We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“few minor issues, but enjoyed our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
ayrshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“few minor issues, but enjoyed our stay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

dissapointed on arrival, had requested sea view room, which we got, but the site I booked with didn`t advise that not all rooms have balconies.... ours didn`t.The reception staff were very good and we did manage to change rooms the next day, (although this did cost us 30 euros extra per day.) Shower and bath are on the small side, and shower head difficult to get to stay upright when the water is on. Balcony as it was was tiny, but a balcony none the less. Rooms cleaned daily by very pleasent staff, with nice smiling faces.
The view was good, although slightly obscured by the building opposite, (not shown on the hotel brochure) and unfortunately six of the seven days we were there the road infront of the hotel was being dug up, not the hotel`s fault I know,.... they gave us a complimentary drink at the bar for the inconvenience,though I would rather not have been charged the full 30 euro per day for my change of room.
We didn`t eat at the hotel outwith breakfast, though I must say what we had was very good. Anything you could possibly want for breakfast was there and plenty of it, restaurant staff were pleasant and attentive, the view from the dining room was excellent. Happy hour at the bar was nice, discounted drinks and free nibbles to enjoy before dinner. Regular bar prices were very reasonable and the bar staff, (except one young guy who I am sure was drunk acouple of times when he was working!!), were fabulous...Dani we hope you are doing Okay.
The courtesy bus was helpfull (as is the bus driver) if you got fed up walking into Sorrento, which takes a good 15/20 mins. only down side is that if you`ve been on the go all day and start heading back about 6ish....there is no bus, there is one around 4.30 and I think the next one is around 7.( Don`t take a taxi!!!! 20 euros, give or take for a 5 min. journey.)
nice pool area with plenty loungers, and always quiet, there is so much to see and do I don`t suppose people spend there days sunbathing! Concierge is a lovely man and on the whole the desk staff are very helpfull and attentive, although was a bit miffed no one actually asked if we had enjoyed our stay when we were checking out, almoust as if "your leaving now so we don`t have to impress you anymore". as I said we enjoyed our stay, it just lacked something. We loved Sorrento and the amalfi coast, who wouldn`t? but if we returned we wouldn`t use this hotel again, for the money paid it just didn`t tick all the boxes.

Room Tip: not all rooms have balconies, you have to request this a time of booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AyrshireBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    286
    51
    18
    4
See reviews for
262
665
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed in October 2012 and had a great time. The staff was very courteious and helpful. The shuttle to downtown Sorrento ran on time and was very convenient. For the price, you can beat it. Breakfast was fantastic, beautiful setting and delicious food. From here we visited Capri and took the train in downtown to Pompeii. Also, parking was available for our rental car, which we barely used. Overall, we were extremely happy with our stay. Definitely recommended if you want to stay at a beautiful and typical mediterranean looking hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall, overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arturo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

I choose this hotel because of the reviews it had received and I was not disappointed. Everything about it was superb. Spotlessly clean, fabulous site overlooking the bay, rooms were excellent, panoramic restaurant on the roof was magic. Staff were always cheerful and helpful. Minibus service into local town was great. Great variety of food in restaurant in which the staff were just wonderful. Weather was warm and sunny. This hotel is to highly commended and recommended.

Room Tip: We were on first floor - just great because we did not need the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJC2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Mediterraneo in mid October and overall had a brilliant stay. The weather on the first few days wasn't great (rain on the first day), it stayed mild and the last four days were more like the sunshine we had hoped for! We managed to spend a couple of days round the lovely pool, we braved a swim but be warned - at this time of year the water is freezing!

We booked via Expedia and arrange our transfers direct with the hotel (€100 each way, plus €15 for late night/early morning pick ups). The staff were friendly and helpful, arranging this via email the week before we arrived. We arrived after midnight and were check in and shown to our room by the night receptionist, who was very welcoming. We also had an early morning departure and they arranged a take away breakfast for us which was unexpected and a really nice gesture.

Our first room was downstairs at the back, on first arrival it looked fine but we were woken at 6am to the sound of next door's toilet flushing! We discovered we could hear everything from their bathroom which wasn't the best start to the holiday! We went and told reception who were really quick to offer an alternative (second floor, over looking the pool), they helped us move and from then on everything was great. There was no argument or debate, they just moved us straight away.

We were on a B&B rate, breakfast was buffet style in the top floor restaurant (there are 6/7 tables for 2 on the outside balccony over looking the bay of Naples). The choice was good at all times, with juice, continental and bacon/eggs. The view was stunning! We also had lunch by the pool one day and the pizza was really good.

The hotel bar is very modern, Danielle the barman is great company and helped recommend local restaurants. They have happy hour with reduced drinks and snacks early evening which is a good place to wait for the free shuttle bus into Sorrento. The bus runs throughout the day and evening, reception will give you a timetable and you need to book the trips. The service is definately needed as the roads aren't really safe to walk on and it would take 20/30 minutes on foot.

During our trip we booked excursions to Capri and Pompeii/Vesuvius via the hotel. These are part of Goldentours and overall good value for money, we would definately recommend them. You could do these cheaper yourself but these include the ferry crossing to Capri, and a bus tour of the island, with plenty of time to do your own thing too. We'd recommend a tour guide for your first trip to Pompeii, although you only see a smallish section it's good to know what you're looking at! Pompeii is enormous, you'd need 2 or 3 days to see everything. We also got the train to Naples, the trains were overcrowded and we didn't enjoy Naples so I would advise anyone against bothering!!

Overall we had a great stay, the decor, food and service were great. Huge thank you to all the staff who made it such a good holiday. Our only small negative was that the sound carries between some of the rooms, even so we would definately recommend it and hopefully will go back one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

What a great place. Exceeded our expectations. Pure white lobby very very clean. Staff was very helpful. We would return gladly. The garden and pool area are great and very clean. Sorrento is a very friendly town.

Room Tip: Sea view superior with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We returned from Hotel Mediterraneo last night after a 5 day beautiful break in Sant Agnello. The positive reviews on TA of this hotel are spot on - we were not disappointed and would not hesitate to stay there again.

We had paid for a room with a sea view, the room we had been allocated had a sea view but was at the back corner of the building. It did have a lovely view of the bay in Sorrento, but when we saw the spectacular panoramic view from the terrace on our 1st morning at breakfast we felt that we were missing out a little. I went down to reception to enquire as to whether there was a room available at the front of the hotel, and after only a few minutes we were given a room at the front corner of the hotel which had 2 windows so that we could enjoy the spectacular views in their entirety! Amazing!

The only minor problems which I could comment on was that the double bed was obviously 2 single made up together which was a little uncomfortable (& I'm no Princess and the Pea!) and the were a lot of quite early morning disturbances from local dogs in the street below - although I accept that this is out of the Hotel's control.

There was a more 'mature' clientèle in the hotel and not an amazing amount of night life in the immediate area, but it's not really a destination for hardcore nights out! There is a bar next to the hotel which was open until late if a late night drink was in order.

The pool and outside seating area is very pleasant, a real oasis with plenty of seating/sunbeds and beautiful trees and plants.

The walk into Sorrento was easy enough, 20mins at a regular stroll. The Shuttle though was a welcome facility after pounding the streets of Sorrento or Capri, just make sure that you carry the timetable with you.

Breakfast was very pleasant, especially if you can get a table on the terrace. The food is replenished on a regular basis and the option of Spumante with breakfast was a nice touch!

I would certainly recommned this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing break with spectacular views and attentive staff.

Room Tip: Room 408 was had a double aspect of the bay with a window to the side and front of the hotel (I gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuddyColUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Lovely Hotel, good staff excellent breakfast and cracking views. Arrived and welcomed with a big smile and room at the front of the Hotel with a balcony overlooking the bay. Lovely grounds in the hotel - only downside was room bit dated. Lovely place to have breakfast with a view. Tip - late at night go and have a coffee in the cafe on the little pier opposite.

Room Tip: Go for front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDavRDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.0 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 85, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento sits on a cliff overlooking the sea of Sorrento bay about one kilometer from the city center. It is an easy walk but you can also take our free shuttle. The breathtaking sea view and friendly, personable staff make it the perfect place to spend your vacation on the Sorrentine Peninsula in a 4-star hotel. The Mediterraneo has a pool surrounded by palm and orange trees, a private beach, parking and a free wi-fi connection. Get ready for an unforgettable experience that is surprisingly affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing