We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Run Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Margherita
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff are amazingly helpful - they organized amazing day trips for us and were always ready and willing to answer questions or lend a hand. Our room was nice - a little small, but it had all the amenities and it was very clean. The hotel's restaurant is just as well-run and serves some great food. The hotel also has a lovely rooftop terrace that was perfect for watching the sun set. I'd highly recommend staying here when visiting Sorrento!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sgl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

A pleasant 3 night stay though rather noisy at night due to traffic or guests chatting rather loudly on the terrace. Our room was by a road. Take your ear plugs! The room was clean and adequate in size but the shower cubicle was very snug. Luckily both my 20 something daughter and I are of narrower frames; me a petite UK size 12. The Wifi was good enough for our needs; we were there on holiday, not to surf the net nor chat online. Breakfast was simple, Continental, not a great selection but, yet again, adequate to start the day. The restaurant is open only in the evenings, fresh seafood daily and, perhaps, a tad expensive even with the 10% discount. But because it had such a convivial atmosphere we didn't mind having dinner there for one evening. The hotel is very close to the lido and patrons can get a discount through the hotel to use the facility and the elevator which takes you up and down to it. A good thing to use otherwise it would be a pretty steep climb back. Beach towels can be rented from the hotel at €2 per day. Sorrento is only a mere 15 minutes walk away and public transport is pretty good. I would use this hotel again should I return to the area but may upgrade to a better situated room but, on the whole, I can fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RBurnside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I've been in Sorrento for a few days, and I slept in this hotel. I have to say there are a couple of issues concerning the room's floor full of dust, and some nasty stains on the bathroom's walls (the kind of black thing coming from excessive humidity and moisture...). I had a decently comfortable bed (but a creeky one), aircon and a very small but functional desk.
Hotel's reception and restaurant are, on the other hand, very pretty, and the staff is very very polite and very good with their job (especially the young woman at the desk).
Now I'll talk a bit about the worst thing I've found: the breakfast. Especially the so called cappuccino.
Unfortunately you'll find here the very same kind of flavored water coming from an automatic machine some call Cappuccino that you'll find in several other foreign countries. And I can't accept it in Italy. Especially if you consider that this place has also got an AWESOME bar full of the correct equipment for a proper cappuccino on the outside, where you could really enjoy a nice italian summer breakfast.
It's really a pity for this place not to understand its real potential. Charge my room 2 euros more and give me a proper cappuccino in the morning, letting me actually see the nice weather outside, please.
In conclusion, this is probably not the best place you'll find in Sorrento, but I really hope it will try harder in the future. I'd definitely give it one more chance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Four of us stayed for four nights and enjoyed the experience very much. Two sisters and their mother run this hotel and restaurant very efficiently. It is impeccably clean, situated near the sea and has a nice outdoor bar area with lovely overhanging lemon trees. Breakfast is a basic Continental but plenty of fresh bread and pastries. Could possibly do with a (chargeable maybe?) fresh fruit and juice option. All the staff are pleasant and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Extras like coffees in the lobby and drinks in the bar are comparable with (or even less than) most three star establishments in Sorrento. Safe and secure parking just one minute away for 15 euros for a 24 hour term and you can go in and out as many times as you want. I loved the wooden-shuttered windows as an option to a/c running all night. All-in-all nothing I could say in the negative apart from the distance from the centre of town, which is a 20 minute walk away...but that's the healthy option; isn't it? We will happily return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordCavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very relaxing family run hotel. All the family and staff where very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
The room was basic but very clean and tidy.
The restaurant food was good with good service.
As a 3 star I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.
Will be visiting again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

It is a very simple , modest and old designed hotel . The rooms are small and the shower is .
.adjusted for kids up to 10 years old . Breakfast is very basic and served in stinginess way .
The Wi Fisignal in the rooms was very week
so it was needed to connect in the lobby

Room Tip: no swimmingpool , but didn't succeed to cancel the mark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ben k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This family-run hotel on the outskirts of Sorrento is a friendly place to stay. Couldn't fault the staff and the room although basic, was adequate. The two real minuses were the amount of street noise and the distance from the centre of Sorrento. The street noise issue no-doubt varies by bedroom location. The local taxi drivers currently charge up to 20 Euros between the hotel and the town centre - which is extortionate and the only other alternative is a relatively boring 25 minute walk. There are no buses. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel and this serves good food albeit from a limited menu.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark_Bath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Crawford
Hotel Crawford
#16 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Margherita

Address: Via Crawford Marion 77, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £99 - £1,010 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Margherita Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing