We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY HERE! REPEAT - DO NOT STAY HERE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Pergola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Pergola
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE! REPEAT - DO NOT STAY HERE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is nothing short of appalling. I have stayed in better back packers hostels 20 years ago in comparison to the standards offered by the alleged 3* La Pergola.
We booked well in advance of travel and upgraded to a 'superior' room with a promised "Sea and Versuvious view and room for a third bed" so expecting a larger room than standard basically.
When shown to our room we originally sat down in it and thought there'd been some mistake. The views are distant and partial, the room was so small to walk round the bed you needed to be pigeon toed. To open the wardrobe means the person you are with has to step out of the room into the bathroom as there is simply no space. We complained immediately. The staff looked at us as if to say "oh heavens not another complaint"...it all fell on deaf ears.
The shower had black mould in it, the bathroom black mildew on the walls. The shower was so small you have to have the doors open to avoid a telephone box style bout of claustrophobia. (I'm a 30 inch waist - so not a huge man!), the towel rail fell off the moment a towel ventured near it.
We had booked the room on the basis of air conditioning but a/c seems to be rationed. We were originally told it would cost us 85 euros a week, and the safety deposit box 4.50 euros per day. After a phone call by the receptionist to an anonymous person the prices changed to 50 euros a week and the safety deposit box was free. This still grated given it was an existing part of our package already paid for. They switch the a/c on at reception and then turn it off first thing in the morning so the room cooks during the day (meaning you have to pay more again to cool it down).
The room was furnished dreadfully. Rubbish chipped chip board furniture, a silly little desk that you'd give a 6 year old to do his drawing on. I've seen thicker car wash sponges than the pillows we had.
We were (after 3 days) offered another room - on the first floor, at the back (no views) overlooking the bins. We rejected it - it seemed every room in this dump was to the same standard.
Our tour operator eventually moved us (after 4 days and threats of litigation) and even as we tried to leave the receptionist had the audacity to charge us the 1 euro per night 'Hotel Tax'. We laughed paid her and walked out.
This hotel isn't family run at all...it is run by a bunch of in-experienced receptionists fed up of complaints and scared to resolve anything because the 'family' will tell them off for spending money.
On our return trip to the airport at the end of our stay in the alternative hotel the taxi driver couldn't work out where he had seen us before - we told him he'd dropped us off at La Pergola two weeks earlier. He went on to tell us about the unending stream of unhappy guests that move from the hotel, "it is a bad hotel" he told us - he clearly had more evidence than us.
We are now suing our tour operator for breach of contract for promoting this venue in the way they have done and selling us something that was nothing like a 3* hotel. It is a ill-managed, poorly run, damp, mouldy dump. We have the photos to prove it. My advice would be to keep searching for a better hotel for your holiday.

Room Tip: Expect to be baking hot in a damp squalid room. Rooms at the back get less sun but overlook the whee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    106
    54
    26
    31
See reviews for
64
166
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a small, family run hotel with a pool and gardens. There is a large roof terrace with views of the sea. Rooms are small and only some have balconies. The room was very clean and towels replaced most days. Good shower! Breakfast OK but rather repetitive and bland. The hotel bar has a fair range of drinks at reasonable prices for the area. Staff all friendly and helpful. The hotel is a good walk from Sorrento along some dangerous roads. We had to have our half board evening meal at a restaurant in town. The restaurant was excellent but the shuttle car service was not great.

Room Tip: Smoking is allowed in bedrooms. Ground floor rooms are the noisiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel a total of four nights. We, and other guests, had intermittent and poor Internet service during our stay. The front desk was not very helpful and still wanted to charge me to use the computer in the reception area. Sadly, we were receiving a stronger signal from the hotel next door (hotel Florida) than we were from la pergola (picture attached). The breakfast was fairly bland compared to the rest of my experiences in Italy. Our room was ok and had two beds pushed together; however, one was very soft and the other was extremely hard. Not a huge deal, but still not enjoyable for four nights. Lastly, it is quite a ways from the city center. We rented a scooter so it wasn't a big deal, but if we hadn't, it would have been a pain to walk that far every time we wanted to get into town.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travistt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sant'Agnello hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Have just returned from a week in Sorrento at this hotel, we paid a good price for this hotel room which included breakfast however when checking in we were informed we also had to pay city tax which was 1€ per person per night.
The rooms: we had 2 rooms between four of us one was a bit smaller than the other but both had the expected items such as wardrobe, hair dryer, phone, tv, safe and en suite. However one of the rooms en suite had a sliding wooded door the didn't lock well which can lead to some awkward situations if you are not very close friends. A range in pillows were provided which was perfect and a warmer blanket which was nice. The only issue we all found with the rooms was that the walls may as well have been paper as noises travelled. Our rooms situated just off reception therefore were not often quite even throughout the night as when people came to check in, when the desk phone rang or when the breakfast plates were being put out I was wide awake.
Breakfast: again basic but nice. Each day we had the same table which was set up with either a croissant or a piece of marble Cake and a type of cheese and meat were laid out. You then have the choice of helping yourself to bread with jams butter honey etc. There was a variety of cereal, fruit, and egg option (such as boiled fried or scrambled, different each day) and hot and cold drinks.
Facilities: the pool was nice, clean and a lovely way to relax in the sun. The outside area was nice and somewhere you can easily enjoy a drink from the bar. The bar itself seems to be an average price for drinks in comparison to in town so we had a few drinks whilst there. There was a solarium on the 3rd floor which we didn't get a chance to check out as we tried to stay out of the hotel all day.
Extras: the staff were all friendly and helped with queries, when we arrived we were given vouchers for 10% off and a free drink at bar Latino a restaurant linked with the hotel which is definitely worth a visit as the food was beautiful and the atmosphere of the al fresco dining in a candle lit lemon tree garden was a perfect meal for couples.

For those looking for somewhere nice that's a good price this hotel is more than worth the money paid would visit again :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

When our travel agent googled this property, it was shown on a map as very close to the center of Sorrento. I don't know how the other reviewers walked into Sorrento in 20 minutes, but it is at least 40 minutes and there is NOTHING else close--no restaurant, shop, store...nothing. The breakfast is OK, croissant, salami and cheese plate, bread, cereal and milk. One might wish for some fruit, especially oranges in this area. When we asked about dinner the first night, as we'd had a fairly brutal day on the train system, our first day in Italy, they acted like they didn't know what we were talking about. The icing on the cake, though, was finding an old cigar butt on the floor beside the bed, moving it to the area near the door and finding it still there after the maid 'cleaned' the room and having to ask her to remove it. Needless to say, not too clean and there's just no excuse for that. I don't mind a basic room, as this definitely is, but dirty and smelly is unacceptable. I can't recommend it for any reason. No location, no amenities, no views, and they charge a euro if you want ice in the room. Not our best intro to Italian hotels. We hope Florence is a better experience.

Room Tip: Maybe the second floor at the back would be more quiet and some of them have a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cruisinjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I went to this hotel on a school trip for four nights. The rooms were clean but quite basic. There was a TV but it didn't work. I slept on a rather creaky bunk bed while my friends slept on two thin beds pushed together to look like a double bed. The bathroom was ok but the shower was so tiny, there was hardly any space to move in it.

THE FOOD WAS TERRIBLE!
I have been to Italy many times before and the food has always been excellent. But the food at Hotel La Pergola was bizarre, bland, often inedible and at times vile. Most of us didn't touch it after the first night.

If you're planning on staying at this hotel arrange to eat somewhere else.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lo lo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Before Anyone gets too carried away on these reviews, this is a 3 star independent hotel. You really shouldn't expect a great deal of luxury. We had a very friendly welcome from staff who were happy to help us get our orientation of the local area. We managed to check in a bit early and made our way to our basic but clean bedroom. Smiles all round so far. The hotel itself is around a 10 min walk into Sant Agnello or 15 min walk into Sorrento, so ideally placed for us. Unfortunately, one major problem that the hotel suffers from is noise. You can hear whatever is going on anywhere else in the hotel. There was a school group staying at the same time as us and although they seem well behaved, it did detract from our ability to relax in the hotel. Another small minus point was the quality of breakfast, To be honest, I really wouldn't have minded had the coffee been good (being Italy after all). Unfortunately, the coffee is from a self-service machine and is awful. When we told the guy who was keeping an eye on things at breakfast and asked if we could get fresh coffee, he said we'd have to go to the bar upstairs and buy one. At 3 euro a cup (0,80 in Sant'Agnello) I felt a bit put out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up (away from the kitchen) and facing the coast rather than the car park. Skip b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Red G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#19 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#81 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
10.2 mi away
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pergola

Property: Hotel La Pergola
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 13, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pergola 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Sorrento
Hotel La Pergola Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing