We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, excellent service, stunning location.”
Review of Hotel La Pergola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Pergola
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value, excellent service, stunning location.”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at La Pergola. Our room was small but clean and decor was nice and modern. Shower was very small. Rooms were cleaned and towels freshened daily. We stayed on a half board basis. Breakfast consisted of a continental selection which was basic but nice. Dinners were the same. There is a choice of 3 starters and main courses but staff were very flexible in accommodating my specific needs. Special evenings such as 'romantic evening' and 'romantic buffet' were held twice a week where choice was limited. However with our half board option we could dine at the excellent Cafe Latino in Sorrento town centre at no extra cost. The food here was excellent and the garden surroundings beautiful. La Pergola has a pool with sun loungers surrounded by orange and lemon trees which shaded the pool area from the sun. You can also sunbathe on the roof. There is a drinks and snacks menu available in either place as well as the garden bar at the front of the hotel. Drinks were reasonably priced. I would recommend the Piña Colada cocktail, best I have tasted. It is the staff at this hotel who make it special. All were helpful and welcoming and took an interest in their guests. We paid a very reasonable price for this holiday in this stunning part of Italy and what the hotel offered exceeded out expectations. Others who have complained should remember that this is a 3* hotel and you definitely get more than what you pay for. Some people also complained about having to pay extra for air conditioning in the rooms however we were aware that this was the case before we arrived and happily paid the 50 euros for the week. It was well worth it, very powerful air conditioning and scorching weather demanded it. Would definitely recommend and return to La Pergola.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    107
    56
    28
    32
See reviews for
65
170
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at the Pergola for a week mid-May. The room was ok as said in most reviews basic but kept very clean. Towels were changed every day. The safe was quite expensive and we didn't need the air conditioning as the weather was very changeable. Our room was number 11 which was right next to reception which was very noisy. Every morning at 6am a member of staff, probably maintenance came in chatting away and of course woke us up. Not what we expected on holiday !. The breakfast was very boring and the bread and eggs were always hard as had been left out for a while. The worst day for food was the neopolitan night. We were looking forward to pizza as it was a set meal. What we got was hard bruschetta, a tasteless salad with far too much cheese and a pizza that had been warmed up which was soggy in the middle and hard around the edge. I think this night should definitely be missed and you should go out instead. One consolation was we met some very nice people and because the hotel was so expensive for drinks we found a nice cheap bar to drink in. Smiffys of PB

Room Tip: Not room 11 and rooms at the back of the hotel had a horrible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Pergola for a week (27/06/2013-02/07/2013) first off the rooms are basic, we had a large room that had twin beds (pushed together) a large sofa and chair with a balcony (We paid extra for that), the balcony is not massive but two of you can sit outside on the chairs provided. The rooms were cleaned and linen changed daily and the chamber maids did an excellent job and were very friendly. Be aware the safe that is in the room is small, it will fit an iPad at a push but not a lot else, it is €4.5 per day though and A/C is extra too (We did not pay for it as found the room cool enough)
Overall the staff were welcoming and friendly, we had an issue with the safe when we moved our stuff in and this was fixed as immediately as it could have been done, Giuseppe and Vincenzo are particularly friendly towards the guests and they made us very welcome.
If you are expecting a buffet for dinner do not, you get given a menu at breakfast and there is three choices of a starter, main and a dessert, so if you a fussy eater like I am, you may struggle. However Rafaelle, the head waiter assured me to tell him of any particular requirements and they would try to meet that, I decided not too and tried most of what was on offer, there is no chips or pizza at this hotel. A bottle of water is €3 and Coca-Cola is a similar price, you get a receipt which you sign and then you pay at the end of your stay. You also have the option to eat in the 'Cafe Latino' in town which is off the main street in Sorrento, this is a nice change but you have to eat there between 6-7:30 pm, Men are asked to wear trouser to dinner so pack some of those if you're having dinner at the hotel, its not so much minded at Cafe Latino. Breakfast is basic, bread,cakes and fruit with the additional eggs/ham etc
The hotel is in an ideal location, it is a fifteen minute to Sorrento and its a nice walk into town, to go to Pompeii etc we used the Circumvensia train which the station is in Sorrento. I didn't find the hotel noisy and our room was on the front, it is a small hotel. The pool is small but it is enough for a swim and the rooftop terrace is a nice addition, we had no issues finding any sun beds ever.
There is a city tax of €1 a night, if you stay over a week you only pay for a week. The morning we left we got offered a breakfast box to take with us to the airport which was nice, all in all it is a small friendly hotel, fussy eaters may struggle though so be aware of this before you go, We would happily stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Comfortable hotel. Staff was outstanding! Everyone was very helpful including agreeing to allow us to staore our luggage during our day-long trip along the Amalfi Coast. Rooms were plain but comfortable with plenty of room and the A/C (pay the extra in the summer) was COLD. Breakfast was basic and was good. We drove up from Sicily so had already beed on the road for many hours. The address was not located in our GPS and the address for the hotel in the GPS took us to the top of the mountain. Make sure you get specific directions from the center of Sorrento if you're driving.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2013

La pergola is a lovely small hotel with lovely staff and very good food. However, if you are unfortunate enough to be allocated a room at the back of the hotel be prepared to expect a lot of noise late at night and very early in the morning. You should also be aware that it will cost you 4.5 euros per night for a safe and a whopping 8 euros per night for air conditioning which is necessary as the rooms can become very hot. We did, nevertheless, have a lovely holiday despite the lack of sleep as the staff were all lovely.

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel are quieter and have bigger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have just come back from a week at La Pergola and. thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel itself is A 3star but the food and staff are great. I cannot eat wheat and they provided me and 2 other guests with such excellent gluten free food we all said we felt spoilt. You can also use the Cafe Lattino restaurant in Sorrento with your half board option. The rooms are small and basic but very clean and the staff are the best, nothing is too much trouble and they do like a laugh with guests. I can understand why people return. It takes about 20 mins to walk to the centre of Sorrento or 10mins to St Agnello beach . The train is cheap and easy to use to get to Pompeii and Naples. Overall we had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Quieter NOT on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choc-o-shopaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

As the title says, La Pergola is a comfortable small hotel with top class staff - and I mean top class - so friendly and efficient right down to the lovely cleaners. Our room was a reasonable size with a very small balcony and kept spotlessly clean with regular linen changes. The bathroom was also a reasonable size but as has been pointed out many times, quite a small shower cubicle, however, not as bad as I was expecting! On the plus side there was always plenty of hot water available and fresh towels every day. Should you be luckier with the weather than we were, the rooftop terrace is a great place to sunbathe and take in the views. The only disappointment for us (apart from the weather!) was the evening food. Breakfasts were as expected and quite adequete for our needs although it's true about the awful coffee and fruit juice! We were expecting great things from the evening meal given the numerous previous comments. Don't get me wrong, they weren't bad just not as wonderful as we were anticipating having read the reviews. The starters were best, especially the pasta dishes although they were a bit on the tepid side. The special Neapolitan evening is actually Chef's night off so is basically just a salad, pizza and slice of cake which was disappointing. If you are staying more than a week, the menu does tend to get repeated. We did actually meet the Chef, a very pleasant young man so perhaps he is new this year? Drinks are a reasonable price and half litre of house wine at 6 Euros is quite drinkable! All in all a very enjoyable stay and we would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crayfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#10 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#19 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Hotel
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,092 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pergola

Property: Hotel La Pergola
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 13, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pergola 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Sorrento
Hotel La Pergola Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing