We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Le Mimose

Le Mimose
Ranked #39 of 72 Restaurants in Scalea
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Having been to this restaurant on many occasions I have nothing but the highest praise for the food and the staff. Pizzas are out of this world as are the other options on the menu which is in English as well as italian very smart idea from the owners. As for staff the friendliest and most down to earth people you can hope to meet in scalea. Definitely going back on my next trip with my whole family. 10/10. Simply the best

2  Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElSaVi, Proprietario at Le Mimose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014
Google Translation

La ringraziami per la lode, sicuramente quello che ci ha scritto ci onora tanto, anche perché noi viviamo di complimenti...un grazie di cuore da tutto lo staff de Le Mimose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is the best pizza we have ever tasted.

Scotland has Haggis!
England has Cod & Chips!
But nowwhere has Pizza like Le Mimose!!!

If they were cars they would be Lamborghini!!!

So good we sat on the wall waiting for the smoke appearing so we know it is open.

Staff are excellent. Really, really friendly and helpful. First class service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Rione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elfrel, Proprietario at Le Mimose, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

A big thank you to all the staff for your review that demonstrates her positive experience here with us! Your satisfaction is our pride!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My friends recommended this place, saying the pizzaiolo was the winner of many contests and almost a wizard. Perhaps I have a weird taste, but I've been there twice and both times the pizza was ok, but nothing special. The pizza menu is vast, but if you don't feel like eating pizza, it is really difficult to find anything decent to eat. The service is average to say the most: when we arrived at a 19:45, the restaurant was still closed, though the operating ours started at 19:30. There was quite a few people knocking at the door and waiting for somebody to open it, which happened only at 19:55, no apologies offered. I don't think it's a normal way of treating customers (:.

3  Thank Anastasia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I used to spend all my Summer in Scalea, as a student. I love this place.
I don't live any more in Calabria, but every time I crave pizza I always wish I had Eros´pizza available!
Surely the best pizza ever tried in my life so far - the dough is so tasty, it is all a masterpiece this pizza from the crusty part till the tomato sauce.The place is not very fancy, the service is OK and average cost is acceptable. A Must-do in Scalea!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank CristiKant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elfrel, Proprietario at Le Mimose, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

A big thank you to all the staff for your review that demonstrates her positive experience here with us! Your satisfaction is our pride!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We have been at this establishment at least half a dozen times over a period of three years and the service has always been consistently good. Whenever we manage to fly over to Italy, to our apartment in Scalea, we can hardly wait to have a taste of Mimose's pizza. Albeit the menu does not offer much in the line of primi piatti or of main courses - only a few pasta dishes - the quality of the pizza made by these guys more than makes up for this shortcoming. After all, they don't claim to be a full restaurant:: just a pizzeria. We can't get anything vaguely like it in South Africa and I can't recall ever having tasted a better one in my hometown in northern Italy. The dough is always very crisp and tasty with a slight whole-wheat feel to it - undoubtedly due to the wood-oven firing - and the variety of pizza toppings is fabulous. What else would you expect from a guy who's won the national pizza-making championship more than once. The prices are very modest, ranging from about 5 euro to a max of 10 to my recollection. The personnel are usually friendly and efficient.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank gian12_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Mimose also viewed

Scalea, Province of Cosenza
Scalea, Province of Cosenza
 
Scalea, Province of Cosenza
Scalea, Province of Cosenza
 
Scalea, Province of Cosenza
Scalea, Province of Cosenza
 

Been to Le Mimose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing