We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a wow hotel - but it could be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2009

agree with many of the comments, nice location, nice pool, Jack pleasant chap - always forgetting our room number for the bar bill - good job we are honest!!
Food uninspiring, young lads that waited on pleasant smiling, waitress a little surly. Bar prices somewhat expensive, glad we stuck to water. Didnt tell us about the discount card. Dont use the Travel company trips - very expensive - use public transport - very cheap. Avoid the traditional dance thing on a thursday - cringy - unless you like that sort of thing. Wish the hotel management got enthused and really lifted the atmosphere - they looked worried all the time and the numbers dropped throughout the week inthe restaurant, chef needs to book his ideas up - complacent.
Not a bad holiday just not inspiring

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank allenruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
There are newer reviews for Majestic Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2009

To begin with we are a family that includes young children and were put in rooms directly above the bar area. What were they thinking?? Of course I didn't know this until the BAND started playing nonstop until 11:45 right below us!! This racket also included loud patrons and lots of smoke wafting through the apparently unsealed windows well past midnight.
Another incedent we had as if the lack of being kept up by loud music every night wasn't enough was the day we chose to finally eat lunch there, the gentleman who took our order could not understand English enough to place our order correctly. We waited an extremely long time for part of our order. The burger was missing all of the toppings the menu said it had and so we politely tried to explain the problem- this was after all a 9.00 hamburger! No such luck until about 20 minutes later a staff member came out with the toppings. Well unfortunately I also had ordered this same burger and was still waiting. So I ask the gentleman about my burger and he looks at me rudely and says "the burgers are finished!" What?? I have been waiting patiently 30 minutes for my burger, half of my family is served and done eating and because this man doesn't want to bother with another burger he tells me NO. Ok so I went somewhere else for my meal.
Here's another one....my husband fell in the shower because all four sides are curved in the very old tub and there are no decals or adhesive mat for protection. Also...
The first night after 11 when my husband was already asleep in a third room we had way down the hall, the front desk calls and asks him to move the vehicle where THEY had parked it! The gentleman at the front desk apologized and said he couldn't move it because he was the only one at the front desk. And then he proceeds to walk out and watch my husband move the vehicle! (instead of minding the front desk!)
Also on the last night while brushing my teeth the water stops! All of the water in the entire hotel! When I called they were clueless about it. It was turned back on later at night sometime. We learned the next day that it was because of watering the orange grove out back!
As far as the actual facilites, rooms etc...well it is a tired old hotel, not uncommon for the location however. The rooms were big enough and the beds fine. Again be careful in the old shower/bath. Our restroom was very small and you had to squeeze around the sink to reach the toilet. Luckily we are all slender!
The food at the breakfast buffet was very good, however it is the same every single day.
Nothing special at this hotel. I would not stay here again. Even the location is not good. It is NOT within walking distance of any decent beach and only a very few decent restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

I found the staff attentive and were willing to help, the pool area was small but acceptable, the rooms were a good size and always kept very clean. Jack the night barman was a credit to the hotel but if you want him to come even more out of his shell buy him a drink he is a great laugh. The only gripe about this hotel is that for kids under the age of 3 its not suitable as the pool at its shallowest point is 1.3 meters deep, my 18 month old baby could call the lift and get in it easily and the gap between the end on of the balcony and the railing was of a size that my child could have slipped through upto her waist.

BUT IF IT IS JUST ADULTS IT WAS SPOT ON AND CLOSE ENOUGH TO SORRENTO TO WALK!! VERY GOOD

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigalc1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Having read the previous reviews I would have some reservations about wholeheartedly endorsing the Majestic. It was a comfortable hotel about 20-30 minutes walk from Sorrento. Parts of the building are a bit tired looking but nontheless clean and the staff welcoming. On the whole the food was good but after a week of the same breakfast we were ready for a change. The evening meals are a little more vvaried but not very exciting. The pool area was OK - not enough sun loungers and these were at a premium at certain times of the day. The pool area was cleaned thoroughly every morning at 9.00am - not ideal when sitting outside for coffee with a hose pipe being directed at you!

We booked with First Choice and found the excursions exhorbitantly priced with many guests choosing to travel independently for far less.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarieChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2008

Just enjoyed 5 days at the Majestic. Can't really fault it. We stayed on the 1st floor and it was delightful, shared terrace with loads of space for our wandering toddler (Do try and avoid a sub-ground level room which are dark and a little dreary). Staff were efficient and friendly, especially Roberta on reception, who was excellent. Breakfast was above average, good choice and delightful room. One small criticism is be wary of the service charges. For instance to have 2 beers brought to the 3rd floor sun terrace cost €3! My partner offered to carry them up but they insisted otherwise. That aside a lovely hotel. Oh! I forgot our passports (Dooh!) on checking-out but Guisseppe from front-desk promptly followed us and presented us with same. If ever in Sorrento I would stay here again.
Do try the Moonlight restaurant, which is a 3 min stroll away. Excellent food and very reasonable!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itchy_Irish_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

We’ve just returned from an excellent stay at the majestic palace hotel, we had a superior room on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel with a lovely balcony overlooking the orange groves, with a view to Capri in the distance. The room was very clean as was the bathroom. The maid even returned to our room in the evening to turn down the bed covers.
The room has a small fridge stocked with small bottles of beer and spirits if you want to use them. There is no kettle to use in the room; we take a small travel kettle to make a cup of tea. Also you can buy your own bottles of beer in the local mini markets and keep in the fridge.
Food at the hotel is very good at dinner there is a choice of 5 different starters and 5 main courses. All the desserts are laid out on the top table so you can go back as many times as you like. We had a Neapolitan night, and a Grand buffed night which were both very good
The hotel is a 25min walk to the centre of Sorrento, we walked the back route its much quieter than the main road but still busy .You can also use the hotel curtsey bus into Sorrento, they drop you outside the museum and the Circumvesuviana railway station is not far away. Can’t say we were very impressed with Sorrento town Itself it’s a bit of a something and nothing town overrun with American tourists off the cruse ships.


Don’t book any trips with the tour companies they are a rip off do it yourself .A half day trip to Pompeii with the tour company is €33 each plus you still have to pay the €11 entrance fee per person . So a couple on the tour companies half day tour to Pompei pay €88 in total .We did 4 trips ourselves 3 on the Circumvesuviana railway from Sant’Agnello
If you can only visit one Pompei or Herculaneum go to Herculaneum it’s much smaller than Pompei and Herculaneum much better preserved.

Trip 1 Pompeii
Two return ticket from Sant’Agnello to Pompei about €7 entrance fee €22 total €29.
Buy a ticket at Sant’Agnello Circumvesuviana railway station; ask for POMPEI - SCAVI get returns. On the wall in near the ticket booth you will see two orange colored boxes put your ticket into one of the boxes to validate your ticket. Get off at POMPEI - SCAVI VILLA MISTERI you can’t miss it just follow the crowed .Walk out of the station turn right walk 50 meters up the road past the souvenir sellers and your at the entrance gate to.Pompei. Visits are free of charge for EU citizens under 18 or over 65 years old, and half price for EU citizens aged 18-24 and EU permanent school teachers.

Trip 2 Cable car to Mount Fatio
Buy a ticket at Sant’Agnello Circumvesuviana railway station; ask for CASTELLAMMARE DI STABIA it’s the town with all the cranes. The cable car station is on the on the same platform as you get off the train. Mount Fatio 1131 meters high has fantastic views over the bay of Naples and Capri there is a small café and also good walks .Make sure you take a warm coat with you.


Trip 3 Herculaneum
Buy a ticket at Sant’Agnello Circumvesuviana railway station €5 return; ask for ERCOLANO - SCAVI this is were Herculaneum is, it’s 1hour on the train from Sant’Agnello Get off at ERCOLANO – SCAVI walk out of the station down the hill to the bottom about 300 meters to the entrance of Herculaneum .Entrance fee €11 Visits are free of charge for EU citizens under 18 or over 65 years old, and half price for EU citizens aged 18-24 and EU permanent school teachers.

Trip 4 Amalfi by boat.
http://www.metrodelmare.com/

We caught the 9 25am Metrò del Mare ferry from Sorrento, €22 return per person 1 hour journey to Amalfi wonderful views all the way .You can catch the tourist bus up to Ravello form the harbor.We caught the 15.45 ferry back to Sorrento just in time for a shower and drink before dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank teisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We booked this hotel based on our holiday budget, appreciating that it is outside of Sorrento. We had a lovely week in Italy, including the hotel.

The walk to Sorrento took us @ 20-25 minutes, which we did twice a day. We are young (ish) and fit. I don't think that someone who is not used to walking at home would enjoy the walk everyday. There are taxis and buses though to Sorrento. Take the back route to Sorrento. It is a much quieter and nicer route. Be aware of traffic but the cars and mopeds are aware of pedestrians and we felt safe.

We had a lovely, large room, authentic Italian, with a balcony with a fine view over Sant Agnello and Mount Versuvius. It was kept very clean each day, including the turning down of our beds at night.

The food in the restaurant in the evening was very good on the menu nights (5 nights out of 7) and the waiters were efficient and friendly. On the buffet nights we would recommend arriving early to take your pick and whilst the food is hot. Breakfast is continental and fine. Picnic bags are available if you will be eating out in the evening, which we did once to enjoy an Italian restaurant. The reception staff were very helpful with queries.

We didn't use the bar once as we were out in Sorrento almost every night, as it is excellent there day and night. We visited all our sites - Capri (boat), Amalfi (service bus), Positano (service bus / boat), Versuvius (service bus) and Pompeii (train) - ourselves, as above, for MUCH cheaper than our tour company's prices.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bluebird32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,206 reviews
1.4 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £103 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing