We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Pergola
Nearby Hotels
US$156
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$280
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Garden Hotel(Sant'Agnello)
US$255
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Relais Villa Savarese(Sant'Agnello)
US$186
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Majestic Palace Hotel(Sant'Agnello)
US$225
US$167
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cristina(Sant'Agnello)
US$181
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Florida(Sant'Agnello)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Club Sorrento(Sant'Agnello)
US$254
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel la Pace(Sant'Agnello)
US$1,063
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alpha Hotel(Sant'Agnello)
US$98
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
110
113
56
30
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
113
56
30
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracebasic hoteljust returned from a weektowels changed every daysingle fileamalfi coastthree starmain towncold meatscerealtrainjacuzzipavementsunbedsroadsmaidsercolano
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 341 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We were quite disapointed with this hotel, the breakfast was minimal and completely unsuitable for someone with coeliac disease, and when we mentioned gluten free they pretended not to know what we meant. The shower in the room was unsuitably sized for anyone who wanted to wash without standing straight as an arrow so had to leave the doors open. The air conditioning is seeming a bit of an issue, we were initially quoted that it was 10€ a night (despite it being advertised as included) then was brought down to 6€ a night, but looking on here it looks as though the price of air conditioning is set on however much they think they can fleece you for. Upon checking out they then tried to charge us twice for it! The area around the pool is covered in ants and the cocktails at the bar (inside as the outside bar looks like it hasn't been used in years) are anything but what you think you are ordering. I ordered a tequila sunrise advertised as tequila, grenadine and orange juice, I got tequila and grenadine. My husband took it back to the bar and said it was undrinkable as it was and they said that's how we make them in Italy! He then charged him for a can of orange fanta! The only saving grace for this hotel is the restaurant they take you to in the evening if you are half board, Cafe Latino in Sorrento. Very disappointed with Thomas Cook for promoting this place.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GeorgieSpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After reading some of the reviews I was a little worried. We had a great stay. The staff lovely and pleasant. The rooms are a little on the small side but who stays in their rooms all day anyway? The rooms were clean and comfortable with fresh towels daily and sheets changed on the third day. Breakfast was ok, enough to start the day off.
Just a little info, air con was 50 euros for the week but well worth it. The walk into Sorrento centre is about 20mins on a road where the paths are occasionally limited. This wasn't a major problem. It's well worth the walk. The roof terrace has fantastic views of Vesuvius. We would recommend La Pergola to family and friends.

Room Tip: A balcony is a must. Lovely to sit on after a busy day.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbiewick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My Husband and myself are in our early twenties and we stayed 5 nights at the Hotel La Pergola. We had paid for our stay in advance but when we arrived, the front desk woman let us know we would be charged 1€ per night for "tax" and we would pay that when we were to check out. On top of that... The room was scolding hot...you had to ask the front desk for the AC remote which they then charged an additional 5€ a day for. We had a reserved a full sized bed, (6months in advance) and when we arrived we had two twin sized beds pushed together. (Worst 5 nights of sleep ever). Staff was not very friendly and the breakfast consisted of bread, more bread and some cereal. The walk to town was at least 15 minutes for us. (And we are young adults, speed walking)

We would not recommend this hotel, nor stay there again. Ciao.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Kristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week in July 2014, travelling on a package tour.

Check in was fast and efficient, and our room was ready for us at 12:30 which was really convenient for us as we'd been travelling since early that morning.

Our room (#19) was located at the end of the corridor based on the ground floor, around the corner from the reception. The room, was an ok size, spotlessly clean, featuring a TV, wardrobe, dressing table and two single beds pushed together. The bathroom has a wc, sink, bidet and a shower, again all spotlessly clean. There was a window in the bedroom, though there wasn't a view as there was a hedge in front of the window.

Be aware that the safe and air con are payable separately, and cost a total of €87 for the week. We were aware of this charge before we booked the hotel.

Breakfast was ok, with a fair selection of cereals, breads and fruit, though there was no real change in the choice from day to day. That said it was all fresh and was topped up regularly.

All the staff at the hotel were really friendly, and couldn't be faulted. We used the free shuttle bus once and found it really useful.

The only noise we encountered were the maids who clean the rooms, and start quite early in the morning, though I guess this is the price to pay if people want to check in early!

There are a number of comments on TA about the location of the hotel. It's 1.1 miles from Tasso Piazza in the centre of Sorrento, and it took a leisurely 22 minutes to walk (measured via our gps). The route is via quite a busy road that has pavement all the way with the exception of about 70 paces where you are walking on the road. We didn't find it dangerous, thought I would be particularly careful walking with children.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay there and would go back there without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Joolsleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is nothing short of appalling. I have stayed in better back packers hostels 20 years ago in comparison to the standards offered by the alleged 3* La Pergola.
We booked well in advance of travel and upgraded to a 'superior' room with a promised "Sea and Versuvious view and room for a third bed" so expecting a larger room than standard basically.
When shown to our room we originally sat down in it and thought there'd been some mistake. The views are distant and partial, the room was so small to walk round the bed you needed to be pigeon toed. To open the wardrobe means the person you are with has to step out of the room into the bathroom as there is simply no space. We complained immediately. The staff looked at us as if to say "oh heavens not another complaint"...it all fell on deaf ears.
The shower had black mould in it, the bathroom black mildew on the walls. The shower was so small you have to have the doors open to avoid a telephone box style bout of claustrophobia. (I'm a 30 inch waist - so not a huge man!), the towel rail fell off the moment a towel ventured near it.
We had booked the room on the basis of air conditioning but a/c seems to be rationed. We were originally told it would cost us 85 euros a week, and the safety deposit box 4.50 euros per day. After a phone call by the receptionist to an anonymous person the prices changed to 50 euros a week and the safety deposit box was free. This still grated given it was an existing part of our package already paid for. They switch the a/c on at reception and then turn it off first thing in the morning so the room cooks during the day (meaning you have to pay more again to cool it down).
The room was furnished dreadfully. Rubbish chipped chip board furniture, a silly little desk that you'd give a 6 year old to do his drawing on. I've seen thicker car wash sponges than the pillows we had.
We were (after 3 days) offered another room - on the first floor, at the back (no views) overlooking the bins. We rejected it - it seemed every room in this dump was to the same standard.
Our tour operator eventually moved us (after 4 days and threats of litigation) and even as we tried to leave the receptionist had the audacity to charge us the 1 euro per night 'Hotel Tax'. We laughed paid her and walked out.
This hotel isn't family run at all...it is run by a bunch of in-experienced receptionists fed up of complaints and scared to resolve anything because the 'family' will tell them off for spending money.
On our return trip to the airport at the end of our stay in the alternative hotel the taxi driver couldn't work out where he had seen us before - we told him he'd dropped us off at La Pergola two weeks earlier. He went on to tell us about the unending stream of unhappy guests that move from the hotel, "it is a bad hotel" he told us - he clearly had more evidence than us.
We are now suing our tour operator for breach of contract for promoting this venue in the way they have done and selling us something that was nothing like a 3* hotel. It is a ill-managed, poorly run, damp, mouldy dump. We have the photos to prove it. My advice would be to keep searching for a better hotel for your holiday.

Room Tip: Expect to be baking hot in a damp squalid room. Rooms at the back get less sun but overlook the wheelie bins. Just don't bother with this hole.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews