We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings - Mold in bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings - Mold in bathroom”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I were guests at the Hotel Mediterraneo in July for our Italian getaway. I should preface this review by saying we came from Capri which was breathtaking and the boutique hotel we stayed at was unbelievable. That being said, Sorrento itself had a lot to live up to. The lobby and grounds are both very beautiful and the pool provides a great opportunity to relax.

Our room, or should I say, rooms was the biggest issue. Our first room had mold above the open shower on the wall that had been there for quite a long time due to the amount of it. After noticing this my husband went to the front desk to make them aware of this issue, they said they would send someone up to look at it. Several minutes later, house cleaning knocks on the door with a bottle of some sort of spray. I immediately informed her that wasn't going to do the trick. Long story short, the manager shows us a new room on the 2nd floor - no mold, good by me. We go down to get our new key, while the bellman delivers our bags to the new room. We go back up to the room, struggling a bit with the key and are surprised with a woman inside the room. We apologize and my husband and I assume we went to the wrong room. We go back downstairs, confirm the room # with the manager and tell him we were just up there and were greeted by a woman. Frustrated at this point, he walks up to the room with us and the woman is gone. The tv is on however and the note on the toilet indicating that it had been sanitized was removed. He tries saying that the woman must've known the room was unlocked and came in to use the bathroom, he'd send housekeeping back up to clean and offered us a drink by the pool. By this point my husband and I are just laughing, looking for candid camera.

The floor also experienced an issue with the electricity and the card readers weren't working during our stay which meant the a/c wasn't either. All of these issues really put a bad taste in our mouth. Would we recommend this place? Sure, but just make sure there is NO mold on the ceiling above the shower. As others have mentioned, the rooms aren't great but they're good enough. The restaurant is WAY overpriced and I'm confused as to how they received their Michelin rating, it was by far the worst food we experienced in Italy.

Take the manager's recommendation and go to Donna Sofia one night

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMediterraneo, Direttore vendite at Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Mrs Amanda,

we thank you for choosing Hotel Mediterraneo and for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor.
As we explained you that day, there was no mold in your first assigned room bathroom. That bathroom is brand new and the black sing you saw on the ceiling is due to the iron
joist which pass in the celieng upon the shower, Iron, when it is new, reacts with shower steam and make the ceiling darker. Anyway as you were not persuaded we offered you a free upgrade to another room to an higher floor which you liked.
Probably you are still not 100% satisfied and we are sorry about it; but at same time we strongly want to say that there was no mold in your room.

best regards
Pietro Monti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    292
    51
    18
    4
See reviews for
268
686
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Despite its efforts the hotel fails to deliver a four star experience on a number of fronts.
Despite being in an area renowned for the local cuisine, the hotels food is exceedingly average and, given the prices, it is a total rip off. Local restaurants deliver exceptional food at around 5 euro less per main course at dinner time. The breakfast was awful with unset tables, food running out and not being replaced and overripe fruit being left out for days at a time and the food was of a low quality. The highlight was the freshly squeezed orange juice and the mini pain au chocolats (avoid the large croissants, fruit and cereal). Lunch was adequate, but then how wrong can you go with pizza/pasta in Italy but avoid the cold fries and the deadly dry chicken salad?
The bathrooms are in serious need of a revamp, they are not in good condition and our shower leaked and so flooded the bathroom. The rooms were, on the whole, fine, with working air conditioning but they were rather small given the four star rating. However, the rooms with the sea view have the added luxury of being exceptionally noisy until gone midnight.
The pool area is over crowded with people going down at 8am or earlier to reserve sun beds and then turning up around 10am and not enough sun beds for all the guests, not that there is room to fit them around the pool in the first place.
The staff at the hotel are very friendly however. Those at the reception and the pool area and very helpful, although the pool staff have a tendency to yell "hey!" at you when trying to get your attention instead of addressing you politely.
Overall, this hotel would be well deserving of a three star rating, even 3.5 especially given the new rooftop bar (only open once a week), but in no way can it justify the four star price tag!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMediterraneo, Direttore vendite at Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Mrs Georgina,

thank you for staying at Hotel Mediterraneo and for sharing your review on tripadvisor. We care about our guests opinion.
I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We do our best to keep our clients satisfied with both service and property. Luckly we often succeed; sometimes, unfortunately we don't. I think you were just disappointed about the hotel; your expectations were just different. I am really sorry about it.
We wil ltry to improve the things you pointed out in your review even if many other guests liked for example our cousine, our swimming pool, our sea view rooms...
Please accept our apologizes.

best regards
Pietro Monti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This Hotel is by far the best we have stayed in. Beautiful hotel inside and out, stunning location, superb food in a restaurant with amazing views and excellent staff. We had a modern and spacious family room for 5 which was excellent. Very easy to get into Sorrento using the free hotel shuttle bus. The hotel has a good programme of excursions but can also put together private tours and guides which we did to visit Pompeii and Vesuvius. Every day was memorable from the roof top party watching the sun set to the gala dinner around the pool with live music but the highlight of our trip was a day on the hotel's private yacht to Capri. This hotel made our holiday to Italy and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMediterraneo, Direttore vendite at Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Mrs Joanne,

we wish to thank you for choosing Hotel Mediterraneo and for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We are rellay happy you enjoyed your tiem here with us!
We hope to welcome you back again. We are already on sale for 2015 both with Thompson and directly on our website with an early booking discount which will end with new year. So i suggest to book very soon!

thank you
best regards
Pietro Monti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Our first holiday in Italy & it was fabulous! The staff were friendly & helpful, there was a courtesy bus that went from the hotel to Sorrento. We went with Thomson holidays & it was good from start to finish. Our last day we did a boat trip to Positano & Amalfi, one of the best days I've had, the people & the spectacular scenery. If you get a chance to do a trip then go! We are hoping to go back to this hotel next year..

Room Tip: Sea view a must! Although they overlook the road which some my find busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirsH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
braintree
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

After a 27 year gap we revisited this hotel that we had great memories of and were thrilled that it exceeded our expectations. Lovely room with sea view (featuring vesuvius and capri sunsets), lovely breakfast on balcony, hotel staff very helpful and friendly, superb fish BBQ and a lovely pool area for relaxing. Ideal location for free shuttle bus into Sorrento or train to Pompeii.
Good friendly cocktail bar (Blue Island) and decent restaurants nearby (Moonlight, Pendleoes) - don't both with Donna Sofia.
Hopefully going back sooner next time!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank podbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The1st time we have stayed in this beautiful area made all the more special by all the friendly welcoming staff at this hotel with special mention to Aniello on the front desk who was extremely helpful. The hotel is situated in an ideal location for trips to all the main sites by bus, train or boat. We made use of the free shuttle into Sorrento. There are many good restaurants of varying prices within walking distance and the hotel restaurant was very good. Shall definitely stay here again when we return to this region.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Wow. It wasn't until we reached Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento that our honeymoon began after a long week touring Northern Italy. In comparison to the other hotels we stayed, we were given the royal treatment. The positive demeanor of the staff takes the edge off being far from home. The rooms are clean, the hotel beautiful and white, the view spectacular, the food decent, the pool clean and inviting, the pool staff fun, the front desk staff helpful, friendly and calming; breakfast abundant and the morning view breathtaking, and the list goes on. I needed transportation, it was arranged. I needed a nice restaurant for my bride's birthday and transportation, reservations and place was arranged. My wife and I felt like we were cheating because we both love this hotel. It is a breathtaking oasis in a tourist sea. I LOVE THIS HOTEL AND STAFF!!! The entire staff was great and Nobody does it better! We are definitely returning. Did I mention how much I loved this hotel?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.0 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,478 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 85, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento sits on a cliff overlooking the sea of Sorrento bay about one kilometer from the city center. It is an easy walk but you can also take our free shuttle. The breathtaking sea view and friendly, personable staff make it the perfect place to spend your vacation on the Sorrentine Peninsula in a 4-star hotel. The Mediterraneo has a pool surrounded by palm and orange trees, a private beach, parking and a free wi-fi connection. Get ready for an unforgettable experience that is surprisingly affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing