We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Reviewed 25 August 2010

My boyfriend and I returned from Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole 2 weeks ago, after an eight night stay. We were very pleased with the hotel in general and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was very clean and well equipped, although it would have been handy to have a mini-bar in the room, and an internet point in the hotel. The hotel is dated, as other reviewers have mentioned, but this didn't detract from our stay. We slept very well due to the excellent air-conditioning, and although the room was not particularly sound-proof, we found the hotel to be very quiet at night so this didn't present a problem.

Breakfast was good with plenty of options - all the usual continental bits and pieces plus bacon, Frankfurter-type sausages and scrambled eggs for those who prefer them. We were less impressed with the pool snack bar, which we tried twice - we would not recommend this at all. Much better to pop across to Ciao Toto for a takeaway pizza and eat it on your balcony or go to the little cafe (I think called Bar 13 or something similar) on Corso Marion Crawford for cheap but excellent pasta in friendly surroundings. We did not eat dinner at the hotel restaurant so I can't comment on this.

The hotel pool area was good, with ample space and plenty of sun loungers, and a towel hire service - the pool and jacuzzi could have been a bit warmer though! In terms of location, we were actually pleased that we were not bang in the centre of Sorrento, as the hotel had a very quiet and relaxing atmosphere (being well set back from the main road) but it was also very easy to get into Sorrento as we did every night. The hotel shuttle bus is infrequent but was always on time; we also walked into Sorrento several times and it wasn't very far, although the road is quite busy. Still, there are plenty of bars and shops along the way to break the journey up! The best way we found was to use the Circumvesuviana train which takes 2 minutes and costs just over a Euro each.

We found that it was very easy to have a bad meal in Sorrento - perhaps this is because we were there in peak tourist season. I would advise anyone who is visiting in the hope of sampling some authentic, good Italian fare to do their research - the best meals we had were recommendations we found online. Our favourites were Tavern Allegra in the centre of Sorrento and La Tavernetta, situated in the hills above Sorrento, but easy to get to as they offer a free shuttle service and will come and collect you from your hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SparklingDiam0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2010

We recently spent five nights at this hotel and four star it ain't! It's about a 2km walk from Sorrento and due to the infrequency of the hotel's courtesy bus, we ended up walking in and out every day.

The hotel's rooms are small with very dated decor, but clean and had excellent air conditioning. They have safes, but no fridge or minibar and the hairdryer is useless, so bring your own! There is a huge pool with snackbar and they provide towels poolside too.

Although breakfast was included in our room rate, the vast dated dining room creeped us out and we never ate there - it was like something out of The Shining!!

The area is quiet but worth walking down to seaviews and in particular a japanese fusion restaurant called Robata Grill or KOCU. Although expensive, it has amazing sunset views and fantastic, if overpriced, cocktails and tasty teriyaki skewers!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chip-advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I read some of the reviews after we booked this place and started to worry but it was absolutely fine. It's a standard large Italian four-star and a pretty good one at that. Regarding traffic noise, the main thing you need to know is Sant'Agnello is on a main traffic route to and from Sorrento. However, thanks to double glazing you'll hardly notice it (the same goes for the church bell). My top tip is to shut your bathroom door if it has a window as the windows in there seem to be less soundproof. And since pool is located at the back of the hotel it's really quite peaceful round there. If you're going to spend your entire holiday at your hotel want to be in a more secluded spot, you'll need to widen your budget quite significantly to stay in one of the clifftop hotels. However if you intend to go sightseeing, Parko del Sole is very handy for the station (less than 10 minutes walk). Plus the hotel has a free shuttle bus for Sorrento which is good news as Sant'Agnello is a bit limited (there are a couple of bars and restaurants near the sea that are OK and not bad pricewise, relatively speaking - the whole area is pretty expensive).

The rooms were fine - much bigger than you'd get if you stayed in Sorrento. Lots of reviews have described them as dated but this isn't a boutique hotel in Brighton, for goodness sake! They were very clean too. We had a balcony but didn't use it much. The aircon is very good and quiet so we didn't need to open the windows at night and due to the traffic noise, we finished off our evenings at the pool bar as it was quieter and a more pleasant way to end the night. The bar is open through the day, serving lunch too (not amazing but a good deal cheaper than eating out), and it's open for drinks until midnight. We didn't eat in the restaurant at night because they finish serving at 9pm - good for families I suppose. Breakfast was good though.

Staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. When we arrived, we discovered that our twin beds had been made up as a double bed. Since there was no chamber maid available to correct this (it was after 10pm) they simply gave us an extra room for the night so we didn't have to share a bed. No fuss at all.

I'm sorry other reviewers have had bad experiences in the past but we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank celinemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel in 2009 and had a most wonderful time. The staff were friendly and helpful, service with a smile. We had half board, and the food was excellent. I loved the pool too. A nice walk into Sorrento, which I enjoyed. I enjoyed the hotel so much that I have booked again for July 2010. I booked with Expedia on a bed and breakfast basis, and when I asked how much it would cost to upgrade to half board I was told that I now had an upgrade for free - now that is real courtesy and client care. I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sorrento_loverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Have just returned from a week's stay. Nice hotel, interior somewhat dated. Good location, 300 metres from the circumvesuviana (train station) and 10 mins by the hotel shuttle to Sorrento centre. Only gripe would be my room was close to a bell that went every 15 mins (even through the night). Was glad I had ear plugs. Also, the noise in the adjacent rooms could easily be heard through the walls. Not good soundproofing. Nice setting and friendly/helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cazz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

I cant praise the hotel or holiday enough. Friendly efficient staff, good food.lovely ambiance.
My only problem is I would like to go again this year and its no longer in any of the brochures eg Thomson does anyone know why?

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Ok - lets look at the positives - the hotel was quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of the busy streets and there was a nice, large pool. Unfortunately that is where it stops. When we arrived we were directed to our room - a long walk with no lift and plenty of stairs to make lifting heavy baggage even worse. After the reception the older part of the hotel where we were staying was very run down and basically looked dirty - stained carpets etc. The room itself was a big enough size however the cleanliness of the bathroom was to be questioned and would probably have appeared on an episode of the 'hotel inspector'. Staff at reception were very unfriendly. Our room was on the ground floor beside a car park and block of flats where residents were able to walk past and look directly in - not a pleasant experience. We did make enquiries about getting an upgrade to which the particular staff member spoke very loudly to remind us (and to no doubt embarrass us) that we had booked on last minute.com and what else did we expect. Breakfast was by far one of the biggest let downs. The fruit was often mouldy and there was very little choice. The bread was rock hard. Again the staff were very unfriendly and it was hard to get even a basic service. Other residents were also allowed to keep dogs in the hotel and there seemed to be little contorl over them. Sorrento is a beautiful place as is the area surrounding this hotel - however one was made to feel that we should have been grateful to be there at all and that is where in our opinion the service delivery stopped.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee3917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant'Agnello hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#7 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole

Address: Via Dei Gerani 1 | Corso Italia, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#12 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £71 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Parco del Sole has been built combining a classic Mediterranean style with all modern comforts. It stands in a private park, (that belongs to the hotel), among a luxurious vegetation of lemon and orange groves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing