We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Purple

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Purple
Ranked #19 of 21 Sant'Agnello B&B and Inns
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I'm not into luxury hotels, so I have only four basic rules when choosing a place to sleep:
- cleanliness
- comfortable bed
- non-stop hot water shower
- location
All four were satisfied with Porto Salvo. On top of that the breakfast included in the price was very eatable and the staff were very friendly. You could go to Sorrento either by walking (20 minutes), by bus (the stop is just around the corner of Porto Salvo) or by train (which is pointless in my opinion, because from the hotel to the train station in St. Agnello is 10 minutes walk and in 20 minutes walk you are straight in center of Sorrento). Some of the rooms have a sea view, others not, but walking around Sorrento, Amalfi coast or Capri you'll have a plenty of sea to admire, so don't get disappointed if your room doesn't have any.
We had a triple room with private bath and the place was clean, the towels were changed on daily basis, there was hot water in the shower all the time and it was quiet in the whole floor.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiril S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    128
    63
    46
    45
See reviews for
45
197
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed at Porto Salvo for 7 nights and we were satisfied with almost all aspects of our stay. The location is very serene and there is no curfew: you can come and go as you please very easily, with the keys they provide you with for the front gate. The room was very minimalist but clean and had a nice old-fashioned feel to it. The staff were always friendly and helpful whenever we had queries (even when we rang the buzzer to check in three hours before we were due!). From Porto Salvo it takes around 20 minutes to walk into Sorrento and 10 minutes to the local Circumvesuviana train station. Nearby there are some great restaurants and a nice cliff-top bar that's good for watching the sunset. There is also a lido where you can sunbathe and swim in the sea. The breakfast was nothing fancy but fine: it included cereal and toast as well as cold-cuts and cheese. Overall, we thought this seemed like the best value budget accommodation in the area.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed for seven nights. Great value accommodation. Our room had views of Naples Bay. Clean, friendly and relaxed accommodation. Will be recommending this hotel to our friends. Sant'Agnello is an ideal place to stay close to Sorrento but far enough away to avoid the crowds of holiday makers. Easy to get around on foot or public transport. Thank you to Marianna who was very friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We used this place as a launching point to visit Pompeii, and for that it was sufficient. Clean rooms, friendly staff, but don't expect much beyond that. The rooms are small, the hallways feel sterile, and the one shared bathroom was not enough. The acoustics are pretty bad so we could hear our neighbors pretty easily. Breakfast is ok. This place felt very much like a hostel, not a hotel or guesthouse, for what it's worth.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleacali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

I would say that this residence located in St. Agnello on the Sorrentine Peninsula, is a little gem of a bargain.

Quietly nestled next to Sorrento, and overlooking the Bay of Naples, with Vesuvius in the distance, Sant’Agnello is a nice surprise. The town is small and one can drive right through it, but don’t. It has a nice Artisan Center and some pretty good restaurants. Along the road facing the sea, there are also very expensive and elegant hotels frequented by British nationals. The area is also known as the Neapolitan Riviera.

Domus Porto Salvo was originally a convent, and there is a church on it’s backside: Sollievo nelle Sofferenze. The rooms are large, and ours had a spectacular view of the sea, from a huge bathroom. This in itself was surprising, as I find most bathrooms in Italy to be quite small. Also, the private bathroom was separate from the room, locked with a quaint skeleton key, we had to jiggle. There were other fine views from the quiet niches in the ample hallways. There is a sense of tranquility here. Views from our room faced the gardens.

The dining room which served a complimentary breakfast every day, was pretty, and well appointed. The staff was the nicest . . . very obliging, and. . .free internet service ! Another nice surprise: private gated parking, at no extra cost. You can bike or even walk to Sorrento, If you are visiting the Amalfi Coast, or plan to got to Pompeii or Capri, and don’t want to spend a fortune on a hotel, Domus Porto Salvo can be your base of operations. From Sorrento you can take a tour bus to the Amalfi Coast, catch a ferry to Capri, and hop on the Circumvesuviana to Pompeii. If you have your own car, even better. ( About $65.00 US a night) Our room had a big full size bed and a twin size bed, not the greatest mattresses, but adequate..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andante777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Porto Salvo is a great little B&B one stop before Sorrento on the train line. The staff speaks English and helped my with my Italian. The entire staff was friendly and very helpful. Porto Salvo is great location if you want to do day trips to Amalfi Coast or Pompeii for the day.
They also have a great breakfast and offer wonderful dinners the evening you just want to stay in. They also have internet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

My family loved it and we hope to be back soon.
The breakfast is more diverse than any that we had in Europe, staff attitude was very friendly and helpful (including the Sri Lanka guys).
Close transportation to every attraction on the Sorrento peninsula and Amalfi coast (Vesuvio, Amalfi, Capri etc)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gratzyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.0 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple

Property: Purple
Address: Via Nuovo Rione Cappuccini 11, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy (Formerly Porto Salvo)
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Purple 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME Purple is an Hotel situated in an old abbey of the Capuchin Monks dating back to the sixteenth century located in Sant'Agnello di Sorrento, overlooking the beautiful sea of the Bay of Naples. Purple is also a American Lounge Pub and our philosophy consists in the genuineness of traditional cuisine associated with the taste of local wine, beer or just a drink. 5 GOOD REASONS TO CHOOSE US: Best Price Guaranteed! A holiday in a welcoming and relaxing place at only 1 kilometre from Sorrento town centre! You can easily reach the nearby town of Pompeii, Herculaneum, Naples, Amalfi and Capri The parking and internet access are included in the price The nearest beach is at only few minutes walk.SERVICES Purple offers its guests numerous exclusive services to make their stay even more enjoyable: international buffet breakfast with a vast selection of sweets, jams, cheeses cold cuts and other snacks, outdoor parking, transfer to and from Naples airport, dinner service upon request, tour reservations for Herculaneum and Pompeii, the Amalfi Coast and wonderful spots on the Sorrento Peninsula, boat trips to Capri and Isola dei Galli. ROOMS The B&B Purple has very large bright rooms, furnished with taste and simplicity: dark wood furniture with clean lines, light upholstery, floors covered with antique terra cotta tiles. The rooms all have heating, air conditioning and television. Different types are available to meet all needs: singles, double, triples and quads, with internal or external private bath or shared bathroom. Most of the rooms have sea view, while some look onto the peaceful garden which surrounds the residence. SERVICES INCLUDED All rooms include: Free WiFi, Hair dryer and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Purple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Salvo Hotel Sant`Agnello
Purple Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing