We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Pergola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Pergola
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
long island, ny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

I started off getting ready to write this review and read grex9101's review. He reiterated all of my husband's and my complaints. However, I have a few additional ones. We found some of the members of the staff to be less than helpful. When we asked if we could get extra towels for the beach or pool, we were point blank told "no" and to use our bath towels. I don't know about you, but I really prefer to use a clean towel after the beach. Especially when I am paying for it. I requested someone to come up and look at the television to make sure it was working (I was having difficulty with it). I was told someone would check it "tomorrow". I'm still waiting. When we went to check out, we gave the clerk our credit card (as we had spent the majority of our euros before returning to the states) and were promptly informed that we HAD to pay the tax part of our final bill in cash. We were never told this when we checked in or the night before when we asked them to have our bill ready in the morning since we had an early flight. We managed to scrape together enough cash to work it out. We also found the location to be difficult. There were not too many good restaurants near the hotel, so we walked to and from Sorrento each night for dinner. However the 25 minute walk down the insane road was good for the waistline! We did not have a package that included dinner - thank goodness!! Especially if the breakfast, which was atrocious, was an example of the what the dinner was like! They served coffee that that tasted like watered down coffee. Some guests resorted to ordering espresso or cappuccino from the bar at extra expense. We were in Italy for crying out loud! The Italians are known for their coffee! Walking around you noticed oranges literally falling off the trees. So how come we were served what tasted like water with a dash of orange juice for breakfast? They even ruined eggs! There was never any servers in the cellar/dining room in case you needed anything. This didn't even come close to any of the other places we stayed. The rooms didn't even have refrigerators in which to keep a bottle of water cool. And then they even had the nerve to charge a euro for a glass of ice! When we asked the people at the desk for recommendations for good restaurants, they kept pushing one that the owner of the hotel owned. After experiencing the breakfast, I wouldn't eat in their other restaurant if it was the last place in Sorrento! We ended a four city Italian vacation here and this hotel was truly a disappointment. We also read reviews and disregarded the one or two people that were dissatisfied. A huge mistake. This was the trip of a lifetime for us. Thank goodness the other hotels were a pleasure to stay in. All of the additional charges were just short of extortion! When we stayed, the weather was ridiculously hot and to charge for a/c?!?!?!?!? What are they thinking. We were fortunate enough to be on the pool side of the hotel so we didn't experience the problems grex had with the car park side. However, we did see this side and I absolutely believe this was his experience. You also couldn't lock the doors from within the rooms without using the key in the door and locking it from inside. One day I didn't do that and actually had a stranger walk into my room while I was drying my hair!! A simple dead bolt on the inside would solve this problem. The hotel brochure said the hotel had been renovated within the past few years ~ well, I wouldn't hire that person to renovate my garage!!! The pool itself was nice, but as grex stated, there were no lounge chairs to sit around the pool in - probably because the patio area was so small! The shower stalls were so small that if you turned the wrong way, you would be scalded because you would hit the water control inadvertently. We were not the only guests with this complaint. My husband and I are not obese or big people, I don't know how anyone who is large could fit into these showers! Anyone considering staying here should think twice about spending a few more dollars (or euros) and staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    106
    54
    26
    31
See reviews for
62
165
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Before we start, a small caveat; Sorrento is expensive, everyone already knows this. This place goes above and beyond even that.

For transparency and honesty, I stayed here in room 212 from 19th-29th June 2012.

So, reading this review, you're probably considering the Hotel La Pergola. My advice? Don't. Here's why:

The prices they charge are a total rip-off. Some examples: €5 for a "large beer" (400ml), €3 for a "large" water (900ml), €2.50 for a coke/sprite etc. These are prices I'd expect to pay in 4 or 5 star in the UK, not a small independent hotel in Italy. On the subject of the water, the bottles would always mysteriously come to your table already opened, no cap in sight. A less charitable person may suspect that these larger glass bottles were simply tap-filled rather than freshly opened each time they were ordered. I certainly wouldn't put it past this place.

But it gets worse - €10/day for air conditioning (I guess that's why it's called air-CON!) and €4.50/day to use the in-room safe! (I kid you not). I will be taking this up with Thomas Cook, as although admittedly they do advise there is a charge for these; they do not even attempt to tell you exactly how much. The rep wasn’t interested, saying basically "yeah, it is expensive here". We were staying here for 10 days, so were looking at €145 extra just for these two things. Interestingly, we met someone who was staying at a 4* elsewhere who told us that 4* hotels tend to include these things, certainly hers did. Well worth simply booking a 4* in the first place.

The next thing that REALLY annoyed me was the surcharge for the balcony. Over £60 more to get a balcony which barely fitted a table and two chairs overlooking a car park? It seems pot-luck whether you get the poolside or the car park, and the hotel will NOT move you. If you get the car-park side, tough! £60+ to be woken at night by drunken Italians crashing their cars into each other (really!) and wheelspinning at 2 in the morning. Great.

Then, there's the food... I can only imagine that the other reviewers who said the food was good here simply left their taste buds at home. Perhaps it's an over-romanticised view of Italy, but you expect things like spaghetti, lasagne, cannelloni etc. etc., right? Well, you may get (some of) these once over the course of your stay, but there's no flair. Not even any garlic! The rest of the menus are pitiful. If you don't like fish, or poultry, forget it. One night I even had a plain omelette with a jacket potato as the available choices were so poor. Ended up getting a takeaway pizza later on I was so hungry! That's not to say the food is bad per se, it's merely...competent. Do you really want to be eating merely competent food on a holiday you've been looking forward to all year for?

On the subject of food, all food (except the weekly "party" nights) is served in the basement restaurant. No windows, just a basement. To make matters worse, if you're unfortunate enough to be one of the tables in the middle, you'll be lumbered with another couple sitting beside you. For the duration of your (or their holiday) (oh, forgot to say a big HI! to barely audible woman and Nigel Mansell husband lookalike, and hello also to thicko Spurs fan (it's grazie, not gracias you utter moron). You get the point; you wouldn't sit next to these people through choice, why the hell should you on a holiday that YOU have paid for? The service is patchy, the maître d (best way I can describe him) is clearly the captain of the ship and runs the place well, when he takes a night off the service changes from competent to something akin to a 70s sitcom. It's so poor it's funny. To round things off, the breakfasts are poor. I ended up eating cheese rolls for breakfast the whole time.

The pool is also a let-down. For your "lazy days", do you like stretching out and lazing by the pool? Forget it. No sun loungers. Where are the sun loungers? On the third floor, of course! It seems it's been a space consideration, but it's stupid. They have chairs pool-side, but you'll not get an all-over tan using these. It's just another disappointment about this place.

Location? Again, poor. You're a good 15mins walk to the nearest supermarket (basically in Sant Agnello). 25 mins walk into Sorrento centre itself, along a crazy busy road, and I'm no slouch. There is a bar/shop about 3 minutes outside the hotel where you can get beers/water etc., while it's still expensive €1.50 coke €2 small can of Peroni, it's still cheaper than the rip off hotel. If you're doing the "bring your own" thing, the hotel will provide ice, at a charge of course! €1 per small glass.

The rooms are ok, if a bit small. Perfectly clean as well, with towels changed pretty much every day. The shower cubicle is tiny. I just left the doors open, not my problem if the place gets flooded. Tough! Apart from that and the aforementioned small balcony, I really couldn't fault the rooms themselves.

I feel a bit guilty about the one star I have given this hotel. Why? The staff were, in general, great. Very helpful and courteous. It's just a pity their skills are not put to better use in a hotel that actually deserves them.

If all the above sounds a bit negative, well, it is! Like you, I read a LOT of reviews on this place and chose to ignore the 1* and 2* ones as the majority of reviews were positive. I wish now I had paid more attention to the poor reviews. Don't give these people your hard earned money, if you must go to Sorrento, spend an extra £100/£200 and get a decent 4* hotel closer to the centre. I guarantee you, the food and location will be better and you'll not be stung for all the "extras" like aircon and a safe that the con artists at Hotel La Pergola will rip you off for.

Choose anywhere but here, you can thank me later.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grex9101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sant'Agnello hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I stayed here last week with my younger brother, the hotel was perfect for us. It is in a lovely quiet location, about 25 minute walk into the centre of Sorrento if you take the scenic route. We walked this everyday and the views along the way are stunning. The train station is in easy reach and this is perfect for reaching Pompei, Herculaneum etc

The food at the hotel was excellent, a good variety and something different every night. At breakfast you get the menu for the evening and can choose your meal. This makes a real difference as its all cooked to order instead of the usual buffet style. Raphael in the dining room was brilliant, one night Jake didn't like the menu and he spoke to the chef for us and arranged something else for him to have without any fuss. On thursday night there is a gala meal outside which is lovely and was a perfect end to our holiday.

The staff are fantastic, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble, Guseppe is very funny - a real character!

The roof terrace is lovely, a little sun trap and perfect for topping up your tan in beautiful surroundings! The views are stunning.

Pompei is well worth a visit (11 euro entry for adults and free for kids) but it gets really hot there so take a hat and lots of water! The amalfi drive tour was lovely, you visit Ravello which is full of charm and take a boat trip round the amalfi coast which is breathtaking.

I had an excellent holiday and fell in love with Italy, I will definately go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front as there is a cockerill out the back which can be a little noisy, also i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleC744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Small rooms but very large welcome!
The staff here were welcoming and helpful in cluding guseppe on reception who was understanding when my grumpy tired husband complained about the size of the room!
all the staff were friendly and helpful and Raphael and his dining room staff were more than willing to accommodate dietary requirements with a smile and a cheery good morning! only wish Italy could,ve won the football for them!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jalamidj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Sorrento. this hotel well surpassed our expectations. The food was varied with every night a different menu (always Italian in origin) and served by the excellent head waiter Raphael and Waitress Dina. The atmosphere was always relaxed and Raphael made a point each evening to ensure we were enjoying our stay. The rooms were basically furnished but the bed was comfortable and shower was good and the towels changed every morning. Our room had a small balcony and although it overlooked the car park, you soon forgot this with the other fabulous views around you. The sun terrace was wonderful and there is an area where it is shaded for those who are not able to cope with the heat. We travelled with Thomas Cook and our rep Claire was helpful, knowlegeable and offered on a couple of occasions to go out of her way to show us places that we had been unable find in sorrento. The hotel is a 20 minute easy stroll into Sorrento and there is a peaceful scenic route or a busier route via the main road. The train station is also not too fr away. Although this hotel is only rated 3 stars, the service and quality offered should push it to 4 stars.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Avadaisybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Nice hotel with all the basics needed. Showers and balconies tiny though! What the hotel lacked in facilities was more than made up for by the staff - incredibly friendly and hard-working. The sun terrace on the roof was beautiful with far-reaching views, and the pool was great for cooling off, although was very cold. We didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel as there is so much to do around the area. Travelled with Thomas Cook and would recommend their trips, especially the Pompeii and Vesuvius excursion - what our guide Christine didn't know about the local history wasn't worth knowing! Our rep Claire was great - very professional and helpful. Sorrento itself is lovely, though very busy and as the hotel was based on the outskirts, we didn't get the usual holiday-makers' noise. Yes, there is a noisy cockerel and a carpark at the back of the hotel, but we were so tired from all our sight-seeing that neither disturbed our sleep! An ideal base, with reasonable food - the pasta is definitely the best thing on the menu.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MumClaireG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

what a fantastic little hotel, i've just come back from spending a week here with my son and the staff (Giuseppe, peppe, Alyssa, Vincenzo, Dina and rafaelo sorry if i missed anyone) could not be more helpful and did everything to make sure we enjoyed our holiday thank you too them all we didn't want too come home. rooms were comfortable and cleaned everyday i was on the 2nd floor room 210 and the view from the balcony was stunning, one floor up is the solarium with a gorgeous view of Vesuvius and the mountains. the food was lovely with a choice from 3 different starters, main meals and dessert if anyone didn't fancy what was on the menu rafaelo (head waiter) would be happy to sort something else, the location was perfect 10-15 min walk to the center of sant'agnello or sorrento so just outside the hustle of the very busy main roads, train station to Pompeii, Vesuvius, Herculaneum and Naples was aslo just 10-15 min walk from the hotel.

all in all a perfect trip, we will be booking again for next year,
THANKS TO EVERYONE AT THE LA PERGOLA FOR AN AMAZING HOLIDAY
from lisa and konnor XXXXXXXX

Room Tip: rooms on the 2nd floor with balcony's have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisaandkonnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.0 mi away
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#19 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
3.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#8 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#78 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
10.2 mi away
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pergola

Property: Hotel La Pergola
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 13, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pergola 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Sorrento
Hotel La Pergola Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing