the kids (both aged just under 3 years old) and the staff were very helpful and willing to exchange pleasantries in my very basic Italian. The room was very clean and Maria our domestic made sure we didn't run out of towels and toiletries. The food was very tasty and the restaurant staff were very obliging about tweaking any food that we did not care for, thanks Elena and all of the other staff for looking after us.
The pool area was kept clean and we felt safe knowing that there was a lifeguard on duty everyday, there is a shallow corner with jacuzzi ideal for the children and non swimmers.
the bar had a fantastic array of cocktails on offer and I have to admit to trying a few.
Overall we had a fantastic 14 days and we would go back tomorrow if we could!
Grazie mille a tutti, ciao
da Riccardo e famiglia (Zack e Olivia)

Room Tip: Ground floor if there are children, rooms have access to a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Property: Majestic Palace Hotel
Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing