We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! Would stay again if in Sorrento.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel! Would stay again if in Sorrento.”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel was beautiful, from the rooms to the views. The only complaints were the AC (not up to American standards) and the distance from town. It is a short taxi ride from the center of Sorrento but it was nice to not be in the main tourist section.

Room Tip: Defintely get a sea-view room! It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    292
    51
    18
    4
See reviews for
268
686
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I recently took my mum on holiday to Hotel Mediterraneo in Sorrento. I am 22yrs and my mum is 53yrs and I was a little worried I may get bored in Sorrento but we had an amazing time.
The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from Sorrento (we only did this once as was very hot!!) but the hotels shuttle bus service was very frequent and very reliable. We deffinatly preferred being slightly away from town...
The hotel itself was beautiful. The grounds were lovely, there was always sunbeds available (even though it was peak season) and they were very comfy!!
The pools were lovely and always immaculate in and around.
The pool bar was brilliant, (very friendly staff!!) the pizza oven pizzas were delicious and there is even happy hour in the evening.... (with free tasty snacks!)
The room was lovely and cool- very clean and the free safe was very useful. We were a little worried as everybody said to book a seaview room which we hadnt as there were none left at the time we wanted to go- however we looked over the grounds and the hills surrounding the hotel and had no complaints about the view at all!!!
Staff were very nice and incredibly helpful.
My only hangup (which was totally our fault!) was that the snacks in the bedroom (crisps etc that were left on the table), which from my experience, are usually free- were very costly!! They were on the Minibar list but in small print and well hidden!!

I would also reccomend the Thompson Sail Away Cruise to Capri- It cost 70 euros each to include lunch and swim stops. It was a sailing boat with a small sun bathing area and parasol type undercover area- we had a tour around the island and were able to swim in and around the grottos. Lunch was not brilliant, pasta and veg which was a bit bland!! However we had a couple of hours in Capri- which was just right otherwise you could spend a lot of money (cobbled streets with lots of designer stores). I would highly reccomend a small boat trip to Capri over catching the Hydrofoil- even if it is 50 Euro more....

All in all we had a brilliant time and would highly reccomend both Sorrento and of course- Hotel Mediterraneo!!! :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

On arrival at Naples airport we decided not to take the bus and train to Sant' Agnello, rather we arrived just in time to catch the coach operated by Curreri Viaggi which drops off at both Sant' Agnello and Sorrento stations. This is well worth doing and by our reckoning quicker than the bus and train route. The charge in Aug 2011 was EU10 per person each way which was reasonable. Having been dropped off at the train station after about 55 minutes we decided to walk the route quoted on the Hotel Mediterraneo website, quoted as taking around 10 minutes. First piece of advice, take a taxi, as suggested on the website. Wheeling suitcases along crumbling, and at times disappearing, footpaths is not recommended. It takes nearer 25 minutes with cases and in the heat is pretty uncomfortable. We checked into a room on the first floor, one up from the ground, on a corner near the main road. It was quite small, particularly the bathroom. After a very noisy night we asked to be moved to a quieter room. The noise was created by the traffic, mainly scooters, accelerating out of a right angled bend directly below one window, which was closed, which went on until after 3.00 am! We were given an alternative room immediately the following morning which was in the middle, at the rear of the building on the 4th floor. It was much quieter, provided you kept the windows shut which reduced the noise of the scooters and the local dogs. The bed was comfortable enough and there was a large flat screen television in the room. English language channels were restricted to Sky News, CNN and Russia Today. There was a very good room safe available at no cost and operated by the room's key card. There was aircon in the room which was needed as it was hot outside. The shower was very small, the cubicle measured about 2ft x 2ft and it was almost impossible to shower without banging the sides. It would be better if the cubicle was disposed of and the bathroom turned into a wetroom. The restaurant was bright and spacious but because it was open to the balcony, where there were several small tables, there was no aircon on. Consequently unless you had a balcony table it could get very warm during breakfast. We tried to go early to secure a balcony seat whenever possible. There were no chiller units in use so consequently milk for the cereals, meats and cheeses were warm. We also saw a lot of ants around the bread used for toasting on more than one day. The pool and garden area were excellent and a welcome place to come back to at the end of a long day sightseeing. There was never much of a problem over availability of sunbeds or chairs. You could eat by the pool both during the day and on most evenings which we did once and enjoyed along with the entertainment. There was also a shaded sitting area which was sometimes nice to retire to with a book. The reception staff were helpful and offered advice when asked. You can take the hotel lift down to the basement, where there are internet terminals, and take another lift from there down to sea level where you walk through a tunnel out to the small beach and sunbathing area. There is a free area but if you want to have a sunbed and umbrella there is a charge. We used Hotel Mediterraneo as a base to visit Herculaneum, Pompeii, Capri, Amalfi and Sorrento. For some trips its easier to use the Circumvesuviana train, others you can take the public bus from directly outside the hotel into Sorrento and the marina. The open top tour bus that goes around the Sorrento area also stops directly outside the hotel which is very useful for orientating yourself. The hotel offers a free shuttle bus into Sorrento too at reasonably convenient times but you need to book this with reception.To sum up we were quite disappointed with the size of room and noise which detracted from an otherwise good holiday. Whilst it is rated as a four star hotel I would say it is a pretty good 3 star in many areas, but the rooms in particular do not merit a 4 star status in my view.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMediterraneo, Director of Sales at Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

we wish tothank you for choosing Hotel Mediterraneo and for sharing your opinion about your holidays on tripadvisor. We care about our guests opinions and suggestions.

We wish to offer our point of view on some points of your review also to give better information to other guests.

Curreri bus from Naples APT: it is a good way to reach us. We suggest it on our website. Sometimes with traffic it can be longer than coming by train but still comfortable enough. You probably exit the bus in Sorrento station which is minimum 20 minutes walking from us as you wrote. But if you exit the bus in Sant'Agnello stop (which is not a the station but in main square) as we suggest on our website you neeed only 10 minutes (maximum) walking )also wth luggage). Information on our website is correct and related to Sant'Agnello stop. Hotel is reachble in a few minutes by public bus and taxi from train/bus station and also organize private transfer at preferential rate form/to Naples airrport and train Station.

Showers: it's true. Some of our standard and classic rooms have small showers. Year after year we change some for bigger but in some bathrooms it is impossible due to shower position. Guests who desire a bigger shower can book superior or terrace rooms; both of them have jacuzzi bath with more comfortable jetted shower inside.

We wish to apologize for night noise outside the hotel.Sant'Agnello is usually calm and quiet, out of Sorrento traffic During the very high season sometimes teenagers are running with scooters till late at night (after disco). It is someting we cannot manage but luckly it is limited to a short period of Agust when the city is very crowdy. We offered you a room on an higher floor becouse we understand people desire to stay in peace during their holidays.

We hope to welcome back you soon again
best regards

Pietro Monti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightwaters
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The hotel Mediterraneo is the perfect place for a relaxing vacation on the Bay of Naples. A fantastic view of Vesuvius across the bay, a beautiful swimming pool surrounded by walls of flowering bouganvillia, and delicious food by the pool or in the dining room on the 5th floor. The bus stop for the bus that takes you quickly downtown or to the train station is just outside the door. All the desk personnel are helpful, and can arrange everything from dinner reservations to car service to Naples. We've been twice to Sorrento, and will always stay at the Mediterraneo.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Best trip ever!! The hotel staff made everything easy and nothing immpossible for us. It was like having your own personal assistant on vacation with you. Hotel itself was very clean with a fabulous pool and sitting area shaded by lemon groves. The restaurant food was fantastic. Fresh veggies and OMG the pizza!! Our room was fortunate to have a balcony to sit on and we did...for hours drinking wine and looking at the breath taking view of the mountains around us. If you are planning a trip to the Almafi coast I definately reccomend staying here!

Room Tip: definately a room with a balcony. It gives the room a much larger feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debim317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This was our twelfth year at the Mediterraneo,as usual we had a fantastic time! From the very first time we visited the Mediterraneo we have always been made to feel welcome by the FANTASTIC staff. After twelve years we feel like part of the family and are made to feel like very special guests.
The food and waiter service are second to none and we have never had any complaints in the twelve years we have visited here.
The pool area is lovely and relaxing.
The rooms are clean and comfortable.
To the American lady who moaned to her husband they should have gone to Barbados-you are welcome to Barbados-the less moaning other guests have to put up with at dinner the better! Oh-and they do poached eggs if you ask!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsF61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Just returned from another perfect holiday at the Hotel Mediterraneo.This was our third visit to the hotel and we will definitely return. From the moment we booked until the moment we left we were made to feel special. The hotel is in a great location, the sea views are amazing, the swimming pool and garden area are great for relaxing in, the new White Bar is a great addition to the indoor facilities, the food is excellent and the staff are Simply the Best!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine27557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.0 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,478 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 85, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento sits on a cliff overlooking the sea of Sorrento bay about one kilometer from the city center. It is an easy walk but you can also take our free shuttle. The breathtaking sea view and friendly, personable staff make it the perfect place to spend your vacation on the Sorrentine Peninsula in a 4-star hotel. The Mediterraneo has a pool surrounded by palm and orange trees, a private beach, parking and a free wi-fi connection. Get ready for an unforgettable experience that is surprisingly affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing