We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
477
51
14
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
477
51
14
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roombay of naplesthe cliffoverlooking the baynothing is too much troubleour honeymooncannot recommend this hotel highly enoughthe buswonderful hotelsmall hotelstunning viewsa family run hotelmount vesuviusoverlooking the waterbreakfast is servedwatch the sunsetbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2006

What a glorious hotel. We stayed for six nights of our honeymoon and loved every minute. We were welcomed with sparkling wine and the service remained excellent throughout our stay. It was as good as we would expect in this price range.

The room was clean, spacious and beautifully decorated; our ground floor room had a terrace with views of the sea, which was delightful in spite of the road immediately between the hotel and the sea.

The hotel facilities are excellent and given that we had quite mixed weather we used most of them. The pool very pleasant and the billiard table perfect for a few games before bed on a wet and windy evening!

The breakfast was excellent, usual selection of cereal, bread, cake, fruit and yoghurt and a choice of cooked eggs and ham etc. And the bar well stocked for a drink in the sun before heading out for supper.

There are a few local restaurants within walking distance and Sorrento town, for an even more choice is about a 20 minutes walk. We found Villa Garden to be an excellent place to explore the local area and do a few day trips too, Capri, Vesuvius, Pompeii.

We would recommend Villa Garden, we had a delightful time.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2006

My wife and I recently returned from Sorrento for our honeymoon. After much research, and the Trip Advisor we opted to stay at the Villa Garden. What a fantastic hotel, with excellent and very friendly staff. The whole experience was well above my expectations as a frequent traveller to Italy.

The restuarants in central Sorrento itself, when the buses finally arrive to take you there, are overpriced. There are some gems however off the main pizzia and by the smaller harbour. The latter tends to be less populated by tourists.

Few words of advice. 1. Plan the trip from the airport to the hotel with care. The train is over an hour and very hot. My advice, get the bus to the harbour in Naples, hydrofoil to sorrento and bus from Sorrento to the hotel. Alternatively get a beer in the airport until the direct (and air conditioned) bus between the airport and the hotel. 2. The taxis are over priced and rip you off. 3. Visit the Amalfi coast by bus - what an experience and finally enjoy the heat.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TimKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2006

My wife and I just returned from our trip to Sorrento, Italy where we spent seven nights at the Villa Garden Hotel. We are still singing its praises. The hotel is in Sant' Agnello, just on the outskirts of Sorrento proper and about a 25 minute walk to the Piazza Tasso in the center of Sorrento. (We usually took the bus to town, a short 6-7 miinute ride for one euro each.) The hotel is separated from the Gulf of Naples by a small street running in front of the hotel. We stayed in a junior suite overlooking the Gulf and Mt. Vesuvius. What a grand site to see each morning as we awakened. The room was large, with a sitting room and oversize bathroom. Our only disappointment, and a mild one at that, was the shower. It was a hand-held shower that was somewhat awkward to operate. But we got used to it.
The breakfasts were substantial and prepared by the most friendly staff, each of whom always had a warm greeting for us and seemed to be genuinely interested in providing excellent service. They certainly succeded in that regard. The breakfast room is accessed by walkway under the road and sits directly on the cliff above the Bay of Naples. Each morning we took in the spectacular view as we ate made-to-order breakfasts.
The hotel has a pool, small workout room and steam room. We used the pool only and enjoyed its setting in the beautiful garden surrounding it.
The front desk staff was very helpful in providing information, making reservations, and being attentive to our needs. Gabriella was especially helpful and always cheerful.
There are several reasonably priced restaurants in the immediate area, though we usually ate in Sorrento. However, a wonderful dining experience located only 5 minutes walk frrom the hotel is in the Hotel Cocumella. It is more expensive but well worth the cost. Unfortunately we discovered it on our last night there, otherwise we would have revisited it for certain.
When we checked out, part of our bill could not be paid by credit card. This was the cost of the airport transfers and local transportation that we had charged. While we were prepared for this, thanks to a review we had seen posted by a recent traveller, we think guests should be apprised of this at the time of booking, or at least upon their arrival, so as not to be surprised on checkout. Had we not had sufficient euros to cover the cost, we would have had to find a nearby ATM at the time we should have been leaving for the airport.
Nevertheless we were most pleased with our experience at the Villa Garden Hotel and would stay there again in a heartbeat. We enthusiastically recommend it.

9  Thank satisfaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2006

A family owned hotel run by sisters Paola and Gabriella is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. We had room 105 which is the room in their web sight. It has french doors opening up onto a patio which looks out onto the Bay of Naples. To the right is Mt. Vesuvius and Sorrento to the left. The hotel has marble hallways, a baby grand piano in the bar, a full size pool table, and a sauna.
The American breakfast has eggs to order in addition to breads, cheeses, meats,cereals, and fruit. This was a great find and a fitting end to our vacation...Joe A.....Cape Cod

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Villa Garden for two nights in early May 2006. The weather was bad but the hotel made up for that. We found Sorrento a bit less than we expected but the Villa Garden was wonderful and made the experience overall very good. The location is excellent, away from the hustle bussle of Sorrento but only about five minutes by the local bus just around the corner. We took the bus since driving and parking in Sorrento is at your own risk!

The hotel staff was polite, friendly and made several excellent suggestions regarding our visit to Sorrento and Capri. The breakfast was the best served and prepared in Italy. The breakfast room has a terrific view.

Our room was spotless and had a nice balcony with a partial sea view.

5  Thank Scharmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews