We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's really nothing wrong with this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I read some of the reviews after we booked this place and started to worry but it was absolutely fine. It's a standard large Italian four-star and a pretty good one at that. Regarding traffic noise, the main thing you need to know is Sant'Agnello is on a main traffic route to and from Sorrento. However, thanks to double glazing you'll hardly notice it (the same goes for the church bell). My top tip is to shut your bathroom door if it has a window as the windows in there seem to be less soundproof. And since pool is located at the back of the hotel it's really quite peaceful round there. If you're going to spend your entire holiday at your hotel want to be in a more secluded spot, you'll need to widen your budget quite significantly to stay in one of the clifftop hotels. However if you intend to go sightseeing, Parko del Sole is very handy for the station (less than 10 minutes walk). Plus the hotel has a free shuttle bus for Sorrento which is good news as Sant'Agnello is a bit limited (there are a couple of bars and restaurants near the sea that are OK and not bad pricewise, relatively speaking - the whole area is pretty expensive).

The rooms were fine - much bigger than you'd get if you stayed in Sorrento. Lots of reviews have described them as dated but this isn't a boutique hotel in Brighton, for goodness sake! They were very clean too. We had a balcony but didn't use it much. The aircon is very good and quiet so we didn't need to open the windows at night and due to the traffic noise, we finished off our evenings at the pool bar as it was quieter and a more pleasant way to end the night. The bar is open through the day, serving lunch too (not amazing but a good deal cheaper than eating out), and it's open for drinks until midnight. We didn't eat in the restaurant at night because they finish serving at 9pm - good for families I suppose. Breakfast was good though.

Staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. When we arrived, we discovered that our twin beds had been made up as a double bed. Since there was no chamber maid available to correct this (it was after 10pm) they simply gave us an extra room for the night so we didn't have to share a bed. No fuss at all.

I'm sorry other reviewers have had bad experiences in the past but we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank celinemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel in 2009 and had a most wonderful time. The staff were friendly and helpful, service with a smile. We had half board, and the food was excellent. I loved the pool too. A nice walk into Sorrento, which I enjoyed. I enjoyed the hotel so much that I have booked again for July 2010. I booked with Expedia on a bed and breakfast basis, and when I asked how much it would cost to upgrade to half board I was told that I now had an upgrade for free - now that is real courtesy and client care. I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sorrento_loverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Have just returned from a week's stay. Nice hotel, interior somewhat dated. Good location, 300 metres from the circumvesuviana (train station) and 10 mins by the hotel shuttle to Sorrento centre. Only gripe would be my room was close to a bell that went every 15 mins (even through the night). Was glad I had ear plugs. Also, the noise in the adjacent rooms could easily be heard through the walls. Not good soundproofing. Nice setting and friendly/helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cazz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

I cant praise the hotel or holiday enough. Friendly efficient staff, good food.lovely ambiance.
My only problem is I would like to go again this year and its no longer in any of the brochures eg Thomson does anyone know why?

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Ok - lets look at the positives - the hotel was quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of the busy streets and there was a nice, large pool. Unfortunately that is where it stops. When we arrived we were directed to our room - a long walk with no lift and plenty of stairs to make lifting heavy baggage even worse. After the reception the older part of the hotel where we were staying was very run down and basically looked dirty - stained carpets etc. The room itself was a big enough size however the cleanliness of the bathroom was to be questioned and would probably have appeared on an episode of the 'hotel inspector'. Staff at reception were very unfriendly. Our room was on the ground floor beside a car park and block of flats where residents were able to walk past and look directly in - not a pleasant experience. We did make enquiries about getting an upgrade to which the particular staff member spoke very loudly to remind us (and to no doubt embarrass us) that we had booked on last minute.com and what else did we expect. Breakfast was by far one of the biggest let downs. The fruit was often mouldy and there was very little choice. The bread was rock hard. Again the staff were very unfriendly and it was hard to get even a basic service. Other residents were also allowed to keep dogs in the hotel and there seemed to be little contorl over them. Sorrento is a beautiful place as is the area surrounding this hotel - however one was made to feel that we should have been grateful to be there at all and that is where in our opinion the service delivery stopped.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee3917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

just returned from one weeks stay in this great hotel. it is situated a little out of sorrento but with the free shuttle or public transport this wasnt a problem, though may stay in the centre of Sorrento if we went again with everything on our doorstep in the evening. Saying that we will be reluctant to stay in any other hotel than this as we couldn't really fault it. All the staff were extremely efficient & helpful, epecially the waiters. The evening food was excellent with plenty of choice & freshly cooked. Our room overlooked the mountains & was traditionally furnished. There were a few jaded areas that could be updated but the hotel was kept clean. We went with Thompson holidays which was well organised but we would recommend doing the trips on your own, with public transport, if you were up to the organisation as their trips were expensive & very limitating. The public trains were efficent & cheap as were the buses & all you need is a good timetable. The only trip we did with Thompson was the Amalfi drive & Ravello but we had limited time in both areas especially Ravello & did'nt get to see anything we wanted to in our 50 min slot & the guide we had was not very good either. Our regret is not to have done it ourselves. The whole area is very commercial but beautiful. Our highlights were Positano, Pompei & herculeum. the cathedral in sorrento was amazing as were the churches in amalfi, positano & even the one near our hotel. Dont use the green tour bus in sorrento, an absolute rip off & regretfully we didnt do the red open top bus which came highly recommended, but get on it at the train station as it fills up quickly. With scenic drive round to amalfi try & sit on the right side for the fab views.
The whole holiday was very good & we would definitly recommend the hotel, the evening entertainment is geared more for the elderly retired couples & not really suitable for teenagers. Maybe more updated entertainment could be thought about by the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPDLEIGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Wasn't sure that we had made the right decision when we booked our 5 day break at this hotel but shouldn't have worried.
We travelled independantly and picked up the transfer coach from Naples airport which cost 10 euros each. The hotel was not too far away from the square where we were dropped off ( the station is also here) and it wasn't long before we were wheeling our cases up the lovely drive towards the fountain.We were welcomed at the desk very efficiently and were guided to our rooms. There were 2 lifts so there was never much waiting around. Our rooms were next to each other and appeared to have been recently refurbished - they had all the facilities needed for a comfortable stay. The rooms are not all concrete and glass the furniture is in a traditional style - it actually reminded me that I was in Italy. One nice touch was a botttle of 'sparkling' sitting in an ice bucket waiting for our arrival.
The dining room was a lovely bright room on 2 levels with lots of green italian glass on the pillars. The dining staff - what can I say - they were excellent and made mealtimes a real pleasure. We all loved the food which really says something as we had two of the fussiest eaters with us and they were more than happy. Breakfasts were a variety of continental and english , cold meats & cheeses, hard boiled eggs a variety of scrambled eggs, yoghurts, pastries,bacon, toast, jams & honey, plenty of fresh fruit - lots to set you up for the day.
Dinner on our 1st and last nights were served buffet style with an extensive choice from the buffet table as well as freshly carved turkey and beef. Pudding on these nights was just water melon and Tirimasu. The other nights were a salad table and a waiter served 3 course meal. The pudding table on these nights was incredible with a mix of individual pieces of fruit, massive fruit salad, gateaux, mousses - on one night we counted a choice of 14 different choices.
The pool area was in a lovely garden setting with lots of shade from the sun and this is where we aimed for at about 4 each evening for our swim and pre dinner drinks. The bar is open for drinks and we only found on our last day that we could have eaten there at lunchtime. We did eat at the nearest bar ( just to the right of the hotel) but found this poor value for money even though it had a lovely upstairs terrace.
We used the courtesy bus which was really handy but also walked into Sorrento but not along the main road. We actually turned right from the hotel and then left (towards the private beach) we turned left part way down the road. This brought us along a road with lovely sea views right into the heart of Sorrento and was not a busy road.. On one day we travelled back to St Agnello by train which took all of 2 minutes, we also caught the local very packed bus back so there is no shortage of transport.
I loved St Agnello which has a charm of its own with a large cathedral and bells chiming on the quarter hour - it was much quieter than Sorrento town and was so peaceful to return to after our days out.
We are now sorting out our visit for next year and 2 more friends are hoping to join us - where will we be staying - no contest - Parco Del Sole .

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MostynCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant'Agnello hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#7 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole

Address: Via Dei Gerani 1 | Corso Italia, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#12 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £71 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Parco del Sole has been built combining a classic Mediterranean style with all modern comforts. It stands in a private park, (that belongs to the hotel), among a luxurious vegetation of lemon and orange groves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing