We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”
Review of Hotel La Pergola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Pergola
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My 14 year old daughter and I have just returned from spending two enjoyable weeks at this hotel. We mainly used it as a base for exploring the area. It's a good 25 minute walk into Sorrento (Quicker if you walk along the main road, but feels a lot less safe!) But that distance is reflected in the price. The closest train station is in Sant'Agnello, about a ten minute walk.

The Good -
The solarium was lovely. Very quiet and peaceful.
You could choose to have meals in their garden cafe in Sorrento, which was excellent.
While breakfast was decidedly basic, dinners were generally good but odd - a15inch pizza each for a starter, cafe Latino? - we both felt guilty at not being able to eat much of the main courses.
The staff were all pleasant and the service provided was excellent, especially in the restaurant.
The pool was small but very nice.

The Bad -
There was some patches of mould in the shower and quite a lot of lime scale in the showerhead.
On a couple of days we had ants inside.
The towels smelt weird, which I presumed was ant-killer.
The menu's were a little dirty, which was a real shame.

The Ugly -
The walls were incredibly thin and the plumbing horrendously noisey. I lost count of the times we were woken by someone flushing the loo in the room above.
There was a lot of noise from the car park behind the hotel.
Our ground floor room was off reception, where much talking and laughing could be heard late at night as well as in the early morning.

In fairness, the second week was a little quieter, but I don't know if that's because we were so sleep deprived at that point that we would have slept through Vesuvius erupting or if things really had improved.

However, I do think this hotel offers good vaue for money and would recommend it to anyone looking for a suitable base from which to enjoy the area, with the suggestion that they book a top floor room where you'd stand a better chance of having a decent nights sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShipwreckedFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

The staff tried but not as advertised not all rooms have a balcony. Cafe closed at 8:30 pm. Room tired and mold in shower. Needs renovations now! There is no way to get to the city center except a long hot walk or $15 can ride.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLOCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from hotel la pergola, St Agnello.
It was myself and my teenage daughter, I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, always approachable and very informed about the area. The food options were nice and where there was something my daughter didn't like they were more than happy to find an alternative, Lucy the local rep was fun, friendly and an absolute riot, always around to help, the rooms were cleaned regularly and although basic were well equipt, we were lucky to have a room at the front of the hotel with one of the bigger balconies so could sit out and relax quite easily, we did have a few smaller children running around being noisy when they arrived but the hotel sorted out the noise level quickly. So no complaints, all in all we had a very lovely stay. Will definitely be back :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

After booking this hotel we then read the reviews wish we had read them first, we had booked this hotel for our 30th wedding anniversary. We arrived the room we were given was disappointing very basic , a bed , wardrobe that was small bed side cabinets small mirror above small table. The view was overlooking a car park that was used all day n night noisy! We did talk to the rep when we met the next day and they did offer us another room overlooking the pool, it was better view but still very noisy with traffic,also in the early morning there was a lot of talking, and the entertainment from the hotel opposite. The meals were basic breakfast , eveni g meals were quite strange at times the first evening meal we had was carbonara for the starter which was a huge amount if you left anything there was always a what's wrong with it from the waiter,!the main course was baked chicken,with about six odd looking chips covered in a crumb and half a plate of sliced carrots, desert was a chocolate gateau, that strangely appeared on the breakfast table the next morning. This hotel was clean, the hotel,has no atmosphere at all you didn't feel as though you were on holiday, there is no entertainment there was even xmas songs being played in dining room one day all be it in italian.The pool was clean the seating is very uncomfortable type deck chairs. You have to pay for air con ten euros per day plus you have to pay tourist tax one euro per day take all these extras into your price, you will have to buy even water cos there are no tea making facilities in your room either. Overall this is a hotel you would probably use as a stop over if you aretravelling around a week was more than enough which is a shame . Don't bother with half board. We really are not the sort of people to be over fussy or go to the trouble of writing a review, but we wish we had all the facts .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have just returned from ten wonderful days at La Pergola. It is a small, friendly and typically Italian hotel offering superb value for money. Orange and lemon trees abound in the garden where small lizards scuttle about seeking breakfast ! The pool is small but adequate to cool off in and the rooms are not luxurious but entirely adequate. It is a 15 - 20 minute stroll to the centre of Sorrento which was much busier than when we first visited 30 years ago ! The roof terrace is great with views of Vesuvius. But what really makes La Pergola is the staff - they can't do enough to make you welcome and to help with any issues. They were truly wonderful.

Room Tip: Room 108 seems to have the biggest balcony !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Booked 2 rooms with bath, got 2 tired rooms well in need of of some serious TLC only with a shower. Bathrooms awful, tiny dark and mouldy. You pay extra for everything - the aircon, the safe in the room etc. The pool looks good in the photo, well looks are deceiving - no more than 5-10 people can sit around it comfortably. No double bed just 2 single beds, mine was soft and like a hammock. It is a lot further out of the centre of Sorrento than it seems and you will have to use the bus service up the road or take a taxi into town. On the plus side the staff were generally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at La Pergola. Our room was small but clean and decor was nice and modern. Shower was very small. Rooms were cleaned and towels freshened daily. We stayed on a half board basis. Breakfast consisted of a continental selection which was basic but nice. Dinners were the same. There is a choice of 3 starters and main courses but staff were very flexible in accommodating my specific needs. Special evenings such as 'romantic evening' and 'romantic buffet' were held twice a week where choice was limited. However with our half board option we could dine at the excellent Cafe Latino in Sorrento town centre at no extra cost. The food here was excellent and the garden surroundings beautiful. La Pergola has a pool with sun loungers surrounded by orange and lemon trees which shaded the pool area from the sun. You can also sunbathe on the roof. There is a drinks and snacks menu available in either place as well as the garden bar at the front of the hotel. Drinks were reasonably priced. I would recommend the Piña Colada cocktail, best I have tasted. It is the staff at this hotel who make it special. All were helpful and welcoming and took an interest in their guests. We paid a very reasonable price for this holiday in this stunning part of Italy and what the hotel offered exceeded out expectations. Others who have complained should remember that this is a 3* hotel and you definitely get more than what you pay for. Some people also complained about having to pay extra for air conditioning in the rooms however we were aware that this was the case before we arrived and happily paid the 50 euros for the week. It was well worth it, very powerful air conditioning and scorching weather demanded it. Would definitely recommend and return to La Pergola.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant'Agnello hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Crawford
Hotel Crawford
#16 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club Sorrento
Hotel Club Sorrento
#14 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#19 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
317 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pergola

Address: Via Bernardino Rota 13, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £78 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pergola 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Sorrento
Hotel La Pergola Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing