We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good, but yes the food could be better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Mostly good, but yes the food could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Air Con good, bed comfortable, Drinks prices better than in Sorrento. Room Clean and cleaners excellent. Pool area clean and bar staff attentive. Reception staff pleasant and helpful.

But the food, and no not because it is Italian, in fact the worse parts were where they have tried to cater for the Brits.
I think they are putting too much effort into the waiter service at the expense of the food quality, the only meal that was truly 'piping hot' and that is the correct term, was the Gala dinner.
As I said they did put some Brit favorites on at breakfast, but I do not want runny scrambled eggs. The Continental selection was good, but lacked variety over the week.
As has been mentioned before the coffee is not what you would expect in Italy, tasted like Powdered instant de-caf from a catering tin to me. and ordering Cappachio didn't help as they just made it from the same ingredients, it wasn't fresh ground.
If we went again we would not go Half board but rather try the local Cafes, this might cost us a good deal more but I would expect a far better 'Italian cuisine' experience.

The road has been mentioned, yes you need to be reasonably mobile, because you will have to run sometimes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sggaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    374
    183
    86
    51
See reviews for
219
435
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed here 5th-11th Aug 2012. Friendly and helpful staff with very good pool area (Main pool and baby pool with lovely view). The hotel is situated 2km from centre Sorrento ( A good 25 min walk) and the hotel provide a free timely bus shuttle service.
The room (we stayed in the first floor) was kept very clean by household staff but decor very dated (Please change those mustard colored bed covers). The bed mattresses could also do with updating. The corrider has dated wooden panelling with uneven shabby carpetting (My little girl tripped over a section of the carpet but nothing serious ( still a Health and Safety issue).
Breakfast choice was adequate but the water for tea/coffee was consistently luke warm. The juices provided were poor quality. On the plus side the breakfast staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

My husband, 14 year old daughter and myself have just come back from a week at this hotel. We had a superior suite which meant our daughter had her own sleeping area. The decor in the room was abit tired but the beds were comfy, the bathroom spacious, copious amounts of hot water and the bedding and linen changed on a daily basis. The food was excellent (forget the diet!), if on half board. The grounds of the hotel are unusual and it made the hotel feel like an oasis in the run down surroundings of the outskirts of Sorrento. The pool is a very good size with an additional one for small children. There were always plenty of sun loungers but not many shadey places even though there were lemon trees around the area to sit under. The steps in the pool are abit dangerous. It looks like it has been recently altered as it differed from the picture in the brochure and was beatifully done but in such away that you could not identify the edge of the steps due to the same colour tiles used. The free wifi in reception and close by areas was really good allowing everyone to get their internet fix. The road outside the hotel is very busy and a typical Italian road (renamed the road of death by our daughter) . Do not be put off by the inital sights of the arrivial terminal... (the depature terminal is fantastic and complete oppostie) and the drive through Naples which is the worst bit of urban sprawl since LA. The Gala and Buffett evenings at the hotel (for half board) were excellent, the staff always helpful and polite. If you are travelling with fussy eaters you may have a problem with the evening meals as they were always typical itallain, lots of choice but very little basic foods for the less adventurous eater. Although there are a couple of lifts there are still additional steps to encounter beyond, good for working off all the food but not if less mobile. All in all a very relaxing and good value for money holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pipCleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I read the negative reviews for this hotel after booking and was dreading what I would find - but they couldn't have been further from the truth.
The hotel was beautiful and clean - yes it is a traditional Italian look - funny that eh! We had a superior room as our 8 year old shared, and it was large and spacious. Air con was fab! I understand lots of rooms didn't have a fridge - we did and it was a god send!
The food was gorgeous, plenty of choice for my three children aged 8, 13 and 15. They tried lots of new things and loved most of it.
The staff were beyond doubt, the nicest of any I've ever had at any hotel anywhere. they really couldn't do enough for you.
This isn't a hotel for you if you want 24 hour food service or constant entertainment. We wanted family time - and it was perfect.
thank you to all at Parco del Sole.

Room Tip: superior rooms if you have children sharing - very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This hotel was booked last minute. My mother and I decided we needed a break away in the sun. We were not dissapointed with our choice. Everything from the hotel itself, to the staff friendliness, and hotel location were spot on! We were put into a room on te 1st floor overlooking the pool area. This room we were told was one of their superior rooms. The room itself was airy, bright and had a good layout with each bed diagonally opposite to each other giving the feel of space. There was also more than adequate storage space with a dressor with drawers, spacious wardrobe, and 2 bedside lockers. The bathroom had a bath and shower which was nice an powerful. The light switches took a bit of getting used to, but were fine after a few tries.
The grounds of the hotel were lovely, with a lovely sweeping drive way and perfectly manicured gardens. The pool was spotless and immaculately maintained with lovely yellow sunbeds. we were intially worried about the sunbed situation, but our fears were dispelled after the first few days, as there are plenty of sunbeds, and we were never fighting to find them. There was only one negative if I had to list one, and that was the food. We tried the poolside snack bar a couple of times, and unfortunately we did not find this great, but I guess it did not bother us so much as were were only B&B. Morning breakfast was OK to average. I tried some of the hot food day 1, and steered clear the rest of the time as it was not good quality. I stuck to muesli, yogurt, and fresh fruit. There was a nice selection of cakes, so you would not go hungry. This was only minor however, and I feel it did not detract from the lovely week we both enjoyed at the Parco Del Sole. A big shout out to the lovely Luka at the pool bar who always greeted us with a smile, and was chatty and made us nice drinks, to smiley Roberto at the breakfast time who made lovely cappucinos, and to the really hard working maid Elicia whio had our room immaculate every day. A visit to Parco del Sole is well worth a visit if you are looking for a relaxing time in a nice hotel that is good value for money.

Room Tip: Room # 19 for nice pool view superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and room. Everywhere was nice and bright and we were greeted on arrival by very competent receptionist. The decor was excellent; the staff at breakfast always very helpful and the choice quite extensive. The rooms were serviced daily with clean towels,and we were luckily given a room with balcony facing the pool which was really magical at night. There were lots of sunbeds available, never were they all in use and fresh towels for swimmimg were always available without any deposit needed. The gardens were absolutely beautiful and you were able to sit in the shade under lemon and orange trees as it was really hot the whole stay. The bar staff were always courteous too, though we only drank, not ate.
My husband had mentioned about our anniversary so on the morning at breakfast there was a yellow rose spray on our table; such a lovely gesture from the management and a real surprise!! There was a safe in the room which was free, always a plus and the only negative comment I would make is a fridge would have made the stay perfect. You need to bring a kettle, tea-bags etc and milk powder until a fridge is put in, and it would have been nice to drink chilled water.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanniePaignton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed in Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole in July 2012. Its a pretty hotel on the outskirts of Sorrento. Beautiful pool area, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graceh1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#11 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Mar Hotel Alimuri
#1 of 7 in Meta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole

Property: Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole
Address: Via Dei Gerani 1 | Corso Italia, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#12 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Parco del Sole has been built combining a classic Mediterranean style with all modern comforts. It stands in a private park, (that belongs to the hotel), among a luxurious vegetation of lemon and orange groves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing