We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent with one small reservation.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent with one small reservation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

We booked the Hotel to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary.I chose the best Hotel within our budget and it proved to be an excellent choice in every respect. The standard in the hotel was excellent throughout and the shuttle bus was a real benefit in and out of Sorrento We thoughly enjoyed the experience until the evening before we left. We were booked on an early flight and had to leave the hotel at 6.30am. We went to bed early and about 11.30pm two men arrived in a room near us who had been drinking in the garden bar. They proceeded to sit on the balcony laughing and shouting until at 1.00am. I rang the night porter to complain and eventually they retired to bed. If they had arrived earlier in the week and behaved in the same fashion they would have ruined and otherwise lovely holiday. Their selfishness and general behavoiur spoils the reputation of a fine hotel and one wonders wether this party should be allowed to book again because others in the hotel must have been disturbed as well. We were in room 103 and I do hope that the hotel will take note of these comments. I would have recommended the holiday to my frinds without reservation but I would have to temper that as a result of the behaviour of members of this particular party. Pity really!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    281
    51
    18
    4
See reviews for
260
658
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
berkshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

We have just spent 6 nights at the Mediterraneo Sorrento and I cannot fault the hotel in any way. The views were stunning. The hotel was full of character. The rooms were compact but all we needed. We stayed in room 203 and well worth paying extra for a sea view room. The staff were as good as any hotel I have stayed at anywhere in the world, They could not do enough for us. The location was perfect with a bus stop right outside the hotel, but there was always the hotel courtesy bus to take us the short drive into Sorrento. The little red bus route C is the one you want and they run every 30 minutes. To get from the airport to the hotel take the curreri bus (10 euros each) and you can get off in Sant'Agnello, and abou 15 min walk to the hotel from where the bus drops you off.
I can highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwk2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

This hotel is a gem. Warm friendly staff. Fantastic views and a calm ambiance. We arrived after a long car ride from Rome and we were greated like family.The views at breakfast are a dream., oft for a table on the verandah WOW. Pool area superb . Lobby bar very relaxed Lift in lobby to beach .You can also walk to restaurants from here. Great cafe/bar/resturant just outside door of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4inpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

My wife and I stayed there with some friends in April and it proved to be the perfect base from which to explore Sorrento and the surrounding areas. We booked a sea-front room and the view of Vesuvius and the sunset over Capri was spectacular. The food in the restaurant was very good and the breakfast set you up for the rest of the day. Rooms were clean and well-maintained and the hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. There is a regular shuttle into Sorrento but it is only a pleasant 20 min walk into the centre of town. Overall, a very enjoyable experience and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sham1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 10 days based on the experiences of other TripAdvisor reviewers. And we were not disappointed. The hotel itself is clean and is well looked after, with staff who are extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and eager to help. The hotel is located in St Agnello, which is a good 15-20 minute walk from the centre of Sorrento. However, St Agnello is a good sized village with plenty of shops, some excellent restaurants, and is significantly quieter and more friendly than neighbouring Sorrento. Should you want to visit Sorrento, the hotel runs a minibus. The minibus does not run at the most convenient times though and does not travel to Sorrento town centre: just to the museum. Usefully, you can also buy from reception tickets for the local bus, which runs from directly outside the hotel to the centre of Sorrento, and was our preferred option.
Our room was nicely furnished and, having paid for a sea view, we had a small balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius – highly recommended. Our stay also included a continental breakfast. This consisted of the standard European fare and was adequate. The coffee though was truly awful and was only drinkable when loaded with milk and sugar.
Although dinner was not included in the price of our stay we chose to eat in the hotel on two occasions. The quality of food served at mealtimes was variable to say the least, with some dishes being well prepared and tasty while others were dreadfully overcooked or mismatched. Eating in the hotel is also very expensive when compared with local restaurants (such as “Moonlight”). The cost of drinks in the hotel bar is similarly very high, particularly when one can easily stock-up in the local supermarket.
Overall, this is a very good hotel and we enjoyed our experience. But think twice before ordering dinner and a couple of drinks.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrCMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMediterraneo, Marketing Director at Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento, responded to this review, 20 April 2010
Dear valued guest,

thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor. We are always happy to know that our guests are satisfied and like to share information about our hotel with other people.

About your issue on dinner/bar prices: we offer a 3 courses menu with 5 choices each for eur 30,00 per person which in our opinion is a fair rate.We don't charge service and cover!
It's true that some restaurants in the neighborood offer cheaper prices but they also offer totally different standards (no view, plastic chairs/tables, different kind of service and food). We think there is a difference between eating in a panoramic roof restaurant of a 4 stars hotel and in a backyard of a bulding.

For the similar reasons to buy items in a supermarket is obviously cheaper; you could do this if you rent a self catering flat.

The dinner and drinks prices are exactly the same since 4 years. Maybe with the different rate exchange between Euro and other currencies they can seem higher. For this reason we organize happy hours, wine tasting and other activities with little discounts on ordinary prices and we sell dishes separately and wine also by glass.

Our free shuttle to Sorrento centre runs 10 times a day and leaves our guest at Museo Correale which is the beginning of the walking area and the nearest point to Piazza Tasso where we are allowed to drop off people. This year the Sorrento Cityhall should move this limit to a new parking area which is just 100 meters away from Piazza Tasso.

We wish to welcome back you soon in our property, once again thank you for sharing you positive experience with the TA community.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

We chose this hotel simply because it offered free parking - and we were so glad we did!! Very comfortable and clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed the 5th floor breakfast room with spectacular views of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. Breakfast offered choices for all tastes - we were B&B only so didn't sample the other meals. We were too early for the beach but enjoyed the swimming pool.
Although there is a 20 minute walk into Sorrento we didn't find this a problem and enjoyed the stroll - the hotel offers a regular mini bus service.
We had a hire car but another time we would use the cheap and regular public transport. This hotel provided an excellent base from which to explore the Amalfi coast, Vesuvius, Pompeii, Herculaneum and the surrounding area or indeed to just relax and enjoy the Italian sunshine!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puddy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

Stayed at the hotel in April 2010. Staff all seemed pretty friendly. The rooms were nice - shower was pokey, but maybe that's an italian thing!! (who knows). I stayed on the first floor but had to get moved....i couldnt sleep due to the constant sound of traffic ( mopeds) accelerating passed the hotel. Seriously, not a wink of sleep listening to it.

Im a fussy eater!! I didnt like the restaurant. Some of my family enjoyed their meals though...I dont do fish, so it wasnt for me. I had the steak (i had no other option) and it was fatty and flattened to a pancake!!

Hotel is about <10 mins from the centre of sorrento. The hotel runs a shuttle service that drops you in about once an hour. We got a taxi back one evening and were charged 20eur.(not the cheapest of taxis for such a short journey)

tip: only drive to positano if you have a death wish!!! around every bend is an italian on a motor bike, driving on the wrong side of the road!! I used to think Irish drivers were bad...now its a pleasure to sit in traffic in dublin, in comparison!!!

Summary; its a pleasant hotel. nice stafff. clean. basic.....the location aint the best, but the price of a room probably reflects that. Would I recommend it....it falls into my
"alright " category!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.0 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 85, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento sits on a cliff overlooking the sea of Sorrento bay about one kilometer from the city center. It is an easy walk but you can also take our free shuttle. The breathtaking sea view and friendly, personable staff make it the perfect place to spend your vacation on the Sorrentine Peninsula in a 4-star hotel. The Mediterraneo has a pool surrounded by palm and orange trees, a private beach, parking and a free wi-fi connection. Get ready for an unforgettable experience that is surprisingly affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing