We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for couples”
Review of Hotel La Pergola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Pergola
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
sussex england
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for couples”
Reviewed 24 October 2008

We were happy to book here following previous reviews and its all the good things they say ! Staff very friendly and helpful and food great, 3 choices offered at breakfast ( or option of personal taste ) and everything was very well cooked, presented and served with professionalism and good humour. Rooms kept very clean, fresh towels etc every day and bedding twice weekly.
Hotel is in quiet area just 15/20 mins waik from Sorrento centre or local bus for 1 euro. Take walkabout tour with rep for some good ideas around the town. Local red wine is very drinkable !
Train stops outside Pompeii entrance cost us less than 4 euro each, return (maybe Herculium might have been better option ? ). Local bus does Amalfi drive with hop on / hop off all day for about 8euro, beautiful area!

  • Liked — Staff helpful and friendly
  • Disliked — Pool location and temperature (cold )
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank oldgeezer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    107
    56
    28
    32
See reviews for
65
170
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We have just returned from a weeks stay at La Pergola and haven't got a bad word to say about it. It exceeded our expectations and for 60 euros per night half board (booked directly with the Hotel) a real bargain too.

Location
The Hotel is on a quite side street located between Sant Agnello and Sorrento. Yes, as others have said it is next to a college where kids are arriving between 8.30 & 9.00 but I disagree that the small amount of noise is a problem, we found quite the opposite, when the kids were arriving we knew it was time to get up. It's about a 10 minute walk from the Train Station at Sant Agnello and about a 15 minute walk into the centre of Sorrento (all flat roads), there are a few different routes so you can mix it up a bit. It's also on a bus route into Sorrento but we didn't use this as we prefered taking in the surroundings on the walk into town. You can also easily continue up the side street to the main road (Corsa Italia) where you can catch the main A line bus to Meta which has some wonderful beaches, just get off at the last stop.

Rooms
The room we had was on the 2nd floor at the front and had french doors leading out onto a balcony with views over roof tops to the bay and Vesuvius, the rooms at the rear had views to the hills and the greenery of the many lemon trees. The rooms have everything you need (apart from a safe but you can use the one in reception for a small charge), were cleaned every day and always had fresh towels. Yes the double beds were two singles pushed together but this is no different to anywhere else we have stayed in Italy.

Staff
All fantastic and helpful, they all spoke excellent Excellent English but were quite happy to help you along if you tried to give your Italian a go. A special mention for Enzo who was great.

Food
The food was excellent. Breakfast was the standard continental rolls, jam, cheese, cereal etc which was fine. There were always at least 3 choices of each starter and main in the evening and always one if not 2 vegetarian options. However, if you still didn't fancy anything or wanted a meal adapting slightly they were more than happy to make adjustments. You could also opt not to take dinner in the hotel on a day by day basis.

Hotel
We sat out for drinks on the patio every night under the fairy lights and orange trees and it was a really relaxing atmosphere, there is also a bar area inside if it gets a bit chilly on the patio. There is a roof terrace for sunbathing/afternoon snacks with wonderful views and a small swimming pool. All your extras, drinks, snacks etc etc were put on a room tab and you just settled this at the end of the holiday.

All in, excellent hotel and fantastic value for money

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonnylasvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2008

just come back from a weeks stay at the la pergola hotel. we found the staff friendly and very helpful. The food was excellent, with lots of local dishes, and fresh fish. Our room was clean and we had fresh towels every day.T he only drew back was the pool area, but as sorrento is a good base for all the trips and sight seeing, we did not miss laying by the pool too much.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank anna600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

I have to say i'd heard some mixed reviews about the hotel before we travelled on this site and others but as we'd only paid just over £400 per person for a week half board in sorrento my wife and I were prepared to give it a go anyway.
What a great decision that turned out to be, its a lovely little hotel the staff particularily in reception were always smiling and chatty nothing was ever too much trouble, the meals were plentiful and decent enough to stop us from dining out any nights, the romantic evening is an absolute must!!
the pool area albeit small was never crowded and a great place to chat to fellow guests.
My only minor gripe was the storing of valuables facility it consisted of an envelope kept in the reception safe which you had to reseal and sign across the seal every time you needed anything fron it which i felt was a bit annoying and im sure the staff on reception felt similarily.
The other downside arguably was the hotels location, now if your like me and like to be near the action but not on top of it this will not suit you! To reach tasso square on foot it's about 20 mins whichever of the two routes you take and then a further 5-10 mins to other parts of sorrento, taxis were a no-no as they charge basically what they like depending how gullible they think you look, the buses on the other hand were pretty good there's several services running into town from the top of the road (corsa italia), get your tickets from the tabacchi nearby to the hotel but you can walk this way contrary to what other travellers have stated it's fairly safe if your careful.
All in all we had a great time and as long as you dont mind a bit of hiking you will too if you stay at this hotel.
enjoy ciao

  • Liked — the friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — the location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank siralex2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2008

Returned from the Pergola just over a week ago and had a lovely stay. The hotel is quite small only about 30 rooms and does have a college at the side of it but you never hear from the students. The rooms are basic but very clean - if you have any problems the staff will sort them out as soon as they can for you. Talking about the staff I wish I could take them with me wherever I travelled on holiday they are brilliant!! The ones that stand out are Raffaele, Anna, Daniella, Enzo, and, our chambermaid who's name sadly I can't remember but she cleaned our room on 1st floor. Gianluca and Graziella were also very good, the manager Massimo seemed pleasant but we hardly saw anything of him during the stay. They always had a smile on their faces and would go out of their way to help you.
Breakfast was quite good the usual fruit juice, ham, cheese, rolls (freshly baked), fruit, cake, or, croissants. You could also have a packed lunch instead of dinner, or pay for it instead a very reasonable 12 euros in total for 2 people consisting of 4 filled rolls (of your choice) 2 pieces of fruit and 2 bottles of water. Dinner was chosen at breakfast a choice of 3 starters and 3 mains, the starter being choice of soup and 2 enormous pasta dishes - main choice meat, fish, vegetable course. If you didn't like any of the choices the chef would make a different meal for you if you asked. For dessert a choice of ice cream, cake, mousse, and, fruit usually melon or watermelon was offered. There was also a neopolitan night and a romantic night with fixed menus but again any problems with menu they would try to sort it out for you.
Only probs the pool is very small (there is a roof terrace for sunbathing however, you could also ring down for drinks & lunch) and not a lot in the way of evening entertainment.
The hotel is about a 20 minute walk out of sorrento but the bus stop into town is only around the corner, but sometimes it was worth the walk to try and lose a few calories!! All in all a good stay - we paid less for 2 wks half board than a week in some of the larger, more expensive hotels, which, sometimes can be a little impersonal.

  • Liked — Clean, great food, excellent staff
  • Disliked — Size pool, evening entertainment
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank saintsfan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Just back from a week at this hotel with first choice and had a great break including fantastic weather!

Hotel location - hotel is perfectly located just outside of the main Sorrento town and it took us 10-15 mins to walk into the centre each evening for drinks & a stroll. The hotel also has a tabac and restaurants, bars etc nearby in Saint Agnello which is a 5 minute walk and a quieter part of the town.

Hotel food - the food at the hotel was quite basic but at the same time amazing. We loved everything that was served and especially loved the lagasna and themed evenings including the Romantic and Neopolitan evenings.

Hotel staff were great. Everyone was so friendly and couldn't do enough for you.

Hotal facilities - the rooms were basic but to be honest had everything you needed. We had a twin room with a room over the front of the hotel. Noise wasn't a problem really as we weren't in bed that early and after all the trips were zonked out anyway. The pool is clean BUT freezing at all times of the day and the jacuzzi is nice to relax in as well.

Things to do / see - there is so much to see and do nearby we did Pompei and Vesuvuis with first choice - pricey but we couldn't work out how to do Vesuvius on our own. Other than that Capri is definitely worth a visit although take the cable car or bus to the top - we walked the long winding stairs and alleys in midday heat without realising, doh! We also did a day trip to Amalfi by public transport which was great - not one for the faint hearted with the winding roads but beautiful picture opportunities. The bus also stops at Positano but we decided to spend a full day exploring Amalfi. The Marina Grande in Sorrento is beautiful although we weren't impressed with the frozen fish we got served at the restaurant and snack bar. Sorrento is buzzing at night and you must try the Fauno bar in the main Piazza which is perfect for people watching and chilling out. We also did the wine tasting excursion with first choice - top night out with great people and the wine bar staff really knew their stuff.

Enjoy your trip! x

P.S - top tip is take lots of mozzy spray we were bitten alive on day one and still waiting for the marks to disappear!

  • Liked — Friendly Staff, Good food, good location
  • Disliked — Limited number of sunbeds by the pool
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyClaireHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

I just wanted to say what a wonderful time I had on my last holiday, to La Pergola. I've spent the last few years visiting very large, corporate, all-inclusive resorts - so was a little apprehensive about going to a 3* hotel on a half board basis. However the apprehension disappeared straightaway. The food was always extremely nice and very enjoyable. The waiters were always very keen to offer you something else if you said you didn't like what was on the menu. I only did this once, as I figure when you're in a foreign county, you should eat as the locals do.

The hotel was a good 20 minute walk away from Sorrento, but there were plenty of buses if you wanted them. My friend and I travelled everywhere on public transport - we used buses, trains, coaches, ferries, cable cars, etc.. I wouldn't recommend driving as it seems their style of driving is very different to ours.

We visited Pompei, Vesuvius, Positano, and Capri. One of the best things was the chair lift in Anacapri - wonderful views at the top. Capri is a beautiful island and well worth visiting. We also went to the lesser popular islands of Ischia and Procida.

I would definitely recommend the Pergola Hotel - the staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. The room wasn't very big, but to be fair we were hardly in it, as we were too busy going out to see everything.

If you're thinking of visiting this hotel, or Sorrento generally then it's well worth the trip - it's made me very keen to get back to Italy, Ciao!

  • Liked — Friendliness and helpfulness of staff
  • Disliked — Room was a tad small, but that's all I can think of
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#8 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#19 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Hotel
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,092 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pergola

Property: Hotel La Pergola
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 13, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pergola 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Sorrento
Hotel La Pergola Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing