We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel lovely just so noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Pergola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Pergola
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
essex u.k
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hotel lovely just so noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

just come back from staying at the hotel la pergola booked it as it was a small hotel . hotel is lovely, rooms all clean and tidy ,staff are brillant, food lovely, but the only problem is the noise stayed at the back of the hotel but had a room above the kitchen that was o.k. but went out onto the balcony and right by us was a car hire car park so we had noise from that allday and night also behind that was a chicken farm so had a rooster going all the time so didn,t get any sleep for a week couldn,t really sit out on the balcony, a load of people asked to change rooms but wasn,t any better on the front i,ve stayed in the town of sorrento before and haven,t had that much noise in a hotel also the pool area for sunbathing was small ,the pool was lovely though.and they have a big area on the roof for sunbathing word of warning the safe is expensive each night also if you want air conditioning its 10 euros a night in june . also the day trips you can do cheaper by train the station 10 mins walk away ,also the port for capri 30 euros there and back by ferry if you want a good value for money hotel stay here if you want a bit of peace don,t wouldn,t stay in this one again

Room Tip: wherever you are you will get noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolEssexU_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    106
    54
    26
    31
See reviews for
62
165
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

The head waiter,the chef and his staff were very helpful with regard to providing appetising food in view of my special requirements. Nothing was too much trouble. The bedroom was clean and comfortable, towels changed daily, the balcony useful and the sun roof had a wonderful view of Vesuvius. Walking into Sorrento or Sant'Agnello for the train or for other services was not arduous. Quiz night answer sheets were confusing,use the back of the paper for clearer responses!

Room Tip: Ground floor, no views, front of hotel better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georginamartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

We stayed here for two nights during a fourteen-night (seven-hotel) trip.

As other reviews suggest, there are some pros and cons to this place, but overall, it was one of our favorite places during our stay in Italy. We found it an excellent value for money - much less than most hotels we stayed at - with many amenities we wouldn't have dreamed of in other locations. The major downside was the location, which (as you can see from the map) is a ways from the train station and even further from the marina.

I thought we'd be coming in by train and figured we could manage the 1.5 km walk from the station, but (with trains blocked due to a protest) we ended up taking a boat from Naples. Don't even think about trying to walk from the marina. We took a cab (about E18), but there are city buses that run from there past the hotel. Once there, though, we didn't find the location to be a problem - it was a pleasant walk to the centre when you didn't have suitcases to drag.

Given its distance from the centre, we might have expected it to be quieter, but it's not the countryside and (as at least one other reviewer mentioned) there is a busy parking lot/limo service next door that caused some extra noise. We always bring earplugs with us, so we were fine, in the end.

The hotel is very cute, with an outdoor swimming pool, bar (with a live music act one night), patio, and roof deck with open and shaded seating. We found virtually none of these perqs at other, more urban (and expensive) hotels.

The staff were all quite friendly - some extremely so. Some spoke very good English, but others only marginal.

We had a very nice room with a comfy bed (though, as usual, two single mattresses side-by-side rather than a true queen). It even had a balcony (facing the mountains, not the sea, for this price - though we wouldn't be able to see the water from here anyway).

We were glad to have breakfast in the hotel. It was certainly nothing special, but convenient, since there aren't many cafes around like in the big cities.

We will definitely be back to Sorrento, and will certainly consider La Pergola again.

Room Tip: Sounds like you should avoid the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonManikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

The hotel is quaint, roof sun terrance has amazing veiws but the pool to cool off is situated 3 floors down which proved to be a big headache!!! The rooms are ok but the showers are tiny!

The food was ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING, CHEAP PRODUCE USED AT ALL TIMES!!!!
If your going here to get an authentic taste of Italy - DONT!!!!
Its a 30 minute extremely hazardous walk to the centre of Sorrento, due to the heavy fast speeding traffic and the pavement ending abrubtly.
The hotel is very expensive as charges the same prices for drinks that u would get charged for sitting in the Sorrento square

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bakebow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sant'Agnello hotels

Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Recently travelled to Sorrent and stayed in the La Pergola Hotel, in St. Agnello, which is about a 15-20 min walk from the square in Sorrento.
The quality of service and cleanliness was second to none. The room (we booked one with a very small balcony) was very clean I must say, beds were changed every day and the service was impeccable. I really have only two complaints, one would be be the noisiness of the area, right near a cut through and by a mini bus rental site, which seemed to be in operation from about 6.30 until 11.00! Also I think the hotel management need to rethink the location of the drinks area at breakfast, stuck in an alcove by the stairs it was very cramped to get coffee and juices in the morning when the hotel was busy. But other than that it was great. I would just like to thank the staff who were unfailingly helpful all week and especially Rafaella (the catering manager?) who despite being short staffed managed to keep cheerful and friendly. The food was good and reasonably varied, but I felt that the chef had been asked to make it a little bland for tourists palates.....Shame! A couple of tips, when walking outside the hotel you need eyes in the back of your head, the standard of driving there is appalling, and some of the pavements are very narrow.On another note if you do wish to go to Pompei, Herculaneum or Naples I would recommend the railways, very cheap, I think its was about 2 Euros each way or something and the station for Pompei is right outside, to see Pompei properly you need at least 6 hours, you may find the tour groups don't allow that much time. Herculaneum can be explored in about 3 hours or 2 if you hurry! Although i would recommend the maximum time at each site to soak up the atmosphere and antiquity. I gather there are other ancient sites in the area that may be worth a visit, although we didn't have time to see them. All I can sya about Sorrento is that is a tourist trap, but the narrow streets are charming, to get away from the worst of the cruise ship crowds try the Grand Harbour at the other end of town, there are some good restaurants there, I can recommend Delphino's, and I hear Emilio's is very good. So all in all the La Pergola Hotel and that part of the world are well worth a visit
but above all, allow yourself plenty of time to fully appreciate the 2000 year old once working city that was Pompei.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sprint98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

This was our third visit to La Pergola and it just gets better and better each time. The chef is amazing and there's so much variety with the food. The staff are so friendly and helpful, they can't do enough to help. They have 2 special evenings each week, the one on a Thursday is out in the garden and it's a help-yourself buffet, once again the food is fantastic. We have stayed in several hotels in Sorrento over the years and this hotel is the best I have ever stayed in by far, and that includes the Parco Del Sole and the Cappodimonte.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank choctruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

This hotel was very disappointing. It's location in Sant Agnello is along an extremely busy road which is a 20 minute walk outside of Sorrento. Our room was tiny on the ground floor and was very hot and airless. It had no balcony, and the bathroom was extremely small. When we compared notes with other guests we found some that had asked to be moved from similar rooms only to be told that it would cost an extra £100. The rooms had no safes and air conditioning cost extra too. Other guests seem to have acquired better rooms with balconies for no extra cost - it was pot luck.

The food was bland and very disappointing, and the dining room was sited in the basement with no windows or views. The last evening we dined in the garden bar outside, which was far more pleasant and we couldn't undertand why this wasn't done
every evening. The bar prices were expensive and were just as expensive as smarter restaurants and bars in Sorrento and they even charged 3 euros for a litre of water to have with meals! We decided not to eat there on a couple of nights, so that we could try more traditional Italian cooking. We found out on our last day that other guests were offered packed lunches when they missed evening meals, which we were not offered.

The swimming pool was very small with very little room for sunbathing. There was a very pleasant solarium on the roof but if you wanted to cool off in the pool then it meant getting the lift down to the ground floor in your bathing costume and then dragging yourself back upstairs in your dripping costume to the sunbeds again!

Although the staff are very pleasant and friendly, the hotel does insist that any drinks or snacks are paid for at the end of the week. We did ask if we could pay as we went along, therefore making it easier to budget and keep track of purchases, but we were not allowed to. Even though we kept all of our receipts we did find that there was a discrepancy at the end of the week between what the hotel said we owed them, and the total our receipts came to. This would have been avoided if we could have paid as we went along.

A week in Sorrento with all the sightseeing involved can be quite tiring in the heat, and the poor standard of accomodation in this hotel made it very difficult to have a good nights sleep. We came home from this holiday quite exhausted.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianeehlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.0 mi away
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#19 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
3.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#8 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#79 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
10.2 mi away
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Hotel
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pergola

Property: Hotel La Pergola
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 13, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pergola 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Sorrento
Hotel La Pergola Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing