We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Pergola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Pergola
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

After reading some of the reviews I was a little worried. We had a great stay. The staff lovely and pleasant. The rooms are a little on the small side but who stays in their rooms all day anyway? The rooms were clean and comfortable with fresh towels daily and sheets changed on the third day. Breakfast was ok, enough to start the day off.
Just a little info, air con was 50 euros for the week but well worth it. The walk into Sorrento centre is about 20mins on a road where the paths are occasionally limited. This wasn't a major problem. It's well worth the walk. The roof terrace has fantastic views of Vesuvius. We would recommend La Pergola to family and friends.

Room Tip: A balcony is a must. Lovely to sit on after a busy day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiewick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    106
    54
    26
    31
See reviews for
64
166
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My Husband and myself are in our early twenties and we stayed 5 nights at the Hotel La Pergola. We had paid for our stay in advance but when we arrived, the front desk woman let us know we would be charged 1€ per night for "tax" and we would pay that when we were to check out. On top of that... The room was scolding hot...you had to ask the front desk for the AC remote which they then charged an additional 5€ a day for. We had a reserved a full sized bed, (6months in advance) and when we arrived we had two twin sized beds pushed together. (Worst 5 nights of sleep ever). Staff was not very friendly and the breakfast consisted of bread, more bread and some cereal. The walk to town was at least 15 minutes for us. (And we are young adults, speed walking)

We would not recommend this hotel, nor stay there again. Ciao.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sant'Agnello hotels

Leeds, England
Level Contributor
184 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week in July 2014, travelling on a package tour.

Check in was fast and efficient, and our room was ready for us at 12:30 which was really convenient for us as we'd been travelling since early that morning.

Our room (#19) was located at the end of the corridor based on the ground floor, around the corner from the reception. The room, was an ok size, spotlessly clean, featuring a TV, wardrobe, dressing table and two single beds pushed together. The bathroom has a wc, sink, bidet and a shower, again all spotlessly clean. There was a window in the bedroom, though there wasn't a view as there was a hedge in front of the window.

Be aware that the safe and air con are payable separately, and cost a total of €87 for the week. We were aware of this charge before we booked the hotel.

Breakfast was ok, with a fair selection of cereals, breads and fruit, though there was no real change in the choice from day to day. That said it was all fresh and was topped up regularly.

All the staff at the hotel were really friendly, and couldn't be faulted. We used the free shuttle bus once and found it really useful.

The only noise we encountered were the maids who clean the rooms, and start quite early in the morning, though I guess this is the price to pay if people want to check in early!

There are a number of comments on TA about the location of the hotel. It's 1.1 miles from Tasso Piazza in the centre of Sorrento, and it took a leisurely 22 minutes to walk (measured via our gps). The route is via quite a busy road that has pavement all the way with the exception of about 70 paces where you are walking on the road. We didn't find it dangerous, thought I would be particularly careful walking with children.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay there and would go back there without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joolsleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is nothing short of appalling. I have stayed in better back packers hostels 20 years ago in comparison to the standards offered by the alleged 3* La Pergola.
We booked well in advance of travel and upgraded to a 'superior' room with a promised "Sea and Versuvious view and room for a third bed" so expecting a larger room than standard basically.
When shown to our room we originally sat down in it and thought there'd been some mistake. The views are distant and partial, the room was so small to walk round the bed you needed to be pigeon toed. To open the wardrobe means the person you are with has to step out of the room into the bathroom as there is simply no space. We complained immediately. The staff looked at us as if to say "oh heavens not another complaint"...it all fell on deaf ears.
The shower had black mould in it, the bathroom black mildew on the walls. The shower was so small you have to have the doors open to avoid a telephone box style bout of claustrophobia. (I'm a 30 inch waist - so not a huge man!), the towel rail fell off the moment a towel ventured near it.
We had booked the room on the basis of air conditioning but a/c seems to be rationed. We were originally told it would cost us 85 euros a week, and the safety deposit box 4.50 euros per day. After a phone call by the receptionist to an anonymous person the prices changed to 50 euros a week and the safety deposit box was free. This still grated given it was an existing part of our package already paid for. They switch the a/c on at reception and then turn it off first thing in the morning so the room cooks during the day (meaning you have to pay more again to cool it down).
The room was furnished dreadfully. Rubbish chipped chip board furniture, a silly little desk that you'd give a 6 year old to do his drawing on. I've seen thicker car wash sponges than the pillows we had.
We were (after 3 days) offered another room - on the first floor, at the back (no views) overlooking the bins. We rejected it - it seemed every room in this dump was to the same standard.
Our tour operator eventually moved us (after 4 days and threats of litigation) and even as we tried to leave the receptionist had the audacity to charge us the 1 euro per night 'Hotel Tax'. We laughed paid her and walked out.
This hotel isn't family run at all...it is run by a bunch of in-experienced receptionists fed up of complaints and scared to resolve anything because the 'family' will tell them off for spending money.
On our return trip to the airport at the end of our stay in the alternative hotel the taxi driver couldn't work out where he had seen us before - we told him he'd dropped us off at La Pergola two weeks earlier. He went on to tell us about the unending stream of unhappy guests that move from the hotel, "it is a bad hotel" he told us - he clearly had more evidence than us.
We are now suing our tour operator for breach of contract for promoting this venue in the way they have done and selling us something that was nothing like a 3* hotel. It is a ill-managed, poorly run, damp, mouldy dump. We have the photos to prove it. My advice would be to keep searching for a better hotel for your holiday.

Room Tip: Expect to be baking hot in a damp squalid room. Rooms at the back get less sun but overlook the whee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a small, family run hotel with a pool and gardens. There is a large roof terrace with views of the sea. Rooms are small and only some have balconies. The room was very clean and towels replaced most days. Good shower! Breakfast OK but rather repetitive and bland. The hotel bar has a fair range of drinks at reasonable prices for the area. Staff all friendly and helpful. The hotel is a good walk from Sorrento along some dangerous roads. We had to have our half board evening meal at a restaurant in town. The restaurant was excellent but the shuttle car service was not great.

Room Tip: Smoking is allowed in bedrooms. Ground floor rooms are the noisiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel a total of four nights. We, and other guests, had intermittent and poor Internet service during our stay. The front desk was not very helpful and still wanted to charge me to use the computer in the reception area. Sadly, we were receiving a stronger signal from the hotel next door (hotel Florida) than we were from la pergola (picture attached). The breakfast was fairly bland compared to the rest of my experiences in Italy. Our room was ok and had two beds pushed together; however, one was very soft and the other was extremely hard. Not a huge deal, but still not enjoyable for four nights. Lastly, it is quite a ways from the city center. We rented a scooter so it wasn't a big deal, but if we hadn't, it would have been a pain to walk that far every time we wanted to get into town.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travistt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Have just returned from a week in Sorrento at this hotel, we paid a good price for this hotel room which included breakfast however when checking in we were informed we also had to pay city tax which was 1€ per person per night.
The rooms: we had 2 rooms between four of us one was a bit smaller than the other but both had the expected items such as wardrobe, hair dryer, phone, tv, safe and en suite. However one of the rooms en suite had a sliding wooded door the didn't lock well which can lead to some awkward situations if you are not very close friends. A range in pillows were provided which was perfect and a warmer blanket which was nice. The only issue we all found with the rooms was that the walls may as well have been paper as noises travelled. Our rooms situated just off reception therefore were not often quite even throughout the night as when people came to check in, when the desk phone rang or when the breakfast plates were being put out I was wide awake.
Breakfast: again basic but nice. Each day we had the same table which was set up with either a croissant or a piece of marble Cake and a type of cheese and meat were laid out. You then have the choice of helping yourself to bread with jams butter honey etc. There was a variety of cereal, fruit, and egg option (such as boiled fried or scrambled, different each day) and hot and cold drinks.
Facilities: the pool was nice, clean and a lovely way to relax in the sun. The outside area was nice and somewhere you can easily enjoy a drink from the bar. The bar itself seems to be an average price for drinks in comparison to in town so we had a few drinks whilst there. There was a solarium on the 3rd floor which we didn't get a chance to check out as we tried to stay out of the hotel all day.
Extras: the staff were all friendly and helped with queries, when we arrived we were given vouchers for 10% off and a free drink at bar Latino a restaurant linked with the hotel which is definitely worth a visit as the food was beautiful and the atmosphere of the al fresco dining in a candle lit lemon tree garden was a perfect meal for couples.

For those looking for somewhere nice that's a good price this hotel is more than worth the money paid would visit again :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#19 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#82 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
10.2 mi away
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pergola

Property: Hotel La Pergola
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 13, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pergola 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Sorrento
Hotel La Pergola Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing