We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
477
51
14
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
477
51
14
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roombay of naplesthe cliffoverlooking the baynothing is too much troubleour honeymooncannot recommend this hotel highly enoughthe buswonderful hotelsmall hotelstunning viewsa family run hotelmount vesuviusoverlooking the waterbreakfast is servedwatch the sunsetbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
431 - 436 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We have just returned from a very pleasant and relaxing week at the Hotel Villa Garden.
This is one of the few places that my wife and I agreed that we didn't want to leave and we will certainly be returning as soon as possible.
Our room (106 ) was perfect with its spectacular views to Vesuvius ( when it was visible through the haze, but you can't blame the hotel for that! ) and the shutters were brilliant at keeping the sun and noise out. Some mornings it was 09.30 before we realized what the time was!
All of the staff are extemely friendly and considerate and will put themselves out for you.
The drinks at the bar are a little expensive althought the lunch time menu was reasonably priced.
We would certainly suggest that you listen to the receptionists about which restaurants to eat out at as they can be very knowledgeable.
The great thing about this hotel is that it is far enough out of the hustle of Sorrento but close enough to walk to if you want.
Breakfast is quite an experience high above the sea watching the local fishermen close to the shore.
Just be aware that there is no beach to speak of in Sorrento just bathing platforms on top of rocks that you have to pay to access and again for sunbeds and parasols ( You can't take your own ).
Once you get the hang of the aircon you can get it on a low setting and you can't hear it which is bliss.
Overall this is the perfect place for a romantic holiday away for couples who want to enjoy each others company and eat out every night..
One warning, Italian food is amongst the best in the world but you can have too much of a good thing and there are no other restaurant types in the area ( No Chinese, Indian or anything remotely exotic ).

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RossWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2007

We left our timeshare resort in Abruzzo and spent the day in Pompeii and then drove to Sorrento. We didn't have a reservation and were trying to find something recommended by Rick Steves (book) and accidently stumbled upon Hotel Villa Garden. It was so beautiful on the outside and we honestly didn't expect to find a vacancy. When they said they had a room for 130 euros, we took it (without seeing the room).
We spent over 3 weeks driving and seeing Italy and Hotel Villa Garden was absolutely our favorite and best place we stayed in.
The entire hotel was beautifully decorated and extremely clean. Our bed was one of the most comfortable in Italy. We had the nicest bathroom anywhere (marble) and modern. It also had a beautiful outdoor garden, gorgeous waterfront views of the sea and came with the best breakfast we had in Italy (included made-to order eggs, etc. in addition to a full cold buffet). There was also internet access in a little sitting area and the breakfast area was amazing with all glass window views of the sea.
Gabriella and Pepe (front desk) were both extremely pleasant and helpful in arranging our next day trip to Capri and Pepe drove us to meet the tour guide. They held our luggage for the day after we checked out and also permitted us to park our car on the premises for the day as well.
Capri day trip is an absolute must. We only wish we could have spent more time at Hotel Villa Garden enjoying the relaxing pool area.
We would certainly recommend Hotel Villa Garden in Sorrento and look forward to returning next year.

Stayed: June 2007
3  Thank Tranquillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2007

We spent 5 nights in Room 205 (small balcony with sea view) and thoroughly loved every minute of our stay. We spent our first wedding anniversary in Sorrento and decided to return for our 3rd. We wanted to avoid the traffic noise and we were thus thrilled with the quiet Hotel Villa Garden.
We didn't use the fitness center, but it looked quite nice. The pool area and garden is lovely. The hotel provides pool towels free of charge and they even have a bottle of sunscreen for guests to use. The breakfast (custom and a buffet) is fabulous and is served on a glassed-in terrace with amazing views of the sea. The staff is fantastic and they are all multi-lingual. The rooms were quite comfortable and we loved being away from the traffic noise that haunts Sorrento and even the hotels up on Via Capo. The walk from the hotel to Piazza Tasso in central Sorrento took about 30 minutes (we are athletic and set a brisk pace, if you stroll it is more like 40 minutes). You can also take the bus that picks up near the hotel for 1€ per trip. The hotel provides you with a bus schedule and they also sell bus tickets. The hotel is about a 12 minute walk from the Sant' Agnello circumvesuviana station (the train running to Sorrento, Naples, Pompei, Herculaneum, etc). The station usually just has one ticket counter open so try to arrive at least 10 minutes before the train you want to take departs as we had to wait in line several times. We enjoyed eating at Pizzeria Aurora (50 types of pizza) just off Piazza Tasso in central Sorrento.
Other Notes about the hotel - there is a mini fridge in your room but guests are "forbidden" to put anything of their own in the fridge, internet access is 30 minutes for 3€, the hotel will happily set up any and all excursions you might want to take, laundry service is pretty expensive (4€ for a pair of socks??!!), the beds are very comfortable, the shutters in the room are great for keeping out light and noise, extra pillows are provided, there is an elevator, the air conditioning is great.

Overall impression - wonderful hotel for a romantic stay, very reasonably priced for Sorrento, we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Artemis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2007

My wife and I stayed here in April of 07'. The hotel is the front row of homes and hotels on the ocean. The views are incredible. We requested room #105 because of the large balcony and we were not disappointed. The breakfast was very good and it was nice to have an American style breakfast with eggs.

It was a little off the beaten path, but there were a few restaurants close to the hotel. It was a 15-20 minute walk into Sorrento. We did a day trip to Capri, it was very beautiful, but full of tourists. We had a car and drove to the Amalfi Coast and stopped at Positano and Amalfi. That was the highlight of our trip, the city of Amalfi was picture perfect set in the step mountains right on the ocean. The drive has to be top 5 in the world along the Amalfi Coast.

Overall the hotel was very nice, it was clean, the bathrooms were nice, and the views were fantastic. I would recommend the hotel to people looking for a quiet vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Surfer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2007

We first came to Villa Garden in 2001 with our 3 children and vowed to return someday. Our most recent stay with our close friends was just as enjoyable as our first.

Though this hotel is a 4 star, it acts and feels like a 5 star in every way. The staff are just so accomodating and the hotel is always kept immaculately.

If you are going to Sorrento and want to be a little removed from the hustle and bustle of the town and the buzzing of the vespas stay at the Villa Garden. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martinojct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews