We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Nearby Hotels
US$320
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$136
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Garden Hotel(Sant'Agnello)
US$334
US$321
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cristina(Sant'Agnello)
US$164
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Cocumella(Sant'Agnello)
US$428
US$366
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel la Pace(Sant'Agnello)
US$179
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Florida(Sant'Agnello)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Majestic Palace Hotel(Sant'Agnello)
US$156
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alpha Hotel(Sant'Agnello)
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Pergola(Sant'Agnello)
US$118
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,390)
Filter reviews
1,391 results
Traveller rating
1,000
315
54
18
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,000
315
54
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky barsea viewfloor restaurantwhite bartop floorpool areabay of naplesfree shuttlebeautiful hotelour honeymoonpoolside restaurantamazing viewsprivate beachshuttle servicehotel shuttlethe bushotel guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
950 - 955 of 1,391 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2009

I somewhat agree with the previous reviewer regarding the noise levels and the tired decor of the rooms. The construction outside spoilt the otherwise beautiful views of the ocean and the cliffs. However, the staff were very friendly and helpful - both at reception and in the restaurant. The location wasnt ideal. It was a long walk to and from town (or it felt like it after walking around Caprice or Positano all day). There is a bus service (line C) but this is the worst public transport service I have come across in my life. The buses were never on time and were very irregular so I guess it should be a consideration when you are looking to book the hotel. My bed was hard and squeaky and the limescale and algae build-up in the bathroom is not something I would expact to see in a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foohan2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMediterraneo, Marketing Director at Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2009

Dear Guest,

thank you for reviewing our property on trip advisor. We always desire to improve the quality of our hotel. We wish to apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay at Hotel Mediterraneo and we would like to reply to your complaint.

Concerning the noise and the construction works outside the hotel: unfortunately the city hall decided to start those works without warning us. There have been some problems during the last week for this reason. It was something out of our control. Luckily they have recently finished, so nothing will disturb our guests nor spoil the view from our rooms anymore. Maybe we made a mistake in upgrading your reservation to a sea view room with a balcony instead of the ordinary garden view double. We did not realise that during that week it could have been noisy.

Concerning the bed: you were absolutely right. The bed in your room was squeaky although quite new (Jan 2008). Unfortunately we did not realise it until you reported it, so now it has been changed. If you only had reported the fact at the reception, our staff would have certainly offered you a change of room.

Concerning the location: we are directly on the sea in a calm area which is 1,2 km (15-18 minutes by walk) far from Sorrento main square. Of course we are not a “city centre” hotel. Our position, on the other side, gives us the chance to have a beach and to offer the beautiful views you speak about. Many of the most famous 4 and 5 stars of Sorrento are nearby.

The public bus line has some problems; unfortunately we know about that. That’s why we offer a free shuttle bus to city centre and back to our guests. It is running 6 times a day in this period and will be 10 times a day in high season. There are timetables either in the lift and at reception – you probably did not notice them.

we hope to welcome again in our property

warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Rooms are too noisy, you just can't sleep.
You can hear everything of the next rooms.
Old style decoration.
Breakfast is cheap and products are not good quality.

Rooms are cleans and reception is kind.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santacruzParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMediterraneo, marketing manager at Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2009

dear valued guest,

first of all we wish to apologize about the inconveniences you had during your stay at Hotel Mediterraneo. We would like to assure you that we always try to do our best to satisfy our clients. This is usually achieved, as you can easily see from the high level of customers’ satisfaction that we have reached in the last few years. It can also be seen from our rating on Trip Advisor as well as and on other websites

We wish to reply to your complaints.

Concerning the noise in the rooms, unfortunately some rooms might be noisy sometimes. This period is low season in Sorrento and we might have had some groups going on excursion all together early in the morning. So maybe you have been awaked by opening and closing doors. If you only had reported the fact at the reception, our staff would have certainly offered you a change of room on a different floor.

Concerning old style decoration, we would like to point out that on our website there is a rich photo gallery with many pictures of our liberty style façade as well as of the rooms and common areas. There is also a page called “style”, in which we describe it. It is obviously a question of preference – somebody might like it and somebody not. What is certain is that you will find the style described in our pictures.

Concerning our breakfast quality, we are sorry to hear that it did not meet your expectations. We actually provide a good variety of food at breakfast: croissant, brioches, hand made cakes, yogurt, corn flakes, meat cuts, cheese, pastries, different kind of bread, fresh and syrup fruit and so on. Quality as well as variety is usually appreciated by our clientele. If there was anything in particular that you did not like, please be so kind to send us an e-mail, so we will be able to double check it. Any suggestion you can make will be always welcomed!

best regards
the management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

The hotel Mediterraneo,is a very good hotel.I don't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and so on.
The staff,everybody at the reception,the waiters,the room cleaners,every body was showing their professionality.The hotel amenities excellent.
From the hotel,the sunset and unforgettable wiew of the gulf of Naples.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luigibudapest47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

An excellent hotel.
In every respect.
Highly recommended

(Maybe not in walking distance of the shops and restaurants, but then you cannot have everything. .)

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FletcherSandton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2008

Hotel Mediterraneo – Sorrento

A breath- taking location and charming hotel.

Outstanding staff members made us all feel incredibly special.
( a special thanks to Aniello Somma- you are wonderful!)

Aniello at the front desk, offers an exceptionally high level of customer service – Friendly and efficient, I would highly recommend the hotel to everyone who visits spectacular Sorrento..

Accommodation is very comfortable, spotless and incredibly charming. The hotel offers a wonderful location with incredible seaside views. Before I closed my eyes every night, I could see the magical lights of the Amalfi Coast.

Food at the hotel was excellent. I absolutely loved sitting on the balcony for breakfast where I could look out on the stunning panoramic views of the Bay of Naples.

Swimming pool – gorgeous – surrounded by lemon trees and a lovely poolside restaurant.

Location: stunning views from our rooms of the Amalfi Coastline. I would highly recommend Hotel Mediterraneo.

Sorrento is an incredibly beautiful area and you can feel confident that your visit will be enhanced by staying at the Hotel Mediterraneo. My hope is that I will return very soon to enjoy the wonderful hospitality of Aniello and his staff.

Thank you for memories I will treasure forever.

Wishing you la dolce vita!

Susan Pearson, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneCorunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews