We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a perfect location”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I am not a great one for writing reviews, but I thought it fair to counter some of the "negative" reviews I have seen here that are, in my view, grossly unfair. The hotel is perfectly placed for Sorrento, a 15 min walk down the back street. It's also away from the main road into Sorrento so is nice and quiet. All the staff are very friendly, just make an effort to talk to them. The food in the evening is of a good standard and is varied. The Gala and Pizza nights are very good. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. It is also worth noting that unlike some of the hotels around this area the A/C and pool beds are not at an extra charge, they are included in the price. The bar prices are the same as everywhere else which makes a nice change. All in all I would say ignore the negative reviews and stay here with confidence.
Thanks to everyone for making it a great week stay.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking to pool are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hojo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

We have just returned from a great week at the Hotel Florida. The hotel is bright and the staff are friendly and pleasant, offering good advice for excursions etc. The room I shared with my boyfriend was spacious, clean and light. The air-con is powerful (really needed it in the 35 degree heat) and works on a timer, though as soon as you turn it on the room cools down.

The hotel pool is great, I read previous reviews saying it was too cold, but it's actually at a perfect temperature and goes to a 3 metre depth. The shower by the pool is colder.

The food is of a good standard. You get a choice of starters and mains which you tick off the day before on a sheet. The tomato and basil pasta was lovely! Breakfast is the same mix of bread, cereal, croissants etc every day. We also had lunch one day in the hotel which was reasonably priced by the area's standard.

I really enjoyed the themed pizza night which is set outside among the orange and lemon trees. The staff let us make our own pizzas in the oven, Italian style! Another night was a 'gala dinner' by the pool. The staff went to great effort to produce these events which we appreciated. We also loved the hotel's resident dog Kim who lounges by the pool all day.

I'd advise visitors to watch out when walking from the hotel to the main road as the drivers take little notice of pedestrians!

Overall we had a great stay and I would recommend the hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have just returned from a great week at the Florida Hotel Alghero. The standard is a high 3 star, the food (4 courses) was varied and nicely cooked and the staff very attentive. The ensuite has been recently modernised and there was a spacious balcony with chairs and a table. Our only moan was that the doors shut very loudly however hard you try to close them quietly.

Room Tip: Side rooms are quieter but still have some sea view. Front rooms were apparently quite noisy with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at Hotel Florida. The atmosphere was lovely & the rooms are kept very clean. There is a great pool and a Lemon Grove where you can sit if it too hot & it is lovely in the evening. My daughter was getting married in Sorrento whilst we were there and the hotel was very accommodating with the number of our guests coming and going. Food was very good with choice of menu. I really must say that the staff were so friendly and helpful to us during our stay. Michelle was especially helpful when we needed directions to a place we wanted to visit which was off the beaten track. Bepe made us laugh every day. Last but not least, Kimberley the dog was very entertaining - waiting for water at the tap until a guest turned it on for her! Great time had by all & can't wait to go back one day.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Lemon Grove are very quiet & very shady which is great if the weather is very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamond936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Small basic, very clean family run hotel. We had a lovely room, with large balcony overlooking pool. Staff friendly and accommodating. Ideally situated for sight seeing, only a 15 minute walk into Sorrento all on the flat. Not like other hotels who had steep roads to negotiate or shuttle buses. Only a 10 minute walk in the evening to the Marinella marina, to take in the fantastic views of Vesuvius. The only thing we would have like was to have had a more traditional Italian menu at the evening meal i.e. no chips. Don't get me wrong the food was good and plentiful, the gala evening by the pool was excellent as was the pizza evening in the lemon grove. The only disappointing part of our stay, was that the other evenings could have had a more Italian menu.
If we ever plan a visit to Sorrento in the future we would book this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool or lemon grove
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Ok so the few plus points to start - Rooms kept clean,nice food avialable lunchtime when paying for it.

As for the rest ,well the 3 stars it gets are generous,if you are unlucky enough to get one of the pre-fab pretend rooms at the rear as we did then you will find them sparce with old delapidated furnishings and no shelves in the bathroom to put anything. The Air Con/Heating didnt work at all and on one day we returned to find rubble and plaster all over the floor where someone had been in messing with it !!!! The Staff on the whole were miserable and the manager wants to take a course in customer care,we asked the rep on day 2 to change rooms,she said no problem but the management refused to help and we got no joy. The Food in the evening is bland and tasteless and you are forced to share a table about 1 metre square with others !!
If your going to Sorrento then do yourself a favour and add a star then look elsewhere !!!!!!!
Oh and the pool was bloody freezing !!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tc2012186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Hotel Florida is a small hotel within walking distance to the square and close to two train stations so easy to get around. I did not find the staff to be overly friendly or helpful. The first night they refused to help us out with turning the air conditioning on. The next day they fixed it and we were told that they didn't know we had paid to have air, it worked very well then and the room was quite cool. The pool was nice and the cafe near has nice basic food. I got to breakfast at 2 past 9 and was told in broken English- 'No Food.' As the man wheeled away a cart with stale looking bread, corn flakes and spoons.

We got what we paid for as the room rate was reasonable however I would have liked a bit more in regard to customer service.

Room Tip: just make sure if you want air conditioning that you make it clear upon check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mle_webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club Sorrento
Hotel Club Sorrento
#14 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
590 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: vico Primo Rota, 3, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £64 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Florida, with familiar conduction from three generation, is a charming resort surrounded by a traditional lemon and orange garden, located in a pleasant and calm residential area of Sorrento.The Hotel Florida is the ideal place to spend a quite holiday, the green citrus groves and the panoramas of the Sorrento Coast, the gastronomic specialities or the fantastic walks and excursion will make your stay in the Earth of the Sirens' land unforgettable.Sorrento historical center is 20 minutes walking distance. Within 300 metres away there is a typical Sorrentine beach "La Marinella" and a splendid terrace overlooking the sea. Here a charming scene is opened thanks to which it is possible to admire the bay of Sorrento, the entire Gulf of Naples and the Vesuvius. The shopping area of Sorrento or S.Agnello it is only ten minutes on foot.The Hotel Florida has its private swimming pool with wide solarium (free sunbeds), snack and cocktail bar, wide garden area. Private parking.Rooms are classically decorated, and offer free Wi-Fi. Each comes with a satellite TV, a work desk and an en suite bathroom. All the rooms have a balcony, with views of the garden or of the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Florida Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing