We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel - Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
kent, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - Great location”
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This is an excellent hotel. The bedrooms are large, well appointed with large balconies.
overlooking the Bay of Naples. The lounges are spacious and the pool (although often in the shade) is very pleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful. We only had breakfast in our package but it was quite comprehensive with limitless cups of strong coffee. We tried dinner one evening but were not so impressed. Around the hotel are many restaurants which we felt offered better value.

However, the biggest plus for the hotel is its location. It is in the town of Sant Agnello which is about 25 minutes walk, on level ground, into Sorrento. Sant Agnello has a reasonable number of restaurants (especially down towards the sea) and shops; and regarding transport it has a station on the train line between Naples and Sorrento., and is also well served with frequent buses into Sorrento. If you turn left outside the hotel in a few minutes walk you reach a viewing platform with spectacular views across the bay. Sorrento we felt was quite commercialised and the hotels seemed to be either in town which would be noisy, or further around the bay or up on the surrounding hill both of which would make walking quite exhausting. Sant Agnello provided the small town atmosphere but within easy reach of the centre of Sorrento.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoyvalencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    259
    97
    31
    10
See reviews for
175
388
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I really loved spending New Year's Eve in Majestic Hotel. Such a great time in Sorrento! The hotel is made up of a really elegant building, equipped with ancient and classy furniture and it is in a highly strategic position! Few minutes away from Sorrento and from public transports (train, bus) and from an amazing panoramic view of the gulf of Naples! I loved everything, such as the staff (who was really kind and helpful, especially the receptionists and the waiters ) but also the rooms (who were really wide, comfortable, clean and offered a very good equipment and a high standard of comforts). The hotel is administered by kind and polite people so I really had no problem when I had some special requests, since i have two very young children and so i had to ask for particular dishes! The food was tasty and clearly fresh and prepared by excellent cooks. Nothig else to say but see you next summer!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnEllingham21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I agree with the other recent reviewer who descibed the staff as "rude" and "couldn't be bothered". Save for the jovial older waiter at breakfast, the staff were miserable. The hotel itself is older and worn a bit, but charming in a certain respect. The rooms were fairly clean, except for a bit of bathtub mold in the caulking. The bathrooms definitely need an update. The beds are too firm for my likeing and probably most any one else's, unless you like sleeping on concrete. Perhaps the worst experience, however, was requesting that a few items of laundry be washed. When asked if it were possible, you would have thought we asked for a meeting with the Pope. But, we got the front desk attendant to agree. He said it would be around 40 euro (too expensive in my mind, but we were willing to pay). He also said it would be dropped off in the room the following morning. When we went down the next morning to breakfast, our laundry was still sitting there from the afternoon before. Needless to say, we did not get it that morning. We did, however, get it that evening. That was fine with me, as I know things get busy. HOWEVER, at check-out we came to learn that the laundry was not 40 euro. We were charged 120 euro. Outrageous, considering we only had 4 shirts, two pairs of pants, and underwear. Anyway, if you stay here, and I would suggest not doing so, don't have the hotel do laundry. There is a drop off laundry service on the corner that is much, much less expensive (learning in hindsight).
I expect a level of friendliness or at least courtesy when I travel. However, you will not get that at this hotel. If you don't care about rudeness, then the hotel is fine for the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We booked this hotel as a package via a UK package company It was a late deal and it was not cheap but it seemed reasonable for a four-star hotel.

We arrived very late due to the outbound plane having a fault but the hotel had plated us up a very nice dinner. It was by far the best food we had at the hotel, the rest of the food was very poor.

Breakfast was EXACTLY the same every day, choice was limited and everything was of the lowest quality. We had several lunches at the hotel but they were generally poor value. Ten euros for a small plate of lettuce with a small quantity of chicken sprinkled on it was not good value. Whilst we were there several groups of Italians came in for lunch and the food they had was in a different league.

The worst part, though, was the cleanliness of the room. Our bathroom was extremely tired with plenty of grime in the corners - especially in the shower where there was a lot of mould and black gunge round the shower screen and shower tray. The room was cleaned daily but only the bits that showed, the top of the wardrobe and headboard were thick with dust. There were water stains on the suspended ceiling and repairs to fittings had been done on the cheap.

One evening I had a chat with the rep from another holiday company and she was quite honest about the situation. It seems that the hotel was once quite a decent place but the economics of the area have changed and it can no longer command top prices, so package companies now use it almost exclusively. They try to squeeze every penny of profit from the deal, so the hotel gets paid very little and therefore they give very little. It's a shame.

To be fair, the staff were all excellent and the barmen knew how to mix a good drink. But most of the rest of the experience was very poor.

Funnily enough when we got back we described the hotel to my parents in law and they stayed there in the 90s. All they could remember was that it was a bit tired and in need of a re-fit. That was about fifteen years ago and it does not appear to have had one.

Do not book this hotel believing it is a four star. It might on paper have the atributes necessary to get that rating but the experience is more 2-star but with more staff.

On the subject of which, there always seemed to be vastly more staff members at breakfast than were required. There was not much for them to do and mostly they faffed about trying to look busy, but in reality the restaurant could have been run by a third of the staff (and perhaps the cost saving could have been re-invested in better food).

In summary, the hotel was once very nice I suspect but it is now very tired. The cleanliness of rooms leaves a lot to be desired and the food is of a very low standard. In light of which I am struggling to reconcile why some of the reviews here say the food is excellent. That was certainly not our experience, or that of the other guests we met who were fairly scathing about it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manks13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

My husband, my 3 month old daughter & I stayed at the Majestic palace for 3 weeks as we were visiting my husband's family in Sant 'Agnello. This was the first time travelling out of the UK with our first child, a 3 month old baby. The hotel were very good at making sure we had a big room, a cot & bedding was provided. The room was cleaned to a high standard every day & sweets left on our pillows (nice touch). The breakfast had a vast array of choice - from cooked english to cakes & croissants - everyone was catered for. It is within walking distance of Sorrento town but if you're feeling really lazy there is a bus stop at the top of the road, where there are shops (pharmacy, general food stores, etc).The only negative comment about the hotel was that there were no sunbeds out of the direct sun around the pool so it did make it difficult for us to lie by the pool with the baby. Overall though, a very good 4 star hotel - highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Myself and the wife spent ten nights in this hotel which we would both definetly recommend. The room was very spacious and decorated traditionally which was very nice with an exceptional balcony view. The staff were also very helpful.
The selection and quality of the food was excellent. The only one negative I could draw from the hotel was in the morning (but mostly at the weekend) there was a lot of noise when the rooms were been cleaned.
We really enjoyed our stay here and it is perfectly situated with a fifteen minute walk to sorrento and very accessible to train and bus stops with a few very good restaurants within very short walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddylennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2010

The hotel itself is fine - but it certainly isn't a 4 star. Faded glory are the words that come to mind. Tired rooms and bordering on dirty crumbling bathrooms. The towels were rough and uncomfortable and for some inexplicable reason smelled like vinegar. There is a safe, but you have to pay for the lock. There was one available electrical outlet if you need to charge anything.

The best thing about the room was a good view of the Bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius.

For internet, there is a sign that it costs 3 Euros per half hour but actually it is free. Not sure why the sign.

They advertise a spa but we didn't see it and I was interested enough to ask.

What made the stay unenjoyable was the staff. Only one of the front desk staff and the head waiter in the restaurant were helpful and even approaching friendly. Everyone else seemed to hate their jobs and resent the guests.

We were not demanding at all. My question about how we should pay for dinner was greeted with an unacceptably gruff "I need 20 minutes to sort out these bills". I responded with "Oh, does that mean it just goes on our room?" and was answered with another rude, arrogant and even accusatory response of "What's the problem?" Those exact words.

When we'd return at the end of the day, the front desk staff, save for one, would not even look up, would not return smiles or good evenings. Really, if you hate tourists that much, maybe get a new profession.

Find another hotel. Better yet, skip Sorrento. The town is loud, a pain to get around with horrible taxi drivers who will rip you off - only place in Italy where this happened. If I were to do it again, I'd stay in Naples to experience that city (pizza is really that good) and Pompeii and Capri from there. Stay in Positano, Praiano (had a wonderful experience at Hotel Margherita in this tiny quiet town) or Amalfi to experience the real Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Property: Majestic Palace Hotel
Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing