We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This Hotel does exactly what it says on the tin. Amazing friendly service, great food if you choose half board and a fabulous location. The pool is great, and is a good balance between lively but in no way over crowded.

We took a day trip to Pompeii and Capri, which are both very doable in a day. Sorrento is an easy walk.. 10-15 mins.

This hotel is defiantly 4* not 5* luxury however given the area it is in, I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending it as a good value option. And would stay again if I was staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luke_rackham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    292
    51
    18
    4
See reviews for
268
686
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This hotel is really great! All staff are excellent. So friendly and helpful. Especially waiters/bar staff Arturo and Daniele. Lovely location. In a quiet area, so if you are looking for nightlife, this is not the place for you. Beautiful garden bar/restaurant , lovely pool area. Good food and comparable prices to other restaurants in Sorrento, not rip-off hotel prices. We had lunch by the pool most days (there was no need to go anywhere else, as the menu was varied and the food and service were really good) and we had dinner two night, also excellent. We did the hotel's excursion to Capri: a wonderful memorable day! Our teenage boys loved it! The beach was crowded (Italian style) and was made of very sharp gravelly ''sand'', but the deck was lovely. You have to pay extra at reception to get to the beach (via private elevator), towels supplied by the hotel and there is a cost for sun loungers and umbrellas. We only went once, poolside much more comfortable. This hotel suits every age group: from babies to elderly, no activites for kids except pool but our kids are older so it did not matter to us. Pool lovely and warm.

Room Tip: Sea view room breath-taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nuggies186638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Such a high class hotel - very clean and comforting. We arrived and were told that our room was not ready yet so they upgraded us to the hotel opposite them called Hotel Corallo with an ocean view room. We didn't like this hotel as much since it wasn't that clean. The bathroom and the floors had hair all over.

However, they moved us into our original room we booked the next day and we were so pleased. They had even welcomed us in with a bottle of champagne that we found once we got into our room - we figured it was for having to move us to another hotel for the first night. Our room had a garden view so it looked out to the pool and lounge area of the hotel. The room was very clean and so was the bathroom.

They offered a private yacht to take us and others from the hotel who were interested to the island of Capri and it was soooo worth it for 120 Euro/person. Amazing experience that we'll always remember. The yacht even stopped off the coast of Capri at the Blue Grotto where we jumped into the crystal clear blue waters and swam across to the other side where the yacht picked us up.

The hotel offers a free shuttle to and from an area near the train and bus station so that came in handy a number of times. One of the staff members also offered to drive us to the center, downtown Sorrento one night since it was on his way home. Very nice guy and a very helpful staff.

We took a bus to Positano and then a boat ride to Amalfi. Gorgeous beach towns that I can't say enough about.

The only thing we didn't like about Sorrento was that we couldn't really go out at night without being harassed by the locals. Our walk home from downtown Sorrento one night had us scared for our lives when a car full of adolescents harassed us knowing we didn't speak Italian and then came back and sprayed what seemed like water as they drove by! Not the way you expect to be treated as a tourist. I'd suggest to definitely take a taxi or bus when possible so you can avoid walking in the area. The hotel offers taxi service for 10 euros which is about half of what it normally was..

Another thing we hated was the train to and from Napoli. Very very sketchy and also had us scared for our lives. We'd try to sit near locals who seemed normal just so we wouldn't draw attention. We took the train to Pompeii one day though and that was a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klarebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The Mediterraneo was a perfect stop on our busy trip.
From planning and organizing day trips, to getting a doctor when an ear infection got out of control on a Saturday afternoon---our needs were well taken care of.
As well, the staff were charming and elegant. The meals (both breakfast and dinner) were just what we wanted. And we got to eat breakfast on a patio, floating above the oh-so-blue Mediterranean.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hilary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel with our young son for 8 nights in July. Despite the fact that we had booked a sea view superior triple room months ago requesting a balcony we were not happy to find on arrival we had to pay an extra 12 euro per night for one as we were initially given a top floor room with no balcony.This was despite the fact that there were balcony rooms available, so we reluctantly paid the extra. We paid in my view (especially compared with the 2 other hotels we stayed at in Rome during this holiday) a lot for a "triple" room, which to me was really a double with an extra bed squeezed in. So things did not get off to a good start. However the room was nice (spa bath mouldy though as pointed out in another review) and the views were fantastic.

The pool area was lovely. We did wonder though why the water feature was never on, our son asked for it to be swtiched on and the staff did oblige but only for around 5 minutes!
The hotel itself was clean, light and airy basically exactly how it looks on the website.
The staff were generally very helpful.
We did not stay half board and either ventured into Sorrento or ate at the restaurant just along the road which was very good as well as Moonlight a bit further along. The hotel shuttle bus was easy to use and advisable as we did walk back from Sorrento one day, 30 minutes in the heat with a young child was not great.
The best thing about this hotel was the pool area and the sea view. The location was fine but there is not a lot nearby, not even in Sant Agnello itself.
If you are looking for a relaxing break then this will fit the bill. Just be careful about the room you book.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best but make sure you double check beforehand what you are getting and for h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire2767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Once you enter the light and modern furnished entrance hall of the hotel, you feel the calmth of a hotel in a busy touristic region. We had a room with see view and balcony at an extra charge of 44 euros a day, which is worth the money. On the other side these rooms are less quiet because their next to a square where many people gather in the evening and a busy road. It didn't bother us and with the windows closed (very good airco) it's very silent in the room. The bathroom is rather small and not very new but still OK. The hotel has a beautiful garden and nice pool. Towelservice is perfect and the poolboy does his job really well. For lunch they offer freshly baked pizzas and light meals on the terrace next to the pool:very good quality for reasonable prices. Every evening we enjoyed the Happy Hour with prosecco and other drinks at reduced prices accompagnied by small snacks. We stayed at B&B but had dinner 4 times by the pool. The buffetformula was very good(price and quality of the food) and great for children. Once we had dinner served in the restaurant: prices were too high in relation to the quality we got. For this price we can have better meals in the town of Sorrento. Breakfast is good and offer all you expect in a 4 star rated hotel. The walk into town is rather far: with a child you walk almost 35 min. They offer a shuttle service for free but between 6pm and 8pm, the time most people want to go out for dinner, ther's no service into town. The return from town is not possible between 8.45pm and 22.45pm... We don't know the reason for this break but found it rather strange... Staff is very friendly as well at the reception as at the poolarea or restaurant. We liked the hotel and location very much and recommend it to families as well as people who seek a relaxed stay in the Sorrento area.

Room Tip: see view is worth the extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristienfranck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We have travelled to many locations and never put a review on trip advisor, but felt compelled this time after a wonderful holiday. We were a party of 2 adults and 2 teenagers and so wanted rooms next to each other. We were really suprised that we were able to get a suite, which is basically a shared main entrance door leading into 2 seperate keyed rooms. We had rooms 408/409 - absolutely amazing views from 3 sides of the hotel - we felt so spoilt as we could see Vesuvius, Sorento, the sea, the hills, the pool ... we have never looked out of a hotel room and said "wow" so many times.

The hotel staff are just so friendly and helpful. We all felt so at ease from the moment we arrived. The reception staff, restaurant staff and chamber maid deserve a special mention - they pride themselves on being approachable and providing great service. Oops I should also thank the chefs, we went half board and enjoyed the food, it was excellent. Sometimes going HB restricts you but on this type of holiday we found it a relief and really good value. The shuttle bus is also a winner and was always punctual.

We never found an issue getting space around the pool, and it was great to walk from the pool to the gardens to get some shade. Our kids were so chilled at the end of the holiday and have said they will go back when they are older! There is so much to do around the area.

On our last night there was the most amazing fireworks across the bay of Sorento, it made London's new year fireworks look average. We thought this was a nice touch for the hotel to put this on for us, but realised that Sorento does this each year to celebrate St Anna (around first week of Aug). We had a perfect view from our window.

We will be back again soon, thanks!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalys186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.0 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,478 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 85, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento sits on a cliff overlooking the sea of Sorrento bay about one kilometer from the city center. It is an easy walk but you can also take our free shuttle. The breathtaking sea view and friendly, personable staff make it the perfect place to spend your vacation on the Sorrentine Peninsula in a 4-star hotel. The Mediterraneo has a pool surrounded by palm and orange trees, a private beach, parking and a free wi-fi connection. Get ready for an unforgettable experience that is surprisingly affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing