We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One or two niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One or two niggles”
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Parco del Sole on an Omega Holidays package at the end of May 2011. We stayed in a superior room overlooking the swimming pool at the rear of this rather confusingly laid out building.

There are lots of good things to say about the hotel including the friendly staff, clean rooms, lots of hot water and the standard of the meals. A caveat to the latter is the breakfast coffee which appeared to have been filtered through the contents of a Frenchman's ashtray.

For a so-called superior hotel we thought tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge and minibar and an effective hairdrier would could come as standard (we were in a superior room, remember) but apparently not. Similarly the only English speaking television channels available were BBC World Service and CNN ... at least they were after we discovered that the bulky Amstrad (!) Television set only came on if the "P" on the zapper was pressed.

There were other niggles for us too. For example, the sink in our room was crazed, there was no internet connection or library and the vaunted shuttle bus to Sorrento in the early part of the day only left at 9.05 a.m. and noon. Our bathroom did not have an extractor fan. We were also surprised that in the digital age we were required to sign bits of paper for all the extras we had in the dining room or at the pool bar.

These are, of course, just niggles. We would still recommend the hotel so please do not be too put off by the foregoing or by comments that the hotel is "dated". The hotel is decorated in an art deco style in places and it may be that which has mislead other respondents.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not adjacent to the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    377
    183
    87
    51
See reviews for
222
442
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Having read others reviews which were very mixed all we can say is this. Couldn't fault the staff they are very helpful and friendly made you feel very special, Yes its dated but loved the cleanliness , its really retro and quaint, clean and very comfortable. not boasting but we have stayed in 5* London hotels who haven't got the same ambiance. Yes dinner menu is limited at this time of the year but cant fault the quality would have liked more choice for breakfast but could see they are are trying to please different nationalities. Shuttle bus regular and some lovely restaurants if you want to splash the cash you have to go Sorrento and go to the L'Antica Trattoria which is in the Via Giulliani ( we think ) have the Surprise Menu ..wonderful !!

Room Tip: If you can upgrade go room 327
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starryknightKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here for a week. The place was cheap for what we paid, it was clean, the staff were polite, friendly and pleasant. We booked a couple of weeks before going and found the climate great to chill in and also to get to Pompei and Herculaneum. We also loved Naples but felt the archeology museum there expensive re how little was open but our pizza from Trianon da Ciro on Via P Colletta, the street markets and the road Via San Gregorio Armeno delightful with its very random at times Christmas crib scenes, pizza houses and snow white included made up for it.!!
I enjoyed the pool which was cold yet still manageable in the warm sun. There were some workmen knocking walls down and filling holes which ideally we would have been told about before coming but in truth it didn't bother us or our relaxation.
The free buses to Sorrento were reliable and if we didn't time it ok there was train and local buses instead.
The fountain at the hotel was lovely though only on at nights.
The mosquito's were abundant!
We ate a few times at a nice friendly restaurant "Moonlight" and to us was the best local one and in Sorrento we were very happy with one called Buffalo.
We stayed B and B and breakfast apart from the hot food(which wasn't hot and a real let down) was fresh and good quality pastries, bread, fruit, cereal, yogurt, cheeses etc. We had great fun with a juice machine that went a bit odd mid week so when you pressed for orange you triggered the grapefruit side but the waiters handled this with fun and efficiency.
Our only other gripe was our own making as we didn't use the do not disturb sign at first but we found the maids boss knocking mid pm to check we were happy with the room cleaning annoying as we were often taking a bath or nap after a busy few hours out and about.
We used public transport to Rome after a week here and this was also cheap, simple and quite manageable with no spoken italian between us.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank visitingmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stated here last year and vowed we would return again in 2010! We have just recently returned from a stay and we cannot fault the service food staff or facilities! We started our stay on the 13th of August for 7 nights, we chose the HB option. As in the previous year we were not disappointed.We travelled independantly this year as the hotel was not in any brochures we looked through.We organised a hotel transfer with the hotel too, this was a great treat as it meant we could see more of the coast and attractions as we made our way to Sant Agnello.I would HIGHLY reccommend this hotel, we booked early and took advantage of a good deal on our room (no charge for a balcony or terrace as this is standard when booking directly).I kept in touch with the hotel via email which paid dividends as they could put a face to the mad emailer on arrival! We were remembered by staff too which added a very personal touch too.
This hotel very typically Italian it is NOT a british four star and should NOT be compared as such.We requested the same room as last year, that was a plus too. We stayed at the back of the hotel away from the main road. The Corsa Italia is VERY busy to say the least!. The plus points for this hotel are: location,staff, food, pool area and rooms with excellent air con ( this is in with the room charge).The hotel also provides a free shuttle bus that runs a REGULAR service into Sorrento which contridicts other write ups. I'm afraid there are always people who are going to complain! In terms of getting around the area and saving money too, remember to travel on local transport. There is a very good shop just along from the hotel, across the road from the bus stop that will advise on buses etc.Organised tours have their advantages but be aware that they are expensive.
The only negative is that it needs a coat of paint in places and possible new carpets. Having said this it is NOT a major issue.
We noticed and enjoyed the fact that a lot of Italians stayed here. We also recognised one or two families from last year too.As mentioned earlier we do enjoy staying here and are considering going back next year but we realise that we do need to visit other parts of the country also.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syrenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

My boyfriend and I returned from Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole 2 weeks ago, after an eight night stay. We were very pleased with the hotel in general and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was very clean and well equipped, although it would have been handy to have a mini-bar in the room, and an internet point in the hotel. The hotel is dated, as other reviewers have mentioned, but this didn't detract from our stay. We slept very well due to the excellent air-conditioning, and although the room was not particularly sound-proof, we found the hotel to be very quiet at night so this didn't present a problem.

Breakfast was good with plenty of options - all the usual continental bits and pieces plus bacon, Frankfurter-type sausages and scrambled eggs for those who prefer them. We were less impressed with the pool snack bar, which we tried twice - we would not recommend this at all. Much better to pop across to Ciao Toto for a takeaway pizza and eat it on your balcony or go to the little cafe (I think called Bar 13 or something similar) on Corso Marion Crawford for cheap but excellent pasta in friendly surroundings. We did not eat dinner at the hotel restaurant so I can't comment on this.

The hotel pool area was good, with ample space and plenty of sun loungers, and a towel hire service - the pool and jacuzzi could have been a bit warmer though! In terms of location, we were actually pleased that we were not bang in the centre of Sorrento, as the hotel had a very quiet and relaxing atmosphere (being well set back from the main road) but it was also very easy to get into Sorrento as we did every night. The hotel shuttle bus is infrequent but was always on time; we also walked into Sorrento several times and it wasn't very far, although the road is quite busy. Still, there are plenty of bars and shops along the way to break the journey up! The best way we found was to use the Circumvesuviana train which takes 2 minutes and costs just over a Euro each.

We found that it was very easy to have a bad meal in Sorrento - perhaps this is because we were there in peak tourist season. I would advise anyone who is visiting in the hope of sampling some authentic, good Italian fare to do their research - the best meals we had were recommendations we found online. Our favourites were Tavern Allegra in the centre of Sorrento and La Tavernetta, situated in the hills above Sorrento, but easy to get to as they offer a free shuttle service and will come and collect you from your hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SparklingDiam0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We recently spent five nights at this hotel and four star it ain't! It's about a 2km walk from Sorrento and due to the infrequency of the hotel's courtesy bus, we ended up walking in and out every day.

The hotel's rooms are small with very dated decor, but clean and had excellent air conditioning. They have safes, but no fridge or minibar and the hairdryer is useless, so bring your own! There is a huge pool with snackbar and they provide towels poolside too.

Although breakfast was included in our room rate, the vast dated dining room creeped us out and we never ate there - it was like something out of The Shining!!

The area is quiet but worth walking down to seaviews and in particular a japanese fusion restaurant called Robata Grill or KOCU. Although expensive, it has amazing sunset views and fantastic, if overpriced, cocktails and tasty teriyaki skewers!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chip-advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I read some of the reviews after we booked this place and started to worry but it was absolutely fine. It's a standard large Italian four-star and a pretty good one at that. Regarding traffic noise, the main thing you need to know is Sant'Agnello is on a main traffic route to and from Sorrento. However, thanks to double glazing you'll hardly notice it (the same goes for the church bell). My top tip is to shut your bathroom door if it has a window as the windows in there seem to be less soundproof. And since pool is located at the back of the hotel it's really quite peaceful round there. If you're going to spend your entire holiday at your hotel want to be in a more secluded spot, you'll need to widen your budget quite significantly to stay in one of the clifftop hotels. However if you intend to go sightseeing, Parko del Sole is very handy for the station (less than 10 minutes walk). Plus the hotel has a free shuttle bus for Sorrento which is good news as Sant'Agnello is a bit limited (there are a couple of bars and restaurants near the sea that are OK and not bad pricewise, relatively speaking - the whole area is pretty expensive).

The rooms were fine - much bigger than you'd get if you stayed in Sorrento. Lots of reviews have described them as dated but this isn't a boutique hotel in Brighton, for goodness sake! They were very clean too. We had a balcony but didn't use it much. The aircon is very good and quiet so we didn't need to open the windows at night and due to the traffic noise, we finished off our evenings at the pool bar as it was quieter and a more pleasant way to end the night. The bar is open through the day, serving lunch too (not amazing but a good deal cheaper than eating out), and it's open for drinks until midnight. We didn't eat in the restaurant at night because they finish serving at 9pm - good for families I suppose. Breakfast was good though.

Staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. When we arrived, we discovered that our twin beds had been made up as a double bed. Since there was no chamber maid available to correct this (it was after 10pm) they simply gave us an extra room for the night so we didn't have to share a bed. No fuss at all.

I'm sorry other reviewers have had bad experiences in the past but we had no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank celinemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#10 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
931 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,229 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,027 reviews
1.4 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole

Property: Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole
Address: Via Dei Gerani 1 | Corso Italia, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#12 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Parco del Sole has been built combining a classic Mediterranean style with all modern comforts. It stands in a private park, (that belongs to the hotel), among a luxurious vegetation of lemon and orange groves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing