We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Casa Susy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Susy
Ranked #12 of 22 Sant'Agnello B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2014

we stayed at Casa Susy from 8th May to 14th May, all in all we had a good stay, the parking is excellent, the rooms were very basic, but clean and tidy. There were a few ants crawling around but to be honest with all the lemon and orange groves not really surprised.

We could not log on to the WIFI so Susy's son lent us his laptop for the week, totally un expected and very much appreciated.

The only downside to our stay was breakfast, we had paid 10euro a day extra for breakfast and were served up a few rolls with jam and fruit juice, we did get a cup of tea after the water had been boiled on the stove, not great. We did find a lovely cafe through the streets of saint agnello and went there for breakfast each morning.

The only downside was that when we came to pay the bill at the end of the stay we queried the cost for the breakfast as we only had it for one day and were surprised not to get a 50 euro refund which is what the breakfast would have cost.

Both myself and my partner would definately stay here again, great location, very friendly owner and family, excellent free parking which is priceless.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staglinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Had a great experience at this hotel! Miss Susy and her family were extremely helpful and accommodating giving us some great advice on where to go and what was on during our stay. Rooms were generous in size, well equipped, clean and well set out. S.Agnello has quite a bit of character and we enjoyed being out of the main center of town. The hotel is close to the station though we chose to walk in every time (It's an easy walk, very flat and nice to take in the area). Would definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The only thing that can be said that the parking is a godsend in such an old and ancient part of Sorrento and also within easy reach of some good eateries.. The experience of staying there is something completely different. The rooms were dirty with mismatched furniture and the shower room was so dirty I had to clean it first and was then rewarded with lukewarm water. The sheets were thin,bad quality ,mismatched and when I got into bed, discovered they were dirty and smelt ! I bought some powder and washed them .They would not dry as it was raining so I used t shirts as pillow slips ! The breakfast did leave me speechless, The one table was in her cramped kitchen I was not bothered by that as I am used to the informality of B and B but when I was given a carton of open milk it was a surprise. Old tatty packs of jams and packaged patisserei wre just piled up in the middle of the table, There was no care at all. In a country that prides itself on plentiful. good quality breads etcetera ,It was a travesty.The family were friendly enough on booking in but there was absolutely no care or interest in the comfort of the guests. I asked for a blanket and was given an old candlewick which smelt dirty too.
I did notice the persiana blinds and the aircon were new but no advantage to us as it was autumn but a sure assett in mid summer.

Room Tip: In a suburb so seemed to be quiet everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fincaantas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Clean, comfortable and Susy and her family are super friendly. The street may appear to be off the beaten track it is actually very close to the Sant Agnello train station, which is 2 minutes from Sorrento (otherwise a 20 minute walk) and a 5 minute walk from the nearest beach.

The only downside is that the bathroom wasn't cleaned regularly..
I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbybaggio73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Being away from the overly touristy centre of Sorrento was a big plus. Sant' Agnello is a 20 minute walk from the centre but there is a lot more character and authentic charm in this area. Couple of good restaurants and a public beach a short (steep) walk away. Staff very friendly and helpful.
You can get the SITA bus to Positano or Amalfi from the Square by the church at the top of the road. Trains also run to Pompei and Naples from here and you can get the orange bus to Sorrento centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonTig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The rooms of Casa Susy are clean and comfortable. The only problem is that the city center is far to go walking on a hot day (considering you will have to walk more during the day). There is the circumvesuviana, is just one station to arrive to the center, but the train service finishes at 21h40.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camila701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The reviews for Casa Susy looked promising, the pictures idyllic and location good however all of this was sadly not the case when we arrived.

My first concern was when we arrived and discovered that Casa Susy occupied a few floors in a residential building, meaning it was not a purpose built facility. We were not expecting the best accommodation, but normally a b&b is its own building, as were all the other b&b's we walked past on the way to this. Casa Susy does occupy most of the building granted, but it had such a different feel to it being half a residential building.

Susy was lovely and checked us in quickly and brought us down to our room. The room is fairly basic which is fine. It had a tv and hair dryer, some nice lamps and cupboard space. There was no bar fridge, though there was a space for one or a safe. The balcony had one cheap plastic chair.
This would have all been fine had the room actually have been properly cleaned and looked over. I feel quite certain all that was done between the previous guests and overselves was a change of sheets. The shower still had dirt and grime from the previous occupants, and the drain had hairs all over it. It was also terribly mouldy and felt very dirty. The bidet had several dead ants and also some hair in it. I feel horrible each time I showered as it was so unclean. It also absolutely reeked of cigarettes that we had to have our doors constantly open to get the smell out.

Now onto the ant infestation! It was awful our first morning of waking in this room to discover ants all through my suitcase! The room has a serious ant problem. The bathroom constantly had them in there, it was horrific. They would trail on the back wall, and go everywhere.

The rooms were never cleaned, the bins never emptied, towels never refrshed or toilet paper refreshed our whole time. We had to find the cupboard that stocked the tp and get it overselves! We weren't expecting 5star or even 4, but not to have the bins emptied or basic cleaning felt a bit yucky. Especially given the ant issue any scraps of food in the bins would attract the ants. The bed only had a sheet on top with no light blanket. Once again we tried to find one but had no luck so had to also cover our bed in towels to keep from shivering from the airconditioning. Even turned up, it would be a little chilly at times and that extra layer would have made all the difference. It was far too hot outside to sleep comfortably without the airconditioning but also as it had the great metal shutters it wouldn't have had adequate air flow to cool the room.

We had good wifi in our room the first day and then a storm happened the following day and the power went out briefly. Ever since then we had no room wifi and had to go upstairs to use theirs. When we enquired they said the rooms didn't have wifi which was frustrating because we'd had great Internet the first day and knew it was possible. It probably just needed to be reset or similar.

We were told it was a ten minute walk to sorrento which may have been true if you sprinted. My husband and I are both healthy, athletic people and it took us 20mins at a brisk pace. As it was summer this wasn't the best experience and I would absolutely recommend looking further in for accomadation options if you want to enjoy Sorrento with ease. It would have made all the other issues not as impacting had the location been worth our troubles, but sadly that was a bad aspect too.

Breakfast was fine but would have been much improved with more variety. It was just a roll, pre packaged crossoint and some spreads. We did have espresso which was good but it was basic and they didn't go to much effort with the breakfast. Breakfast was also upstairs in some sort of a dinning room which felt like we were invading their family area and wasn't so functional for guests.

The power went out again for no reason a few days after the storm. We thought it was everyone however went outside our room and saw everything else had power, it was just us. We went upstairs to find some help, ringing the bell on the desk three times and looking around however no one came. We ended up leaving a note on a napkin on the reception desk and hoping they saw it, as we had to leave for dinner and there wasn't much to do in a darkened room with no power. Thankfully when we returned it was back on.

In reading the good reviews I am pleased others had a better experience and wish this had been our case. It just simply wasn't good enough for the price we were paying and the huge downsides of the location and room mishaps. Susy was lovely, as was her daughter, but we can't help but feel there are a few basic things that could be done to drastically improve guest experiences. We agree with many of the reviewers that reviewed from as far back as 2006!

My sister and brother in law stayed in Sorrento at the same time as us and stayed in a b&b only 5 mins from the centre, clean, good wifi and good breakfast- for the same price. You can absolutely get better value for money elsewhere and closer in, so would highly recommend looking at other options firstly then here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElizabethG88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant'Agnello hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#7 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Susy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Susy

Address: Via Cappuccini 36, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £53 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Susy 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Susy is a family and welcoming bed and breakfast in Sorrento in the area of Sant' Agnello, just 15 minutes walking distance from Sorrento. The bed and breakfast is situated in a quiet villa, surrounded by Sorrento's typical gardens with lemon and orange trees, where you will be received and supported for any need or curiosity you will have during your holidays in Sorrento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Susy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Susy Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing