We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best meal in my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Rifugio

Il Rifugio
Reserve with
Il Rifugio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 62 Restaurants in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Refuge restaurant and pizzeria is located on the beautiful hills of Sant'Agnello ( Colli di Fontanelle ) between Amalfi and Sorrento ; In a romantic and family rustic interior. The restaurant has indoor rooms and outdoor. Far from the daily chaos, you can spend some quiet time, tasting the typical dishes of local cuisine. The hotel is open all year.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best meal in my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

All the food was absolutely delicious. We had the risotto, I've never tasted better, and the tuna--delicious and interestingly prepared. The wine was lovely, crisp and dry and the dessert was to die for. The proprietor takes care of the patrons with humor and great attention to detail.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    982
    378
    70
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were looking for a restaurant with a panoramic view but the one were headed for was closed so we discovered il Rifugio. Not that easy to spot from the road as it is tucked behind a sports court. It does not have panoramic views but the food and service was very good. I would recommend this for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EssexRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, food quite heavy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Good location, service and quality of ingredients. We were left absolutely stuffed by our anti-pasti and secondi and felt some of the richness of the dishes would have benefitted from a little more 'lift' and balance. Very pleasant couple of hours however followed by a long walk up the coast

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Montratchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and incredible service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We arrived in the area so tired from our long trip---we had no idea where to eat but decided it had to be in walking distance!

What a gem!!!!

The owner met us at the door with the most hospitable , happy welcome!!! We had wine and chose to all have different meals so that we could share--there were 6 of us so that was a lot of variety--everything was delicious!

We were so enamored with the restaurant and staff, that we returned at least three of four times during our 7 day stay! By the 2nd trip we did not even choose our food anymore---we let the owner choose for us and it was all delicious!

We did eat at several other restaurants within a mile---we also ate in Sorrento many nights---this was the best meal by far!

Be sure to leave room for the desserts!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpeanmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must Try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We found the food, service and hospitality unequaled on our visit. Excellent value and recommend
this as a must to anyone visiting Sorrento. Well worth the effort to find this little gem.
Alan & Mary............Thanks for a great experience
p.s The wild boar and mash is superb at 9 euros I felt like a thief

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Rifugio also viewed

Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sant'Agnello, Province of Naples
Sant'Agnello, Province of Naples
 

Been to Il Rifugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing