We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very ver disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Reviewed 10 August 2014

just came back from weeks trip to Sorrento parco del sol..there is no grand in this hotel as it was more like a 2*STAR HOTEL.i would certainly not stay in this hotel again as it hasn't been decorated since the 60's..it was shabby and the rooms were ok but not altogether clean.the carpet was a health hazard really grotty and smelly..and well im so glad my friend and I never went half board,as in all my travelling life ive never had such a poor display of breakfast on offer.the eggs,bacon,sausage were freezing and I mean just that,coffee was awful like petrol..asked for a cappuccino and it wasn't much better..the service standards at this hotel are way below par and I was just totally disappointed in the hotel as it was so bad..Sorrento itself a beautiful place to visit but a total rip off-I don't mind paying for quality but as far as im concerned it wasn't good quality either in the parco del sol or elsewhere...the grey haired man on reception was so unhelpful and quite rude as if he couldn't be bothered...just get the money paid that was his attitude...my friend and I were on 50th birthday celebrations but totally a nightmare in this hotel never ate breakfast as it was all cheap rubbish really bad..i will do my research before I book another trip to Italy,but it will be a long time before I come back as the quality and service you get is just not good enough for the amount you pay for things over here...you are paying for the views and surroundings but a good holiday is much more than that..do not go to this hotel I was disgusted at the toilets for guests downstairs near the dining room...it was disgusting old old dirty sinks everything was very old and dirty looking seriously go somewhere else....if I was Thomson holidays id be dropping this hotel from my book...worst hotel ive stayed in ever.

Room Tip: we were in room 307 overlooking waste ground....the plumbing in this room and probably all other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karenstevenson189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Although not exactly in the centre of Sorrento it is conveniently situated for so many aspects of a holiday in that area. The hotel is a twenty-five minute walk away from the centre of Sorrento, a trip we took once, a straight line along the main road. However, the hotel provide a free shuttle bus service throughout the day that was utilised throughout our stay. The bus shuttle was quirky in that the 40-seater bus is stored at the hotel but you're not allowed on it when it sets off. Instead, you wait by the stop half way up the driveway whilst it sets off to collect passengers from a sister hotel. Disappointingly, on several occasions when the bus returned it was full and there was only standing room available and not everyone is willing to give up their seat for a 71yrs old woman for the 15minute trip to Sorrento bus station. Additionally, the 11pm return journey was the last of the day but set off one night at 10:50pm and on another at 10:40pm. Fortunately we caught both. The hotel is not a new build but with age comes character. True enough some of the bathrooms are snug and the outside eves might benefit from a lick of paint but this hotel exudes class and offered us everything we wanted. It's swimming pool was a haven much used after day trips to Vesuvius, Pompeii & Herculaneum. The food was adequate but the b&b basis we were on meant that we chose to eat out in the myriad of fantastic restaurants in Sorrento each night bar our first night when we had a pleasant meal in the hotel. There is also a snack bar for light lunches by the pool and we were able to get a coffee each night by the pool upon returning from town before bed. The hotel is closer to the S Agnello railway station which we used instead of the one at Sorrento for a couple of our trips out. The hotel staff were VERY welcoming and friendly. The maid service was tremendous with twice daily visits and nothing was too much trouble. Thomson's rep, Steff, was great with us and the walk around Sorrento helped us to get our bearings. The organised trips by Thomson's did not fit in with our own itinerary but we found the same trips and cheaper versions that did suit so that worked out well for us. We would definitely stay here again. Loved it.

Room Tip: There is no standard room, ours was huge with a snug bathroom, and you could see Mount Versuvius on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We returned from the Parco Del Sole yesterday after spending a week at the hotel. We travelled as a couple with our 2 boys aged 15 and 11 yrs. Our first impression of the hotel was very good with efficient check in. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and a free bottle of wine was provided by the management, which was a nice touch.

Rooms: The maids cleaned the rooms twice a day, towels changed and toiletries replenished. Nice big rooms and clean bathrooms.

Pool area: The outside areas and pool area were extremely clean and tidy, the hotel provides pool towels and we never had a problem getting sunbeds. There didn't seem to be the usual practice of people putting towels down at ridiculous times of the morning so that made things less stressful. There is a bar and snack bar next to the pool which provides lovely lunches at really good prices.

Meals: We were half board and found the food to be plentiful and delicious. The breakfast was the same every day but there was plenty to choose from with cereals, fruit, yoghurt, meats & cheeses, cooked breakfast and pastries etc. The evening meal was waiter service with a choice of approx. 5 starters and mains with salad and dessert buffet. We thought the food was great and very 'traditionally italian', which we loved. The waiters and restaurant manager were extremely welcoming and friendly, especially Michele, who was very chatty and helpful, he even helped our fussy 11 year old choose something nice off the buffet!

Location: The hotel is located in the village of Sant Agnello which has shops, restaurants etc. The railway station is 5 mins walk from the hotel and we used the train to get to Pompei and Herculaneum which only cost a few euros return each. We enjoyed getting around on the train as we felt we saw more of the real Italy as we passed through the many towns. The hotel provides a shuttle bus to & from Sorrento which we also used and found very good.

All in all we would definitely recommend the Parco Del Sole. It was very family friendly and our sons made a lot of friends around the pool each day. The staff were always cheerful and helpful and we felt very comfortable and secure while we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Well, we have just come back from a week at the Parco Del Sole and are inspired to write our first review for trip advisor.

On arrival the hotel has an impressive driveway, a fountain and smart entrance. The check in was very smooth and efficient and the lobby shiny and traditional. We had had a ‘middle of the night’ start that perhaps clouded our initial judgement about some cheap stretched cord carpet on the stairs and a door to the room that could do with a lick of paint. The balcony to our ‘superior’ room would have been excellent, but for the three air conditioning units mounted on the sidewall and blowing hot air in your face! The bathroom was also in a ‘traditional’ style, which can be a bit heavy going on the eyes when you are a bit flagged.

After a much needed shower and after the excellent air conditioning had kicked in and we had a chance to look out at the beautiful cliff face towering in the distance things started to look better. We took the 25 minute walk into Sorrento alongside a busy road and as soon as you accept that all the drivers are maniacs - but are very careful not to kill anyone - you start to get the feel of the place – and to be honest there is a great deal to like. Lots of quality places to eat, nice shops and a really good ‘feel’.

We were ‘half-board’, and the restaurant is exceptionally well run, with a highly professional staff. They are friendly, helpful and concerned to provide the very best service. The food quality is excellent and, as vegetarians, they were very happy (if a little bemused) to accommodate our needs. The wine waiter was great fun (think of an Italian Deryck Guyler … if you are old enough to remember) and good quality regional wine was a flat 20 euros a bottle. Whilst we never had need of the facility, they would save a part used bottle for another evening.

The outdoor area was immaculate with a decent sized pool, loungers and a large area for seating. Once a week they have a ‘Gala Buffet’ with entertainment in the outdoor area. The restaurant staff set up in the outside kitchens and the range and quality of the food is fantastic. From our perspective the evening was spoilt by the greedy Brits who queued up to stuff their plates with as much food as they could possibly pile up. Totally unnecessary since anything that was emptied was immediately replaced.

Perhaps the only real gripe is the pretty patchy and super slow Wi-fi. It really only works in the lobby and then not that well. If you are really bothered about this perhaps this is not the hotel for you.

This hotel is a bit out of the centre in Sant Agnello and is competing with many other hotels slap in the centre of Sorrento. From our perspective being a bit out of the centre kept us out of the hustle and bustle of the town centre and the excellent free shuttle bus takes you into the centre if you did not feel like walking. We find it hard to comprehend why some reviewers are complaining about the frequency of a free service. With a bit of pre planning there were more than enough. We found the location to be excellent.

Sant Agnello is a lovely little centre, albeit with the main road running through it. It also has a train station five minutes walk from the hotel that, for a couple of euros will take you to Pompeii, Herculaneum or Naples. Unless you prefer an exploitatively expensive ride in a coach with a load of Brits, we suggest that the train is a much better option for visiting the Roman ‘ruins’. It’s hot, but it costs virtually nothing and you actually get to see some Italians! Pompeii and Herculaneum are amazing and a total bargain at ten euros a head.

Whilst we are not ‘seasoned travellers’ we do take quite a few holidays a year and this has to be one of the best. Sorrento is beautiful and the places to visit are exceptional, but the quality of this hotel played a big part – spotlessly clean, fantastic food, great staff and a lovely outdoor area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Parco Del Sole. What we noticed most about it was how clean it was. Every morning the pool area was cleaned and tidied, all the tiles washed. Our rooms were cleaned everyday, towels (all 7!) changed daily and linen changed twice during our week stay. The air conditioning was very effective and our bed was comfortable, if on the hard side.
All the staff were very friendly. If you needed help with anything from directions to bus timetables the staff on the front desk were happy to help. The waiters and bar staff were friendly and courteous.
The breakfast had a reasonable selection, although it was the same selection everyday. We only had one evening meal which was the buffet and that was excellent and included a Tarantella performance which was fun!
There were a few things that could be improved. As the water in the rooms was not drinking water it would have been good to have bottles of water in the rooms on arrival, or the water you could to be better value, it was quite expensive. (You could buy it cheaply at the local shops but you shouldn't have to leave your hotel!) The decor wasn't necessarily to our taste but it was clean, surely that's the most important bit??!
So all in all we were really pleased and would recommend the hotel. Thanks to all the staff who helped make our holiday great!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Recently on a family holiday. Staff couldn't have been friendlier esp at the snack bar, they were very helpful.Food was wonderful and fresh. Also the pool area was very comfortable and everything was spotless. Would defo go back again! There is a brilliant service of a free shuttle bus to city centre multiple times each day.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The exterior looked tied and so did the rooms. While large, the smell of mould or dust or both was immediately apparent. The air conditioning barely worked and it was a really hot Summer's day. The bed was rock hard, the water pressure was limited and there was no jug, tea, coffee or anything. Thirsting for something we went out to the pool area, which was surprisingly nice but the drinks were quite expensive, considering how cheap they were everywhere else. The breakfast and dinner, as well as the service was poor. Don't bother staying, especially when you're tied because the hotel is too.

Room Tip: Ask for something that doesn't smell like mould
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank suzanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant'Agnello hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#7 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole

Address: Via Dei Gerani 1 | Corso Italia, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £70 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Parco del Sole has been built combining a classic Mediterranean style with all modern comforts. It stands in a private park, (that belongs to the hotel), among a luxurious vegetation of lemon and orange groves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing