We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel and area”
Reviewed 14 August 2007

We stayed at this hotel 27th July to 10th August 2007. We had rooms at the rear of the hotel with balcony overlooking orange and lemon groves. Rooms very clean and well furnished. Hotel food very good, gala dinner once a week. Waiters very attentive and multi lingual. special mention to our waiter Nino. All staff very polite. Pool and sunbathing areas and pool very pleasant.

Hotel situated 30 minute walk from Sorrento. Buses are every 20 minutes, but are always busy with mostly standing room only.

All in all a very enjoyable holiday

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    259
    97
    31
    10
See reviews for
175
388
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

We stayed at the Majestic Palace at the end of July after reading some good reviews on trip advisor.We had a large spotless room with balcony at the front of the hotel, which was fine,even the shower above the bath had lots of pressure.
We were staying half board and ate at the hotel each evening and found the food to be excellent and varied, with lovely staff especially our waiter Guisseppe who we truly miss, nothing was to much trouble for him.The main critisism of the hotel is the lack of sunbeds around the pool so we never really had the opportunity to relax there.
It is about 25 mins walk into Sorrento, or you can take the train one stop from the station 5 minutes away from the hotel.
The Amalfi drive is a must as is Positana Amalfi Ravello+Capri,with so much to see who really needs a pool anyway.
We would recommend the Majestic to anybody looking for a good hotel away from the busy centre of Sorrento.

  • Liked — the quality of the food
  • Disliked — not enough sun loungers
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thepedmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2007

maguires from ireland.
my husband & i had decided to go to sorrento for our honey moon, after we had been wed in rome the previous week.our travel agent had booked the majestic hotel for us & were very impressed by the photographs in the brochure.when we arrived it looked fantastic were very impressed with the overall appearance of the hotel. when we checked in we were told that our room was -1 room 18. imagine my confusion when i said to my husband "that cant be right our room is below ground ",but decided to take a look anyhow! thats when the nightmare began!! the room smelt very fusty,the shower was broken in the bathroom & for 2 honeymooners there were 2 single beds about 5 foot apart from one another. with a very heavy wardrobe in between. i was horrified & started to cry to my poor husband who was himself horrified. so i made the decision to see the management to see if our nightmare could be resolved. only to be met with a very unhelpfull smirking member of staff.we were very politeand explained our senario hoping maybe they would have said "sorry our mistake we gave you the wrong room" we had specifically requested a room with a sea view,not a room looking at a brick wall & wobbly patio furniture. to be told thats all they had,the manager was away & wouldnt be back until tomorrow afternoon & to call back.i was fuming& spent our first night in a slum..we were told next day if we wanted to upgrade it would be £400 a nite.i said no way so he moved us above the bar. were it was noisy with singing until 3 at night.& awake in the morning @6 with guests arriving or departing.we found the whole experience very distressing.the staff very unsympathetic. it put a real dampner on our start to married life.i always say we will return to sorrento to a different hotel someday & have the honeymoon we never had..

  • Liked — the front door on the way out!
  • Disliked — unhelpful staff & the rooms were not great
  • Stayed May 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eddiemaguire747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Majestic Palace from 20 July until 3 August and overall had a great time.

I hope this helps people considering this hotel and those who have already booked. Email me on Neilsmokeyrobinson@hotmail.com for more info.

Positives:
1. Food is excellent, and isn't buffet-style (except for one night a week). There is a menu posted each day outside the restaurant showing what is for dinner that night. The food is of a high quality and is predominantly Italian - this seemed to bemuse some guests around us!! The gala dinner on Thursday nights is great (mandolin and acoustic guitar players/singers). Service is good in the restaurant.
2. Pool is a good size and there are enough loungers if you get there at a reasonable time. "Towel reservers" were all English/Irish despite what people say about Germans!!
3. Location - for us this was a benefit. 15 min walk to Sorrento (the back way, i.e., not the Corza Italiano, is the best way as it is quieter) means you are not in the hustle and bustle of Sorrento but can get there easily enough.
The hotel is close to the Sant Agnello train station for the Circumvesuviana - ie you can get trains from here to Pompei, Herculaneum, Vesuvius and Naples very cheaply.
The local shops in Sant Agnello are cheaper (for drinks, snacks etc) than Sorrento itself
4. There is a good restaurant ("Bar 13") just up the road from the hotel - decent quality food, good value and open longer than the pool bar
5. Staff are good, can all (pretty much) speak English
6. Guests are on the whole English, and are a mix of families and couples. Most were older than ourselves (27/28)
7. Views from the 5th floor terrace are great and there was rarely anyone up there


Negatives:
1. Prices at the hotel bar are not cheap (€4.50 for a large beer, €2.5 for a 200ml soft drink, €7.00 at least for a spirit and a mixer)2. €5.00 a day for using the in-room safe is a joke; as is
3. €5.00 a day for using the minibar for your own drinks (but see tips below)
4. Rooms are basic (typically Italian) though are clean
5. Nightlife in Sorrento is centred around eating out rather than bars for the sake of drinking per se - this was fine for us most of the time but on occasions where you didn't want to have a huge meal but did want to have a night out, presented us with not much choice.
6. No real at-table service in the bar at night (although they will do it if you ask but it isn't what they aim to do)

General tips:
1. Head to the grocers on the main road to buy drinks for during the day or pre-dinner (cans of soft drinks are €0.6 and beers the same) - put these in the minibar during the day but remember to remove them in the morning whilst the maid cleans!
2. English newspapers are available if you want them - head out of the hotel, turn left, follow the road as it bends (and the shop is on the right hand)
3. Unless you really need to (e.g. if you have difficulty walking), don't use the Tour Operators to do the excursions - all of them (except possibly the Amalfi drive and Positana, which we didn't do) can be done a lot cheaper than what MyTravel were quoting. (An example was Herculaneum (train fare €3.00, coach fare plus guide quoted by MyTravel was €31.00!!) This also means you get to use the local trains rather than spending your time on coaches. Guides are freely available at each of the attractions for about €10 per person)
4.

  • Liked — Quality of food in the restaurant
  • Disliked — Rooms were functional - no real home comforts; star rating in Italy is nothing like the UK
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank BowdonBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Property: Majestic Palace Hotel
Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing