We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous place”
Review of Villa Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fabulous place”
Reviewed 4 January 2009

A little late writing this review as we stayed here in 2006 for our honeymoon!

The hotel is small (but not too small) and the staff are so friendly and helpful - we stayed in the Ninfea suite and could see the sea from our bed and Mount Vesuvius from the window of our living areas.

It was September so fairly quiet and we had the pool to ourtselves somedays, a nice place to have lunch btw the staff bring it out to you and set you up a little table.

There are a couple of restaurants nearby and ther eis always the walk into Sorrento - which is quite long and windy but nothing to complain about. I personally found sorrento really touristy and not what I expected at all so I was glad we chose Sant Angello.

Would recommend and will defintely be going back at some point in the future.

  • Liked — The beautiful views
  • Disliked — Not a huge choice of restaurants in the surrounding area
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlily2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    42
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
58
297
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

We stayed at the Villa Garden for 10 days in August 2008. From the moment you arrive at it`s beautiful location just outside of Sorrento, you feel as if you are part of the family who run the hotel.

The hotel is clean, the rooms are very well appointed and the beds and pillows are very comfortable. All the staff are efficient and very friendly. Breakfast is served in a conservatory area overlooking the bay commanding the most amazing views.

The pool area is beautifully kept with shade and sun choices. Lunch is served by the pool and the choice of food is very good and the food is of high quality.

I would recommend this hotel very highly and would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Liked — Homely feel and great accomodation
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NWLondonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We made a return visit – we stayed at the Villa Garden in 2003 – and had a wonderful fortnight once again. The secret of the hotel’s success is that it does not change: everything was just as we left it, which is not to say it has been allowed to fade. The hotel is closed during the winter and we imagine that there is a programme of complete redecoration then, as even in August, towards the end of the season, it looks immaculate. We love the pool and the garden, which are perfect for relaxing under the Campania sun. Although there are no umbrellas there is plenty of shade for those that want/need it. The breakfast room is delightful, with unsurpassed views of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. We usually avoid cooked breakfasts in Italy - they are usually inferior, we have found - but we do recommend the bacon and eggs and omelettes here. The other, cold breakfast choices are plentiful and good The staff are all delightful, very helpful and nothing is ever too much trouble. Lunch by the pool is a real treat - don't miss the mozarella caprese - the tomatoes from around the volcano are sublime. Needless to say, it will not be five years before we return.

For any visitors who would like an alternative to Sorrento for dinner, Ristorante Moonlight, 5 minutes walk away in Via Cappuccini, is excellent, especially for antipasti and pizza. The fish we had there was very good also, but then it usually is in and around Sorrento if you avoid the menu turisticas and anywhere calling itself "English pub" or showing Sky Sports. See http://www.ristorantemoonlight.it/eng/index.php. Our absolute favourite restaurant anywhere in Italy is Lanternadue, in Via S.M. Delle Grazie, a quiet alley slightly off the main drag, but very central. A table outside is a must: take your time and enjoy the hilarious banter of the waiters. You'll be well looked after - the pasta special with sea bass I had on the last night was outstanding. We eat there on about 6 different evenings during our stay - see http://www.lalanternarestaurantsorrento.com/pageslanternadue/ing/lanterna_2.html. Our final restaurant recommendation this time round would be Zi'ntonio Mare, at Marina Grande. If you book through the hotel you will be collected and brought back, door-to-door, at no additional cost: the scampi we had here were very good.

Overall we had a brilliant holiday in this beautiful hotel and gorgeous area.

  • Liked — everything! absolutely first class
  • Disliked — nothing at all - its flawless
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

My new wife and I spent the last 4 days of our honeymoon in Sorrento at the Hotel Villa Garden. After spending the week prior to this traveling Greece, moving from place to place each day, this was the perfect place to wind down, relax, move at our own pace, and enjoy some incredible scenery. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and courteous, and they even had a cold bottle of champagne awaiting us in our room upon arrival. The views from our room were amazing: Mt. Vesuvio in one direction and the small, charming streets of Sant'Agnello in the other. We spent some time at the hotel swimming pool, which was also extremely well kept and peaceful. If you stay in this area, be sure to eat at the Moonlight Ristorante Pizzeria...excellent prices and delicious food. We spent 3 times as much money eating at Donna Sofia one night, which had a beautiful atmosphere, but the food was better at Moonlight. It's run by Antonio with his wife and son, who all are extremely kind and helpful.

One of the best things about the Hotel Villa Garden is its location. Sant'Agnello is a comfortable 30-45 minute walk (or a 5 minute bus ride if you prefer) from the main square in Sorrento, so we were far enough away from the crowds to not feel overwhelmed by tourists, but still able to easily enjoy all of Sorrento. The only trip we took from Sorrento was to Positano by circumvisuviana (bus). It was 6 euro per person for a 24-hour bus pass, and the views from the top of the peninsula were some of the best in the world. I think we enjoyed the bus ride even more the Positano itself! We consdered going to Pompei our last day in Sorrento, but we decided to just relax and hang out at the hotel pool and the beach 2 blocks away. This ended up being one of our favorite days.

The only, and I mean only, negative aspect of the hotel is that the rooms do not have traditional showers. Instead, there are large jacuzzi bathtubs with a hand sprayer you can use to resemble a regular shower, so we ended up showering at the pool shower most days, which was really no big deal at all. Overall, the Hotel Villa Garden was the perfect place to end our honeymoon and we will definitely stay there again our next time in Sorrento!

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — No Showers
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RyneSandberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

I loved this hotel!!
I was traveling with my 18 year old daughter and we both really enjoyed our stay!
The hotel is small enough to be personal. (They actually remember you when you see them in and around the hotel.) They were very gracious and happy to accommodate.
We had a room with a partial water view and it was delightful to sit on our small deck and enjoy the view. Our room was very nice, clean, and well appointed.
The pool was quiet and most pleasant! Though the staff doesn't hover around they are always available and willing to bring drinks/snack poolside.
Sorrento is about a 5 minute bus ride from the hotel in San Agnello. (We had some issues getting around on the buses but that was just us not understanding the system.)
The breakfast room was bright and pleasant with a beautiful view of the water. We ate most of our evening meals in the area of our hotel and they were very good.
I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — Smaller and personal, well kept, great location.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leolo221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern,KY
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

Just returned from a wonderful 6 nights at the Hotel Villa Garden.Feels like a 5 star hotel,our junior suite was beautiful,roomy and exceptionaly clean.Pictures on their website are true to form.Very nice pool,quiet and relaxing.Nice pay beach 5 minute walk.Best breakfast in all of Italy,eggs and meats prepared by friendly servers each morning in a beautiful breakfast room overlooking the Naples bay and Mt. Vesuvius in the background.Hotel owners and staff very friendly and helpful.They can make arrangements with free transportation to marina resturants.I recommend the resturant at the Marina Grande seemed less touristy.We had great meals around the corner at the resturant Moonlight,great teramasou dessert.Do not be concerned with a stay in Sant'Agnello,as it is very quaint and welcoming with local bus and train easy to use.Stay was quieter and more relaxing than the crowded noisy areas in Sorrento.Great base for sightseeing Pompei,Herculeum,Omplonti,Naples,Capri and if you have time the temples at Paestrum.Hope to return soon!

  • Liked — The spectactular views Mt.Vesuvius and of the bay of Naples
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank turningwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

We just got back from the Amalfi Coast and the Villa Garden Hotel was our "home base". We went to a property around the corner and when that didn't work out, they suggested we check out the VIlla Garden, a 2 minute walk away. SO, we literally walked in off the street with no prior knowledge of this hotel.

Just from the small, clean, reception area we were impressed. You can see a black, gleaming, baby grand piano in the corner of their adjacent bar / lounging area as you walk in.

They showed us what our room would be if we took it. When the bellman opened the door and we saw this large suite we were ready to take it. Then he opened the electric window shutters to show us the view of the Mediterranean literally across a narrow street and DUH !, we couldn't say "no".

The room cost more than we had budgeted for "the Coast" but was approximately the same price as a 3 star hotel in Rome, so we took it. That being said, the value between the Roman 3 star and this property is not even comparable. Our VIlla Garden room was unbelievably spacious... 3 rooms really ! A small entrance, a nice sized bedroom, a 'parlour', TV, sitting area and a large bathroom (with a bathtub, something we hadn't seen in Italy for the entire 12 days we had been in Italy up to that point... not to mention it was a 2 person jacuzzi !). There is a safe in your room, hidden in the wall behind a painting, a la James Bond !

This is a first class hotel. The owners are often there. Gabriella and Paola are extremely helpful and have paid a lot of attention to details. There is a lovely pool area / garden, 2 pianos, a billiards table, a computer (with reliable, pay-per-use Internet) and a spectacular, Mediterranean-overlooking terrasse where they serve an amazing (included in the daily rate) breakfast (and other meals, if you reserve ahead).

There are a couple of very good restaurants near the property that you can easily walk to. People come from all over town to look out at the view of the Bay of Naples that you can stare out at from your hotel window ! The 'visitors' were all very discreet and if you didn't look down from your ocean view, you wouldn't know they were there.

I would not hesitate AT ALL to reserve at the Villa Garden. It was the showcase hotel of our 4 city Italian vacation.

There is one thing we noticed and in the interest of full disclosure I feel compelled to mention it since it MIGHT be a deal-breaker to some of you. This is an extremely clean hotel, however, you will occasionally notice tiny, tiny ants on the floor or in the bathroom.

As long as we don't see any "wildlife" in or near the bed, or the capacity to get there, we don't see this as a big problem and were not bothered by a few ants. In all fairness, there is a very good chance the problem exists (and may even be worse) at any number of hotels in the area.

Bon Voyage.
Garry from Montreal

  • Liked — Quality of room, location of property, uncomparable views, terriffic breakfasts (included)
  • Disliked — Tiny ants
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Beaverboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.5 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Garden Hotel

Property: Villa Garden Hotel
Address: Via Nuovo Rione Cappuccini 7, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Garden is a refined boutique hotel located in the Peninsula of Sorrento, on a rocky spur directly above the sea. The breathtaking panorama one enjoys from the Belvedere encompasses the entire Bay of Naples, with the majestic Vesuvius, the gentle hills and the picturesque villages dotted along the coast immersed in the luscious green vegetation. A real corner of Paradise, where the ancient Romans built a splendid villa and where the great European painters of the 17th and 18th century came to seek inspiration for their magnificent paintings. Today this is the ideal place for relaxing and romantic stays, to discover Sorrento, Capri, Pompeii, the Amalfi Coast and other gems of this blessed land. The villa has been completely restructured but in full respect of the original architecture. It's 19 rooms are finely furnished, many of these have balcony and sea view. The personal care of the owners, the courtesy of the Staff, the intimate and elegant atmosphere, make of Villa Garden a "Hotel de Charme". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Sant Agnello
Villa Garden Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing